(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "A brief history of the town of Glocester, Rhode Island : preceded by a sketch of the territory while a part of Providence"

/O-^^ 



THE 
NEW YORK PUBLIC LIBRARY 



-tt * * 



The Amy Angell Collier Montague 

AND Gilbert H. Montague 

Collection 



QK 



fCl / 



/ 



Digitized by the Internet Archive 

in 2008 with funding from 

IVIicrosoft Corporation 



http://www.archive.org/details/briefhistoryoftoOOperr 



A BRIEF HISTORY 



TOWN OF GLOCESTER, 



.^^'^ 



RHODE ISLAND 



PRECEDED BY 



A SKETCH OF THE TERRITORY WHILE 
A PART OF PROVIDENCE. 



By ELIZABETH A. PERRY. 






iU, 



i8S6. 



A BRIEF HISTORY 



TOWN OF GLOCESTER, 



,3 -" 

) RHODE ISLAND, 



PRECEDED BY 



A SKETCH OF THE TERRITORY WHILE 
A PART OF PROVIDENCE. 



By ELIZABETH A. PERRY, 



PROVIDENCE : 

PROVIDENCE PRESS COMPANY, PRINTERS. 
18S6. 



PREFACE. 



In preparing the following pages, the author has been exceedingly 
desirous that a history of the town of Glocester might be presented in a 
connected form, from its first settlement. An effort has been made to 
state things accurately, and on good authority. It has been very difficult 
to ascertain dates in some instances. The sources whence the informa- 
tion is derived are various: Bartlett's Colonial Records; Schedules 
of the town presented yearly to the General Assembly; Town Records; 
old newspapers ; private papers ; reading of many books that had refer- 
ence to town matters; travelling over the town, and information from 
elderly town's people. 

Glocester has furnished some citizens of high personal worth, and 
honor to other towns, states and countries. 

E. A. P. 

Providence, Jan. i, iSS6. 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 



The town of Glocester, R. I., including Burrillville, was 
organized February 20, 1^31. It is bounded on the north by 
Massachusetts, on the east by Smithfield, on the south by 
Scituate, and on the west by Connecticut. A brief sketch 
of the territory will be given previous to the time the town 
was taken from Providence. Its history, in some rude meas- 
ure, is nearly coeval with the first settlement in Providence 
by Roger Williams and his associates in the year 1636. This 
land was disposed of to Roger Williams and others by the 
sachems of several tribes of Indians, they receiving for the 
same, payment that was satisfactory to each tribe. Tracts 
of land were often granted for very little recompense. It is 
recorded that Uncas gave the first grant of land by deed. 
Sometimes grants of land were made to the whites for im- 
portant services done for the sachems. The disposal of 
lands as to boundaries was very indefinite, and sometimes 
without date. Any enterprise that promoted public good 
was considered payment for lands. For instance, to settle a 
miller that would build a mill to grind corn and other grain ; 
a blacksmith or a sawmill built, a grant of land was often 
given. Sometimes the sachems disposed of hundreds of 
acres for very little consideration, also promising to assist 
the whites in cases of emergency, by hastening with their 
warriors for their relief. The tribes had very little knowl- 
edge of the value of land, or the worth of different forest 
trees. 

Through the kind influence of Roger Williams, the Indians 
generally had a strong attachment to the whites. The Nip- 
muck Indians extended from Massachusetts and Connecticut 
into the northwest corner of this State, as found when first 



6 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

explored by the English. Their headquarters were at Oxford, 
Mass. The small Pass-Coag tribe roamed a little south of the 
Nipmucks.* There is a small river running through tl 
by the name of Nipmuck. These tribes were subjeci co Liie 
Narragansetts until the time of King Philip's war with the 
English. The chiefs of the Nipmucks saw that the snchems 
of the Narragansetts had enough to do to look out fc^ home 
own tribe at the time of King Philip's war, consequent called 
declared their independence. Some vestiges of these )urely 
still remain. Portions of the land had the appears rn the 
having been planted ; many young trees were growin^,-e of 
deep in the ground bullets were found. Within the recollt jh 
tion of persons now living, a human skeleton was foui .v -n-i 
eral feet below the surface of the ground. When the bones 
were put together it measured eight feet. Some of these 
Indians were very tall. These tribes of Indians were, as far 
as is known, the first native owners of this land, a Provi- 
their vast hunting grounds. These forests were fill.i War- 
bears, panthers, wolves, red deer, foxes, and othe-^^rd High 
mals. Wolves and bears were so troublesome under the 
1736 that the inhabitants sought legislative enaci acknowl- 
a reward of three pounds was offered for each bea land was 
the colony. In 1739 this reward was much increase 3rown of 
on wolves, twenty shillings ; rats, three pence ; y ' .cr printed 
shillings. Mass. It 

The Indians seldom spent the summer and v. -ould exer- 
same place. This fact will account in some degrt he must 
great claims of land. They would cluster togethc Quarterly 
ing their wigwams for protection against other tribes, j. -c r, 
villages they surrounded by a fence of trees, logs and stakes. 
The language of different New England tribes was so similar 
that each tribe readily understood the other, yarrows were 
their early chief weapons of warfare. Thev • jlony under 
strangers travelling ; would give to them t eel by Charles 
their wigwam for the night, and the best they b ipted was a 
if they went without themselves. They were fa.auu^ ^«j Keep 

* Fresh-water Indians. 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 7 

their promises. Wlien the sun shone they had a mark to tell 
"hen it was mid day, and on clear nights they told the time 
moon and stars. In cloudy weather they were, like 
the V-^ankees, good for guessing. 

All their tools were made of hard stone. Bows were made 
of sinf vs and twisted entrails of the deer and the moose ; 
^^"•^aiahawk was a wooden club. Many bones of animals 
comnr. g^j ^q^ special purposes. Corn and nuts were in the 
were ; p^^ jj^ holes dug in the ground, lined and covered 
Robert^j-l^_ They did not eat regularly, but when hungry; 
WilJ'g^.j^gj-ally had but one wif,e, but could at pleasure on 
Yfij-^^ side dissolve their connection ; they had no ballads or 
Ste^gg'o perpetuate the traditions of the past; their knowl- 
edge was very limited ; they exercised good judgment in eat- 
ing and drinking. The Indian men furnished the fish and 
'^ame; the women did the harvesting. They had corn and 
drive t |^^^ ^j-^^y depended very much upon yearly to raise, 
hold g6,.|.jclgs they could keep for cold winters and great 
houses. ■ ,^ when game would be very scarce. They had a 
land.s, oftc'iat a crow brought them a bean and a kernel of 
The man c ^^q place where their great god, Cowtantowit, 
cleared. though the crows did some harm, they seldom 
fell the tn They also made mats, baskets and stone vessels, 
tering wik^ ^ey, which they called wampum, was made of dif- 
Indians did, which was their established currency. Previous 
she'll- • pean settlements they knew nothing about beg- 

To go f e a year in the winter they had a great feast to 
lived requ Great Father for their bountiful harvest. At this 
??i'ui'' presen :s were made to the poor. Their family ties were 
very strong, a'ld great lamentation was made when a mem- 
ber of their kindred died. The men had a great liking for 
fishinp-. 

be produced;,-' in a Supreme Being having all the attributes 
lords. Some &«_,ad many gods of less power than their Great 
to their honri argues a species of Pantheism. They acknowl- 
edged ifhe agency of their deity in all things, whether for 
o-ood or evil. If an accident occurred, the wrath of God had 



8 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER, 

caused it ; so in case of good fortune, the Great Spirit was 
the author. They never asked their deity for anything, but 
returned thanks for favors received, saying that he is the 
best judge of what is best for them. It was against the law 
of the colony to sell liquor to the Indians, but this law was 
broken. 

In a very few years many persons seeking a nev: home 
joined the Williams colony and purchased what they called 
home lots. The government of Providence was at first purely 
democratic, but laws were soon found necessary to govern the 
colony. A general meeting was called, and a committer of 
five were chosen, called "disposers," who were invested wi)h" 
the partial control of affairs. The inhabitants later sa^n "xwi 
felt the necessity of a patent from their mother country to 
secure to them a better title to their lands, and protection in 
case they were attacked by the Indians. Protection was 
asked from England and granted. The first patent for Provi- 
dence was written in 1644, in which Robert Earle, a^ War- 
wick, England, was made " Governor-in-Chief and L;?rd High 
Admiral of this Plantation," a distinct sovereignty^nder the 
protection of the English government. The charteracknowl- 
edged the Indian title of the colony, and that the i'and was 
purchased of them and confirmed to them by the Crown of 
England. The "Freeman's Oath" was the first pajxrr printed 
in New England. It was printed at Cambridge, Mass. It 
certified that before any member of the colony tould exer- 
cise the right of suffrage or hold any public office he must 
be made what is called a freeman by the General Quarterly 
Court, or Assembly ; he was to show evidence that he wift ix. 
respectable man, and take the oath of affirmation required by 
the law of the colony against bribery and corruption in the 
election of officers. 

In 1647 there was an organization of the colony under 
the Parliamentary patent, and a charter granttd by Charles 
Second, King of Great Britain. The first seal adopted was a 
sheaf of arrows bound up with the motto "Aniot' vincit omnia ^ 
engraved upon a leash. 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 



July 8, 1663, the royal charter was obtained— its symbol 
an anchor, and its motto "Hope." In this year the colony 
received from Charles the Second, King of Great Britain, a 
charter which, up to November, 1842, was the written law 
of this State. The government was at first colonial, then 
under the charter, and finally under the constitution. 

When the town of Providence was incorporated (1649), the 
committee chosen by the General Assembly under the charter 
were Gregory Dexter, William Wickenden, Thomas Olney, 
Robert Williams, Richard Waterman, Roger Williams, 
William Field, John Green, John Smith and John Lippitt. 
Years before the town of Glocester was set off from Provi- 
dence, home settlements were made here ; sheep and herds 
of cattle were sent here to graze, with shepherds and herds 
men to take care of them. P'or several years the Indian 
pathway or trail served the white settlers as thoroughfares to 
drive their cattle, and to transport their families and house- 
hold goods to the places where they were to build their log 
houses. These emigrants going forth to live in these wild 
land^, often took possession of many acres for each family. 
The man of means could pay for his lands and for having them 
cleared. Others with their own hands must use the axe to 
fell the trees and build their humble dwellings, often encoun- 
tering wild animals and the cruelty of Indians. Many of the 
Indians did not understand why their lands were taken from 
them. 

To go forth into the woods where dangerous wild animals 
lived required men of enterprise and courage. Most of the 
early settlers of Providence were from England, some unused 
to hardship, others staunch yeomanry, farmers, merchants, 
mechanics, blacksmiths, fearing God, honest and independ- 
ent, and if right and reason were followed, a race would 
be produced far better than one descended from pensioned 
lords. Some of the settlers were discouraged and returned 
to their homes in England ; others returned and brought 
their families, with their household goods, and sought a home 
in the wilderness, where for some time their humble dwell- 



10 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

ings had to be guarded from the barbarous Indian and wild 
beasts. Many bullets made by the Indians have later been 
found in the centre of large trees. 

John Smith, from Providence, early settled in the northern 
part of Glocester, and many of his descendants are owners 
of home estates in that vicinity. Edward Salsbury early 
purchased land and built a house ; he was a soldier in the 
French war. The Williamses, Tourtellotts, Eddys, Water- 
mans, Evanses, and others, were pioneers and held landed 
estates. There were many families settled here before the 
town of Glocester was set off from the county of Providence ; 
generally very respectable citizens, some of them with their 
silver-topped canes and silver shoe and knee buckles. In 
many cases there was wealth enough for general comfort ; 
life was frugal, limited to modern ways. They had no daily 
or weekly newspaper;* the news was communicated from 
neighbor to neighbor, though in many cases they lived a 
long way from each other ; carpets were rare ; the white 
maple floors for the summer were very cool ; they had 
braided and husked rugs ; after awhile the parlor floor in 
some houses was marble-painted ; the kitchen floor, after 
breakfast, swept and sanded to take the dust from the shoes 
of the workmen. Families of similar tastes would some- 
times meet for social intercourse. In quite early times the 
expense and trouble to get spoons sufficient for family uses 
to eat their Indian meal pudding and milk, and other uses, 
was very great. In this dilemma they were relieved by the 
family getting a spoon mould, melting the pewter and lead 
white hot, turning it into the mould, and when cold the 
mould was opened and a good spoon taken out. Candles for 
a long time were run in candle moulds — also candles were 
dipped in a large kettle of hot tallow by having several 
candle-wicks strung on a stick ; these wicks were dipped in 
the tallow, then hung on a rod to cool ; then dipped again, 
and the dipping kept up until the candles were large enough. 

*The first newspaper in the State was published in the year 1732, by 
James Franklin, in Newport. 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 1 1 

"Necessity is the mother of invention." When candles could 
not be obtained, pitch knots were burned in the fire-place to 
light up the dwellings. 

Until saw-mills were set up, most of the dwellings were 
made of logs. The early frame houses were generally built 
one story, with small windows, sometimes gambrel-roofed ; 
others two stories in front, the roof slanting back so far 
down as to have but one story on the back side. Early in 
the eighteenth century there were many large two-story 
framed houses built in different parts of this land by well- 
to-do families. In these houses there were generally two 
rooms in front, with a door and entry between them ; two 
rooms back ; a large chimney in the centre, the chimney 
often serving for the smoke and draft for five fire-places. 
The kitchen fire-place, with strong, large, iron andirons, held a 
large quantity of wood. Children could sit in the corners of 
some of the fire-places, look up the chimney and count the 
stars. Some of the houses were painted red, a few were 
painted white, and many not painted at all. 

In 1 716 there was a great snow storm ; it snowed one day 
and one night, with a very high wind ; the snow was knee- 
deep ; the drifts were ten and twelve feet high. 

The pioneers learned of the Indians to make succotash by 
boiling corn and beans together. They also learned how to 
bake cakes made of Indian meal and water on hot stones 
under the ashes. These were cooked so as to make agree- 
able and wholesome food. The meal at first was made by 
cracking the corn as fine as might be by pounding it on a 
hollow stone, a kind of mortar hammered on the top of a 
rock, with a small stone for a pounder. For Sunday morn- 
ings, pork baked with beans made a good breakfast. Boiled 
Indian pudding, with a little salt, if they could get it, was 
another favorite dish, sometimes with milk, sometimes with 
maple syrup, and sometimes without anything. Bean porridge 
was a dish much liked for breakfast. For meats, there were 
many kinds — wild game in abundance and fish in the ponds. 
Household industry in the manufacture of wool and fiax for 



12 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

clothing was very decided. The feathers of geese and birds 
were carefully preserved to make warm beds for the cold 
winter nights. 

On the 25th of August, 1727, George Second was pro- 
claimed King of Great Britain. The proclamation was read 
from a balcony in the second story on the west end of the 
Manufacturers' Hotel, Market square, Providence, now taken 
down. The proclamation when George Third was created 
King of Great Britain was read there in 1760 ; also the 
Declaration of Independence, July 5, 1776. 

The town of Providence petitioned the Legislature in Feb- 
ruary, 173 1, for a division of the town. The petition was 
received and granted. Three new towns were made and 
called by the names of Smithfield, Scituate and Glocester. 
They were incorporated out of the lands in the western part 
of the town of Providence. Glocester was set off about 
eleven miles square in the northwestern part of the State. 

The committee appointed to examine and report in regard 
to the necessity of a division of the town of Providence were 
Mr. Samuel Clarke, Mr. Francis Willet and Mr. William 
Robinson. The land had been surveyed and boundaries set- 
tled by the county surveyors. It has been handed down that 
the name Glocester* was first suggested by some English 
residents from Glocester, England, already freemen, living 
within the limits of the new town ; also in honor of the 
Duke of Glocester, Frederic Lewis, son of King George 
Second. This town was formerly spelled Gloucester. The 
first settlers had been trained under the laws acknowledged 
by Roger Williams and his associates. 

An act was passed by the General Assembly giving power 
to ordained elders of every society and denomination of 
Christians to join persons together in marriage. 

* Glocester, a city in the southern part of England, capital of the county 
of the same name, on the Severn, thirty miles from its junction with the 
Bristol channel, is a fine city. It is the See of a Bishop, and returns two 
members to Parliament; contains a cathedral built in 1047, one of the 
finest in England ; has a square j;ower 223 feet high ; contains the tomb 
of Edward Second, and Robert, Duke of Normandy. 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 13 

A town meeting was called March i6, 1 731, to organize 
the town of Glocester, including the territory of the present 
town of Burrillville (which was taken from the town in 1806). 
Elisha Knowlton was chosen moderator, and also clerk ; 
Zachariah Eddy was chosen town sergeant ; Capt. John 
Smith, town treasurer; Zachariah Eddy, Jr., John Barnes, 
John Inman, Obadiah Jencks, Solomon Smith and Zebedee 
Hopkins were chosen town councilmen ; Elisha Knowlton 
and Walter Phetteplace were chosen assistant deputy gover- 
nors to the General Assembly. The deputy governors and 
assistants were the judges of the highest judicial courts of the 
State until 1747, when chief justices were appointed. 

When the town was incorporated it contained 2,504 inhab- 
itants. Permanent settlements were made about 1700. 
Major William Smith, Capt. Richard Waterman and Lieut. 
Elisha Knowlton were surveyors appointed by the Assembly 
to decide the boundary lines of the town. 

The town had the same privileges as the other towns in 
the State, to choose their own officers, to send deputies to 
the General Assembly, to send one grand and one petit 
juror to the superior courts, to control their proportion of the 
interest of the bank money appropriated for the use of the 
towns of the colony according to the sums that the land 
lying in the town was mortgaged for, and what money the 
town treasurer of Providence had advanced for the land 
before the division was made, be repaid out of the whole 
interest money. Before the division, to defray the expenses 
of surveys and laying out of roads, money paid for portions 
of this land had to be mortgaged to meet payments. 

Gov. Ward says, in 1741, "that the colony of Rhode Island 
first purchased, then settled, and hath at all times depended 
on its inhabitants at their own proper costs and charges as 
well against natives in former times as against foreign ene- 
mies in later times." Great sacrifices were made by the town 
to assist the mother country in her foreign wars from 1710 
to 1740. It was necessary to keep some vessels of force 
cruising on the coast of New England for the safety of trade. 



14 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

Their militia consisted of all male members in health from 
sixteen to sixty years of age in all the towns. They were 
obliged at their own expense to be always provided with a 
good firelock musket or fusee, a sword or bayonet, cartouch 
box, with one pound of good powder and four pounds of bul- 
lets, all in readiness at any call of a superior ofiicer. 

Many persons living within the limits of the town when 
organized were made freemen previously, when the land of the 
township was under the rules of Providence. All persons 
casting their votes at town meeting had to be made freemen 
and take the freeman's oath, as follows : 

" I do solemnly bind myself in the sight of God, that when 
I shall be called upon, to give my vote of suffrage as I shall 
judge in mine own conscience may best conduce and tend to 
the public weal of the body." 

Deputies were chosen once a year at the quarterly meet- 
ing next preceding the meeting of the General Assembly. 

The town councils were empowered to lay out their high- 
ways in the same manner as in Providence. The committee 
to survey the town were William Jenckes, Richard Water- 
man and Lieut. Elisha Knowlton. In 1733 a road was laid 
out from the seven-mile line (about ten miles from Providence 
great bridge) to Ponagansett Pond, in the southwest part of the 
town. This pond is a fine sheet of water, where many of the 
beautiful white water-lilies grow. By this highway the means 
of intercourse was greatly facilitated with Providence. 

An order came in 1741 from the King of England direct- 
ing the form of prayer for the royal family to be published 
or used in the several churches and other places of public 
worship in all the towns of this colony, a copy of said order 
to be sent to every minister or elder of each and every society 
in the colony without delay. The order was obeyed in this 
town. This year was very cold, especially the winter. 

In 1744, in consequence of war having been declared by the 
French against England, measures were adopted to strengthen 
the English colonies in America. It was found necessary to 
strengthen the military force of this town. To this end, the 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 1 5 

men petitioned the Assembly to have an artillery company 
incorporated in this town. The petition was granted on 
condition that all the members should be from Providence 
county, and that the corps should be called " The Artillery 
Company in the County of Providence." This was the 
second chartered military company in the State, and the 
origin of the corps known as the "Cadet Company."* 

In the year 1750 great efforts were made by the town to 
encourage the farmers to raise flax and wool, and manufacture 
the same into cloth. By this means, frugality and industry 
would be greatly promoted, and the waste lands in the town, 
occasioned in some measure by the wars taking soldiers, 
would be very much improved, to the advantage and interest 
of the inhabitants. They, under such circumstances, would 
be enabled in case of another war, to be better prepared to 
defend and protect themselves. 

No Indians in the town. 

In 1 75 1 a law was passed in Great Britain that the year 
1752 should begin the first day of January. In the old style 
the year began the 25th of March. 

The law forbade all persons keeping house from entertain 
ing negro and mulatto servants or slaves ; that they must 
not be absent from the family where he or she respectively 
belonged, or be found abroad in the night time after nine 
o'clock, unless on some errand for their owner. 

During the year 1751 the death of His Royal Highness. 
Frederic, Prince of Wales, occurred. This colony received 
directions from the mother country to use the form of prayer 
for the royal family issued, to be published in all places where 
divine worship was held in the colony. The proclamation 
was promulgated by Governor William Greene to this town. 

*This war was the beginning of the great struggle for the French 
ascendancy in North America. The ships fitted out by Rhode Island 
were said to be more in number than either of the other colonies, while 
her soldiers were prominent in other expeditions for the reduction of the 
French empire in North America between the years of 1741 and 1750. 
In all these battles the record shows that this town took her part, and, as 
promptly as possible, always paid her assessments into the treasury of 
the colony, whether for home or outside expenses. 



l6 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

In 1755 the dividing line between Glocester and Scituate 
was run by Henry Harris, Esq., Mr. Thomas Steere and 
Col. Resolved Waterman. They made their report to the 
Assembly, the said towns paying all expense. 

In 1756, sixteen able-bodied men were demanded of this 
town to aid the forces of the King of England in an expedi- 
tion against Crown Point. To encourage enlisting, a bounty 
of four pounds ten shillings lawful money was given to each 
man, and thirty shillings per month during his service; also a 
woolen blanket. The French in war were struggling hard, 
not only to hold their large possessions in America, but to 
add new conquests. Constant drafts for men and money 
were called for during seven successive years. In 1763 the 
French power terminated in America, and Great Britain had 
control of all the country east of the Mississippi. 

In December, 1760, by order of authority, the death of 
King George was promulgated throughout this town ; also, 
that the funeral ceremonies would take place at Newport, 
January 9, 1761. As the inhabitants of this town were sub- 
jects of His Majesty, a copy of what was printed in the 
Newport Mercury at the above time is here given : 

" To express a just and becoming concern at the death of the best of 
Kings, his late ilkistrious Majesty, King George the Second, of blessed 
and glorious memory, at nine in the morning the four companies of 
militia and the troop of horse belonging to the town of Newport, met at 
the Court House, from whence they marched in military mourning to the 
house of Doctor David Ellis, where were assembled the magistrates and 
principal gentlemen of the town. At half-past ten in the morning, min- 
ute guns continued firing from Fort George ; and between eleven and 
twelve the procession began in the following order: First, the four 
youngest sergeants marched with their halberds covered with black and 
reversed; then the private men four abreast, wath their arms reversed; 
four drummers, with their drums covered with black; four ensigns, w^th 
their colors wrapt in black; four lieutenants, then four captains, all with 
pikes covered with black and reversed; after them the field officers and 
high sheriff of the colony as heralds-at-anns ; next to him marched 
(between files of a troop of horse) His Honor the deputy and the civil 
officers and a considerable number of merchants and gentlemen. After 
arriving at the Court House, the high sheriff pronounced with an audible 
voice the following proclamation : ' Whereas it has pleased Almighty 
God to call to His mercy our late sovereign. King George the Second, of 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. \'J 

blessed and glorious memory, by whose decease the imperial crown of 
Great Britain, France and Ireland, also the supreme dominion and sove- 
reign right of the colony of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations in 
New England, and other colonies in America, are solely and rightfully 
come to the high and mighty Prince of Wales; we, therefore, the Gover- 
nor and company associated, Avith numbers of the principal inhabitants 
of the towns of this colony and plantation, do now hereby, with one full 
voice and consent of tongue and heart, publish and proclaim that the 
high and mighty Prince George, Prince of Wales, now by the death of 
our late sovereign, of happy and glorious memory, become our only law- 
ful and rightful sovereign, liege lord, George the Third, by the grace of 
God, King of Great Britain, France, Ireland, Defender of the Faith, 
Supreme Lord of said colony of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations,' 
etc., etc. Stephen Hopkins, Governor.'''' 

This day an excellent sermon was preached on the death 
of his late Majesty by the Rev. Ezra Stiles, from ist Chron- 
icles, 29th chapter, 26th, 27th and 28th verses. 

The new King began with a more stringent system of colo- 
nial policy than heretofore had been exercised. Under the 
new King, restrictions on trade and manufactures began to 
cause much vexation, and the colonists were compelled to 
sell all their produce in the English markets for such foreign 
articles as were needed here of the merchants and manufac- 
turers of their country. No wool was sold outside the colo- 
nies, and many restraints and requirements were borne. 



THE WAR FOR INDEPENDENCE. 

In 1772 there was an effort on the part of England to 
increase the revenue of the colonies for the home govern- 
ment, and the larger taxes were heavy to be borne. The 
success in capturing the "Gaspee" made all hearts respond : 
"We will make our own laws and taxes." This the people 
saw would for a time cause a great struggle, sacrifice and 
suffering. This spirit carried out by the people, it was at 
once seen that great attention must be given, in concert with 
all the other towns, to military instruction, to bullets and 
powder. The people of this- town were very active to rise in 
their strength and make themselves politically free and inde- 
3 



1 8 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

pendent. The Assembly, after deliberating and correspond- 
ing with the other colonies, appointed a committee in each 
town to receive their proportion of powder, bullets, lead and 
flints belonging to the colony. Jonah Steere was appointed 
for this town. He received 'j'j pounds of powder, 123 pounds 
of lead, and 492 pounds of flints. 

Finally the extra duty on tea intensely roused the people, 
especially the women. Tea was blotted from the signs on 
the stores. For a substitute, sage, current and red rasp- 
berry leaves dried, also a plant called CeanatJuLS Americana, 
were used ; for coffee, burnt rye, peas, and the inside of 
chestnut bark. 

A day of fasting and prayer was appointed January 19, 
1774. All the people were called to a full consideration of 
independence, and they resolved "that the disposal of their 
own property is the inherent right of freemen ; that there 
can be no property in which another can of right take from 
the owner without his consent ; that the claim of Parliament 
to tax America is, in other words, a claim of right to levy 
contributions on us at pleasure." Many other resolutions 
were passed confirming the above, and finally "that this town • 
will cooperate with the other towns in this colony, and with 
the United Colonies, in a resolute stand for freedom." The 
only limitation to their powers conferred were that our laws 
should not conflict with the laws of England. They had the 
power to revoke the charter; they discouraged the manufac- 
ture of such articles as could be sent from the mother 
country; judges were made on the will of the King, and 
various requirements without the consent of the people here. 
Not long after these acts were decided upon, war ships were 
in Boston harbor, and by their seizures the inhabitants were 
in great distress. Large droves of sheep were sent from this 
colony. Glocester sent 95. 

At this period the inhabitants* of this town agreed with 
the other towns to use their utmost endeavors to encourage 

♦Number of inhabitants in 1774 in. the village of Providence, 4,331 ; 
in Glocester, 2,945. 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. I9 

frugality, economy and industry ; to promote agriculture, arts, 
and the manufacture of cloth, especially that of wool and 
linen ; to discountenance and discourage gaming, expensive 
shows, plays and diversions ; that on the death of a friend a 
gentleman should wear only black crape or ribbon on the arm 
or hat, a lady wear black ribbon or necklace, and to discon- 
tinue the practice of giving gloves and scarfs at funerals. 

May II, 1774, was set apart by the government as a day 
of fasting, humiliation and prayer, the proclamation being 
issued by the Governor. The day was very generally appro- 
priately observed. 

Mr. Asa Kimball was appointed to take account of all 
arms, powder and ammunition in this town ; and as there 
were private as well as public stocks, he was empowered to 
go to the house of each citizen in the town and there take 
the account. 

An "army of observation" was raised, in which this town 
furnished her quota. This army was mainly sustained for 
self-defense, at Newport and Providence, in order to prevent 
or repel any further attempts to enforce the acts of the 
British. Among the fifty-two articles they were to adhere to 
for regulating this army was, that all officers and soldiers 
frequent divine worship and sermon in the places appointed 
for the assembling of the regiment, troop or company to 
which they belong. In case of neglect, some portion of their 
pay was forfeited ; also the penalty of a sixpence was in- 
curred by any non-commissioned officer or soldier, should 
he use any unlawful oath or execration ; and if a commis- 
sioned officer was found guilty of profane swearing, he for- 
feited for every offense the sum of ninepence, lawful money. 
In 1775 there were 1,500 men in this army. Form of enlist- 
ment : "We, the subscribers, voluntarily enlist ourselves to 
serve as minute men in the service of this colony, to be 
under the immediate command of our superior officers and 
subject to the law of this colony for regulating the minute 
men." Each captain received six shillings per day, each 
lieutenant five shillings, each ensign four shillings, and all 
others thirty cents per day, lawful money. All persons not 



20 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

able to furnish their war equipments were supplied by a 
committee appointed for that purpose, viz.: Messrs. John 
Wells, Gideon Burgess, Aaron Winsor and Samuel Mays. 
All officers of whatever grade took an oath to be true and 
faithful to requirements. 

War having been declared, and the great wish being lib- 
erty and self-representation, it was resolved by the General 
Assembly " that this colony most ardently wish to see the 
former friendship, harmony and intercourse between England 
and this colony restored, a happy and lasting connection 
established upon terms of just and equal liberty." This 
colony was ardently attached to the mother country. 

Mr. Benjamin Colwell was the committee to receive and 
furnish the war implements, such as good fire-arms with 
bayonets, iron ramrods and cartridge-boxes, all stamped with 
the colony's arms. 

In the beginning of the war it was impossible to raise the 
necessary money required by taxation, therefore the Congress 
of the United States and the Legislature of this State (also 
other States ) issued bills of public credit, which were circu- 
lated as money. Towards the close of the war these bills 
became very much depreciated, and finally nearly worthless. 
In many cases great losses were experienced by this depre- 
ciation. 

In March, 1776, the Assembly supplied Glocester with 150 
pounds of powder and 300 pounds of lead or cartridges, as 
they preferred, to be prepared to assist the Massachusetts 
colony, should they be invaded. Picket guard had to be kept 
up. Salt belonging to the colony was distributed among the 
towns, according to the number of inhabitants. Glocester 
received this year 407I bushels. 

In 1774 the Light Infantry of the town of Glocester, an 
independent company, was formed. 

Quakers were exempted from war acts out of respect to 
their disbelief on the subject of oaths. A number of persons 
in Newport refused to subscribe the test oath. Joseph 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 21 

Wanton and others were sent to different towns. To the 
farm of Stephen Keech, in Glocester, were ordered Richard 
Beale, John Nichol, Nicholas Lechmere and Thomas Vernon, 
where they were permitted to go at large within the limits of 
the town. The neighbors in the vicinity were so opposed to 
the nuisance that the Assembly appointed Deputy Sheriff 
Benjamin Smith to remove them from the town. They 
were with Mr. Keech, who lived in a retired part of the 
town, eleven weeks. Their board bill was nineteen pounds 
and sixteen shillings, lawful money. This bill was allowed 
and paid out of the general treasury. The test oath 
"acknowledged the person to be a lawful subject of the 
government, and always endeavor to advance peace and the 
good welfare of the Plantation, to seek to prevent anything 
that would be injurious to said government, and in every way 
to promote its interests. So help me God." A fine of one 
hundred pounds was imposed on any person who in any way 
acknowledged the supremacy of the King of Great Britain. 

On the 4th of July, 1776, the United States declared them- 
selves independent, yet years of war followed. Peace was 
not declared until 1783, when Washington surrendered his 
commission and retired to private life. Glocester was 
ordered in 1775 to furnish JJ pounds of powder, 123 pounds 
of lead, and 424 pounds of flints.* 

The soldiers that returned to Glocester after the Revolu- 
tion, from Col. Isaac Angell's company, were Reuben Wil- 
liams, Amos Wood, Nathaniel Stoddard, Joseph Turner, 
Stukely Inman and Ephraim Andrews. 

The government was very liberal in bounties and monthly 
payments to officers and soldiers that enlisted. All signed 
the test oath. 

The following named officers commanded the several 
trained bands in this town : 

*In 1776 the number of acres of woodland in the town was 29,317. The 
number of polls in Glocester were 488; in Providence, 453. This year 
Glocester had more polls than any other town in the State except New- 
port. Samuel Ward was Governor. 



22 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

First Company — Benajah Whipple, Captain; Simeon 
Smith, Lieutenant ; John Eddy, Ensign. 

Second Company — Samuel May, Captain; Ezekiel Phet- 
teplace, Lieutenant ; Daniel Matheson, Ensign. 

Third Company — Abraham Winsor, Captain; Stephen 
Paine, Lieutenant ; Richard Lewis, Ensign. 

Fourth Company — Stephen Winsor, Captain ; Aaron 
Arnold, Lieutenant ; Isaac Ross, Ensign. 

All these companies met regularly to practice and ready 
at call Enlisting officers were Aaron Winsor, John Wells, 
Gideon Burgess and Samuel May. 

In 1778, Asa Kimball, from this town, was appointed com- 
missioner of the Continental War Loan office. No loan was to 
be less than two hundred dollars. 

Officers of trained bands in Glocester in 1778 : 

First Company — Stephen Olney, Captain; Benjamin Bur- 
lingame, Lieutenant ; Stephen Irons, Ensign. 

Second Covipany — Samuel May, Captain : Daniel Mathe- 
son, Lieutenant ; James Colwell, Ensign. 

Third Company — Abraham Winsor, Captain ; Richard 
Lewis, Lieutenant ; Nathaniel Wade, Ensign. 

Fourth Company — Stephen Winsor, Captain; Isaac Ross, 
Lieutenant ; Israel Smith, Ensign. 

Officers of trained bands in 1779: 

First Company — Benjamin Whipple, Captain; Richard 
Tucker, Lieutenant; Peter Lewis, Ensign. 

Third Company — Abraham Winsor, Captain ; Nathaniel 
Wade, Lieutenant ; Zebulon Wade, Ensign. 

FourtJi Company — Stephen Winsor, Captain ; Isaac Ross, 
Lieutenant ; Israel Smith, Ensign. 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 23 

Officers of trained bands in 1780: 

First Company — Benajah Whipple, Captain; Peter Lewis, 
Lieutenant ; Henry Wheeler, Ensign. 

Second Company — Samuel Mayo, Captain ; James Colwell, 
Lieutenant ; Arnold Smith, Ensign. 

Third Company — Nathaniel Wade, Captain; Zebulon 
Wade, Lieutenant; John Pray, Ensign. 

Fourth Company — Stephen Winsor, Captain; Isaac Ross, 
Lieutenant ; Jeremiah L'ons, Ensign. 

Reuben Mason, M. D., Surgeon. 

[From the Providence Gazette, 1774-] 

LAND ADVERTISED TO BE SOLD IN THE WESTERN PART 
OF GLOCESTER. 

Colonel Resolved Waterman's estate, of Smithfield, deceased. Apply 
to John Waterman, of Providence, or John Smith, of Smithfield. 

The valuation of property in this town in the year 1777, 
as was estimated by the assessors of taxes, was about $360,- 
000. The town had to be often looked over to see what 
persons were able-bodied, as there was constant need of fresh 
supplies of soldiers while the British warships were in our 
waters. During the recess of the General Assembly, mem- 
bers of the council of war had power to act in military 
matters. Bills of credit had often to be issued to aid in 
supporting the soldiers, etc. As the enemy's warships were 
in Rhode Island waters, all the available militia of every 
town had to be ready at this time to be called forth, which 
greatly prevented carrying on necessary husbandry, and 
many other things. The women in this town not only had 
their families and farms in many cases to care for, but to 
spin wool into yarn, to weave blankets, and knit stockings 
for the soldiers. The women, as a rule, were very frugal in 
the necessaries of life, especially in beef and grain. Taxes 
were very much increased. This year was a very trying one 
for this town, there were so many calls for men, provisions 



24 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

and blankets. Daniel Owen and Andrew Brown were the 
committee of safety from this town. In May, sixty-eight men 
were called for from Glocester as her proportion to fill up the 
State brigade to be raised for fifteen months. Six pounds 
bounty was given for non-commissioned officers and privates, 
but for a part of their bounty their clothing was allowed if 
they were willing to receive it in this way ; also ten barrels of 
beef, twenty pairs of good woolen stockings, and over three 
hundred weight of iron. Asa Kimball was appointed to pro- 
cure the blankets. 

Elijah Armstrong was Ensign in Captain Allen's com- 
pany. In one company in the brigade, John Eddy was Cap- 
tain ; Stephen Olney, Lieutenant ; John Bowen, Ensign, 
taken from the first company of militia in this town. Capt. 
Asa Kimball and Nathaniel Blackmar were appointed recruit- 
ing officers for the town to raise men to fill up the aforesaid 
battalion in the State. Mr. Kimball was also appointed to 
open subscription in Glocester for the Continental Loan 
office. Yarn stockings to be furnished in October, fort}'- 
pairs ; and in December, eighty pairs ; making one busy 
year for the women of the town, while the men wearied in 
their watching, marching and counter-marching, but buoy- 
ant with hope that they soon should be free to aid in making 
their own laws. 

In 1777, in consequence of the British having possession 
of the island of Rhode Island, many of the inhabitants left 
the island, some going to distant parts not to return, while 
many came to the mainland and had to be supported for the 
then present time in the towns where they were scattered. 

The same year Col. Chad Brown, of Glocester, was 
chosen field officer for the State from the county of Provi- 
dence, and John Colwell, Jr., Esq., Lieutenant-Colonel of the 
third regiment of militia in the county of Providence. At 
the same time, in council, was read and approved the return 
of the officers chosen to command the company of Light 
Infantry in this town, viz.: Timothy Wilmarth, Jr., Captain; 
David Richmond, First Lieutenant ; Martin Smith, Second 
Lieutenant ; Caleb Sheldon, Ensign. 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 2$ 

December i8, 1777, was a national day of thanksgiving 
and praise. In one place of prayer in this town Rev. Joseph 
Winsor presided. 

Prices of labor, wares and merchandise were regulated by 
law. Farming labor in the summer for men was not to 
exceed three shillings and sixpence per day, other seasons of 
the year in the usual proportions ; mechanics and tradesmen 
about the same as heretofore ; good wheat not to exceed 
seven shillings and sixpence per bushel ; rye, four shillings 
and sixpence per bushel ; corn, three shillings and four pence 
per bushel ; wool, two shillings per pounds. The best 
grass-fed beef, three pence per pound, and so on. The prices 
of most articles for food and raiment for the people were also 
fixed by law. 

July 5, 1776, Congress adopted a Declaration of Independ- 
ence. The Rhode Island Assembly being in session, ap- 
proved the resolution. Mr. Richard Steere and Col. Chad 
Brov/n were appointed deputies from this town. 

The colonial period closed May 4, 1776. Rhode Island 
was the last of the thirteen original States that adopted the 
constitution, which she did, May 29, 1790, by a majority of 
two votes. 

All persons able to bear arms, from 16 to 60 years of age, 
were expected to join regiments, unless for good reasons 
excused. 

Members of the Society of Friends were exempt from 
enlisting in any company by producing a certificate from the 
clerk of the Monthly Meeting, to the commanding ofificer 
within the district in which they lived. This year the test 
oath was administered to all persons suspected as Tories. 

In May, 1778, forty-six men were to be furnished for the 
army, and 120 pairs of yarn stockings. The June following, 
34 soldiers were called for. Caleb Arnold was appointed to 
pay the bounties allowed by the State. 

Ratable property as taken in the town by an appointed 
committee: Value of the town land, 181,389 pounds 7 shil- 
lings ; slaves, from 10 to 50 years old, 5 pounds; trading stock 
4 



26 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

and money, 1,936 pounds ; ounces of plate, 286 ; horses, 363 ; 
horned cattle, 2,678; sheep and goats, 3,558; oxen, 420. 

Zebedee Hopkins was appointed to take the number of 
inhabitants of this town. 

The year 1779 was a year of great trial and suffering. 
The taxes were still to be increased ; paper money had 
greatly depreciated in value, yet these depreciated bills were 
made legal tender to pay debts, and were easily counterfeited. 
The honest and patriotic were impoverished, while rogues 
and some Tories grew rich. The winters of 1779 and 1780 
were very severe. 

The estates of a Mr. Hatch and Henry Overing were taken 
possession of by the town, as the owners were considered 
enemies to the government, and given to the sheriff for 
sale. 

The manner of cooking was before an immense back-log 
and long sticks of wood, all on fire, on large iron andirons, 
baking a short-cake in smouldering ashes, or on a cake-board 
before the fire. A turkey, goose or chicken was often 
cooked by having a wire fastened around the poultry and 
hung upon the crane by the spit before the fire, often turn- 
ing it around. A skillet was set underneath to catch the 
drippings. 

The dark day of May 19, 1780, will long be remembered. 
For several days previous, the air was close and seemed 
to be smoky. After nine in the morning there was a little 
thunder and light rain. Soon after, it grew so dark that the 
people left their work, both in and out doors ; to read or see 
the time by the clock, a candle had to be lighted. The sky 
looked yellowish and gloomy. About noon, birds and fowls 
went to their roosts and cattle retired. At a little private 
school in the Irons neighborhood, parents became so alarmed 
that they hastened with their horses to bring their children 
home, and without doubt the same dispatch was made in 
many places. The people stood appalled, many thinking the 
Day of Judgment was at hand. There was very little wind. 
To some persons the political aspect of the country made the 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 2/ 

phenomena more to be dreaded ; others thought it was a pre- 
cursor of something- more fearful to the country. The dark- 
ness continued about five hours. It extended over New 
England generally. Since that time some causes have been 
advanced that produced the darkness. 

The following is from Guild's History of Brown Uni- 
versity : 

" Dr. Manning, during the cessation of Brown University 
exercises, in 1779, on account of the war, set out on a journey 
with his wife to Philadelphia, on business. He started from 
Providence Thursday, April twenty-ninth, and reached Col. 
Abraham Winsor's, in Smithfield, where they spent the 
night. The next day they travelled to Mr. John Brown's,* 
in Glocester, near Chepachet, 'where,' he says, 'we had an 
excellent dinner, and our horses well cared for.' They 
remained in Philadelphia until the following September, 
when they returned by the same route and called again on 
his hospitable friend, Mr. Brown, in Glocester, where they 
were very much refreshed." 

In 1780, the army of the French fleet of the King of 
France, our illustrious allies, having arrived, acted under the 
direction of Gen. Washington. At this time this State was 
called upon to furnish 630 soldiers to cooperate with them. 
Glocester's proportion was 34 men. Zebedee Hopkins, Jr., 
was appointed by the State to receive the money for paying 
the bounties to the soldiers. Glocester at this time furnished 
4,600 pounds of beef and 150 bushels of grain. Messrs. 
Chad Brown, John Smith, Stephen Winsor, Solomon Owen, 
Jonah Steere, Elisha Bartlett and Caleb Arnold were the 
committee to carry the above into effect. Mr. Moses Cooper 
was always active in aiding to collect for the soldiers. Calls 
often were made for men and means. Number of polls 
within the town, 555. At this time Glocester had a greater 

*The Mr. John Brown here spoken of, and who resided a part of each 
year on his farm in Glocester, is the Mr. Brown that laid the corner-stone 
of Brown University. 



28 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

number of polls than any other town in the State except 
Scituate, then including Foster, Newport being in possession 
of the British. Hundreds of yards of tow-cloth were made 
for the army. Arnold says, in his History of Rhode Island, 
" that history has failed to record the fact that the first 
sword that flashed in triumph above the captured heights of 
Yorktown, was a Rhode Island sword." 

Officers approved by the Assembly to command the 
Glocester Light Infantry, viz.: Timothy Wilmarth, Captain ; 
Martin Smith, First Lieutenant ; Elijah Armstrong, Second 
Lieutenant ; Ezekiel Brown, Ensign. 

Cold winter of 1781 and 1782. Large quantities of snow 
fell, and people had to travel with snow shoes, as the roads 
could not be kept open. Corn and rye had to be carried on 
hand-sleds to the mill to be ground. 

In 1782 the town was required by law to furnish the State's 
battalion, for the Continental troops, 210 yards of tow cloth 
one yard wide and whitened, and thirty pairs of woolen 
stockings. 

In 1783 the war ceased and a proclamation was forwarded 
to all the towns in the State. John Smith, of this town, was 
one of Gov. Greene's assistants. Richard Steere, Esq., 
continued Justice of the Court of Common Pleas of Provi- 
dence county. The treaty of peace and friendship signed by 
the United States and Great Britain was officially received 
from Congress in February, 1784. His Excellency Gov- 
ernor William Greene issued a proclamation to make it 
known, and caused it to be proclaimed by the sheriffs in their 
respective county towns on an appointed day. 

Pensions were allowed invalid soldiers after the war. 
The inhabitants were charitable and humane. In the 
Revolutionary war they used great efforts for promoting the 
independence of the colonies, and after the war was over, 
they, with great courage and energy, set about restoring their 
shattered fortunes. 

To encourage home manufacture, the Assembly enacted 
an additional import duty on many foreign goods, both on 
implements of husbandry and wearing apparel. 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 29 

Money* became so scarce that many rents were paid in 
grain, and by necessity industrial pursuits were well attended 
to ; also domestic manufacture was very much encouraged by 
legislative acts. Spinning of cotton was commenced about 
this time. 

To make the people of this colony more independent, and 
to increase the making of linen cloth, an act was passed by 
the Assembly that a bounty of one penny be paid, lawful 
money, on every pound of good hemp or flax that should be 
raised in this State during the years 1786 and 1787. All flax 
raised for sale had to be examined by a justice of the peace or 
a warden, in the town, who also weighed the same in the pres- 
ence of the one who raised it. Upon the assurance that the 
flax was raised by himself, the justice or warden gave him a 
certificate to sell the same. For the certificate the man paid 
the justice one shilling. Very nice, fine and whitened linen 
cloth was made in this town. 

The men and women began now in good earnest to see 
what they could do to support themselves independent of 
foreign aid. Meetings of women of all ranks in life were 
held, where they learned to spin flax, and no lady con- 
sidered it beneath her dignity to spin or weave linen or 
woolen cloth for family use. The men set about to establish 
various mills for making boards, nails, etc., etc. Men of 
property and influence wore their American wool cloth 
instead of foreign-made. Mr. John Brown, of this town, in 
January, 1789, appeared in the General Assembly dressed 
in cloth made from the wool of his own sheep, kept on his 

* Near a pond in the northwestern part of the town (iiow in Burrillville), 
in a rocky hill by a little running stream, is a den not easily to be found. 
It was all surrounded by brush and trees. Here a gang of men from sev- 
eral towns had a forge made, to make plated and silver coinage. They 
made the old '86 and the Spanish milled dollar, both plated and mixed. 
They were soon detected, the tools were taken and brought with the chief 
operators before the justice court at Chepachet. It was finally settled 
with the large number engaged in it. Silver was then scarce, but the 
dishonest way of adding to their coffers followed their reputation and 
gave great pain to many families. 



30 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

farm where he Hved in this town. And the paper from 
which this was taken also adds that the yarn was spun by a 
woman 88 years of age. 

In some families much fine linen was spun on a linen 
wheel, a curious and delicate piece of machinery, and it was 
quite an accomplishment to learn to use it. The flax was 
made free from its woody parts, hetcheled and drawn out 
loner, then wound around a kind of distaff that was above the 
wheel ; a spool was in readiness for the thread to be wound 
around as it was spun. The movement of the foot on the pedal 
below, set the machinery in motion to twist the thread that 
the fingers were pulling from the flax on the distaff. Very 
nice and fine lawn linen was made, some of it striped with 
coarser thread, which made rich window and bed-curtains all 
whitened. Fine patterns of diaper for table cloths, and 
many and various other articles, including nearly all kinds of 
wearing apparel and bedding, were manufactured from wool 
and flax. Sonje of the towns-people will remember Nancy 
Bowen, who spun linen and made it into skeins of nice linen 
thread, and also thread for stockings. After getting ready 
as large a pack as she could carry, she would put on her 
famous patch dress and take the thread to her regulai" cus- 
tomers. 

In 1783 a large number of inhabitants were very discom- 
fited on account of the continental bills and high taxes. 
Many persons lost a large part of their property by receiving 
the depreciated paper money. The insurrection broke out 
with violence. Armed men entered Glocester and towns in 
Connecticut, where they were joined with others to obstruct 
the payment of taxes ; persons were rescued who had been 
arrested by law. The infection so spread that a convention 
was called for the avowed purpose to pay no more 
taxes and to overthrow the government. The rioters 
not 'ordy seized cattle that had been taken for taxes, 
but prisoners while on trial. Deputy Governor Bowen 
acted with great energy at this critical time, causing 
the ringleaders to be arrested. United measures were 
taken by the three States to crush the insurrection. 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 3 1 

The leaders were prosecuted to the extent of the law. The 
rioters taken, soon confessed their crime and petitioned for 
pardon. Abraham Tourtellotte and John Phetteplace were 
among the number of the ringleaders. 

The Providence Society for the Abolition of Slavery was 
incorporated about this time for the relief of persons held in 
bondage unlawfully, and for improving the African race. 
Several signed the petition from this town. The gradual 
abolition of slavery from this State was authorized on the 
first day of March, 1784, on this wise: "All children on or 
after the above date shall be free, and that such children 
shall be educated in the principles of morality, religion, and 
instructed in reading and arithmetic. The respective towns 
to bind out these children until boys are twenty-one and girls 
eighteen years." 

Still it was discovered that some of the inhabitants sympa- 
thized with the mother country, and this with some other 
discordant elements hindered the carrying forward to settle 
accounts and raise funds authorized by the town. 

In 1782 the Assembly passed an act punishing with death 
any one that should counterfeit the bills of the Bank of 
North America, the first paper money in the country that 
was redeemed in specie on presentation. 



THE FEDERAL CONSTITUTION. 

At a convention of the several States called and held in 
Philadeliohia in 1787, the Articles of Confederation were 
revised and a Federal Constitution agreed upon to be sub- 
mitted to the people of the several States in convention, and 
by this means a number of copies were sent to each towni 
clerk to be distributed among the inhabitants, that the free- 
men might have an opportunity to form their opinion on the 
proposed constitution. The number of said reports sent to 
the town of Glocester was sixty. It was further required that 
warrants be sent in time for convening the freemen and free- 
holders on the fourth Monday in March, 1788, to give their 



32 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

votes for the proposed constitution or against it. Notices of 
the above meeting were set up in the most pubHc places, and 
to make it sure that all saw and understood it, the town ser- 
geant and constables were required to go to the residences 
of all the freemen and freeholders in the town, and give in 
person the notice of the above meeting. If very stormy, the 
convention would adjourn from day to day. The convention 
was held and the vote stood : yeas, 9 ; nays, 228. 

The following are the names of freemen from this town 
who voted against the new constitution, 1788 : 

John Andrews, Daniel Owen, Stephen Smith, Jirah Ballou, 
Stephen Steere, William Col well, Jr., Ezekiel Brown, Enoch 
Steere, Samuel Phetteplace, Elisha Inman, Richard Coman, 
Charles Wood, David Inman, Esquire Luther, John Kimball, 
Daniel Brown, Amasa Eddy, Amos Winsor, Stephen Whip- 
ple, Samuel Cook, Israel Sayles, Timothy Jenne, Esek 
Smith, William Coman, Jocktan Putnam, Asa Burlingame, 
Thomas Rowland, Stephen Evans, George Hunt, Benjamin 
Salsbury, James King, Jr., Joseph Rowland, Nathan Paine, 
3d, Zacheus Aldrich, Jeremiah Ballard, Jr., Josiah Brown, 
Daniel Smith, Nathaniel Wade, Stephen Woodward, Squire 
Williams, Preserved Rerenden, John Phetteplace, Ezekiel 
Sayles, Stephen Colwell, Michael Cook, Stukely Turner, 
Caleb Arnold, Gideon Bishop, William Turner, Joshua Mathe- 
son, James Rarris, Robert Sanders, Jr., Thomas Smith, 
Othnial Sanders, John Salsbury, Ebenezer Darling, Gideon 
Cook, Jacob Ballard, Asahel Stone, Adam Phillips, Obadiah 
Inman, Barzillia Dexter, Jonathan Cowan, George Brown, 
Andrew Darling, Thomas Steere, Robert Colwell, Jr., David 
Colwell, James Lewis, Joseph Davis, Elkana Brown, Amos 
Williams, Orial Ropkins, Olney Eddy, Chad Brown, David 
Ballou, John Inman, William Eddy, Joshua Cook, John Davis, 
Joseph Estin, Moses Cooper, Caleb Bartlett, Charles Colwell, 
Willard Eddy, Aaron Arnold, John Stone, Edward Davis, 
James Reynolds, Ishmael Sayles, Esek Whipple, Thomas 
Sayles, Barak Benson, John Whipple, Zebulon Wade, Ezra 
Brown, Solomon Rerenden, Asa Ballou, John Wells, Jr., 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 33 

Job Steere, Thomas Barnes, Samuel Potter, Daniel Barnes, 
Jesse Eddy, Christopher Sayles, James Stone, Aaron Logee, 
Henry Sanders, Ezra Steere, William Wilkinson, Simeon 
Place, Daniel Evans, Stephen Salsbury, Ebenezer DarHng, 
John Rowland, David Ballon (son of Samuel), Samuel May, 
Samuel Winsor, Jesse Potter, Simeon Sweet, Benajah Whip- 
ple, Aaron Winsor, James King, Charles Salsbury, Nicholas 
Potter, Jesse Armstrong, Silas Thayer, Elkanah Sherman, 
Simeon Smith, James Cowan, Thomas Wood, Benedict Bur- 
lingame, Eleazer Ballon, Jesse Lapham, John Mathewson, Jr., 
Noah Steere, Zebedee Hopkins, Jr., Basaleel Paine, Caleb 
Steere, Nathan Cooper, Caleb Steere, William Tourtellot, An- 
drew Herenden, Eliakim Phetteplace, Thomas Owen, Jr., 
Joseph Shippee, Andrew Phillips, William Wood, Elisha Bur- 
lingame, Elisha Steere, William Wade, Martin Smith, Sylvanus 
Cook, Thomas Burlingame, Ahab Sayles, Stephen Winsor, 
Reuben Mason, Benjamin Warner, Jethro Lapham, Rufus 
Williams, Solomon Lapham, William Arnold, Aaron Phillips, 
Ezekiel Phetteplace, Obadiah Fenner, Benjamin Hawkins, 
Joseph Hawkins, Jeremiah Irons, Jr., Moses Cooper, Jr., 
Jonathan Bowen, Jonathan Vallett, Edward Greene, William 
Hawkins, Benjamin Cowen, John Wells, Daniel Page, Joseph 
Keech, Joseph Brown, David Richardson, Stephen Aldrich, 
Jesse Aldrich, David Vallett, Seth Hunt, Jonathan Eddy, Jr., 
David Burlingame, Samuel Phetteplace, Jr., William Haw- 
kins, Jr., Jesse Winsor, Jesse Keech, Stephen Barnes, Elijah 
Armstrong, John Steere, Abraham Clarke, Joshua Luther, 
Joseph Phillips, William Page, Jr., John Cowan, Jr., Moses 
Taft, Ezekiel Phetteplace, Abia Luther, Peter Aldrich, John 
Perry, Nathaniel Bowditch, Jr., David Mowry, Solomon Owen, 
John Esten, Jr., Esek Brown, John Smithson, Stephen San- 
ders, Noah Eddy, Benjamin Paine, Stephen Cowen, Joseph 
Smith — largest number of nays of any town in the State. 

The above votes were carefully sealed up and directed to 
the General Assembly, to meet by adjournment at East 
Greenwich, there to be opened and/ \e opinion of the people 



34 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

of this town made known in regard to tlie"adoption of the 
new constitution of the United States. 

Thursday, the 26th day of November, 1789, was appointed 
as a day of public thanksgiving and prayer throughout this 
State, by Gov. Greene, and from that time until the present 
there has been but one omission of the above appointment 
by the Governor or Deputy. 

Gov. Daniel Owen was one of the State's committe to draft 
a letter to the President of Congress stating the rejection of 
the constitution by this State. 

Freemen from this town who voted in favor of the new 
Rhode Island constitution : 

Benjamin Wilkinson, Jonathan Harris, Eleazer Harris, 
William Ross, Stephen Blackmar, Simon Smith, Thomas 
Owen, David Richmond, Jesse Brown, William Steere. 

Ten voted for the constitution, and 227 against it. 

The political affairs at this time called very decidedly for 
immediate active exertions of our freemen. A convention 
was called to meet at East Greenwich, in February, 1790, to 
again discuss the merits of adopting the new constitution, 
Hon. Daniel Owen and Stephen Steere, Esq., representing 
this town. An adjournment of the above meeting met at 
Newport the following May. Hon. Daniel Owen was chosen 
president of the convention. After much discussion and some 
amendments were made, the constitution was adopted May 
29, 1790. With this act the existence of Rhode Island as a 
sovereign State ceased. 

The convention at its close presented their thanks to Presi- 
dent Owen for the candor and impartiality with which he had 
discharged the office. 

The following letter was written by the Hon. Daniel Owen, 
president of the State Convention that adopted the constitu- 
tion, to the President of the United States : 

Newport, May 29, 1790. 
Honored Sir: — I have the pleasing satisfaction of informing Your Ex- 
cellency that the constitution of the United States of America was this day 
ratified and adopted by the convention of the people of this State, agreea- 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 35 

blj to the recommendation of the General Convention assembled at 
Philadelphia and the consequent resolution of Congress thereon. 

The lower House of the General Assembly of this State, at their session 
the former part of this month, passed a resolution requesting His Excel- 
lency, the Governor, in case the constitution should be adopted bv the 
convention, to call the Assembly together, by warrant, as soon after the 
adoption as might be, for the special purpose of electing Senators and 
taking measures for a representation of the people of this State in Con- 
gress. I can, therefore, assure Your Exellency that in the course of a 
few days, not to exceed sixteen, the Legislature will be assembled, either 
by special warrant or pursuant to their adjournment, on the second Mon- 
day in June, when, I have not the least doubt, the Senators will be im- 
mediately appointed and the State represented in Congress agreeably to 
the constitution, as soon as the elections can be accomplished. 

The ratification of the constitution will be made out and forwarded by 
the way of the post office with all possible expedition. 

Col. William Barton, who is a member of the convention, will have the 
honor of delivering this letter. 

With the highest sentiments of esteem and respect, I have the honor 
to be 

Your Excellency's most obedient servant, 

DANIEL OWEN, President. 

To the President of the United States. 



There was still a great love for England and some had the 
hope that the Articles of Confederation might be revised in 
some way so as still to be under the protection of the mother 
country. 

About this time a tax of 301 pounds 10 shillings and 7 
pence, lawful money, was assessed on this town to be paid 
into the general treasury. 

Slave trade in 1774 was disapproved of^by the government. 
Still some persons bought and sold the African slave until 
forbidden by law in 1787. 

The following advertisement was taken from the Providence 
Gazette, October 18, 1777: 

" Run away from John Fenner, of Glocester, a negro man named Yock- 
why, about 28 years of age, 5 feet S inches high, marked on both cheeks; 
had on and took with him a light cloth-colored homespun coat, with 
wooden buttons, breeches of the same color, blue serge jacket, pair of good 
leather breeches, a fine Holland shirt, a fine tow shirt, a new pair of thread 



36 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

stockings, one pair of new dark worsted stockings, one pair of white ribbed 
yarn do., one dark silk handkerchief, one linen do., one good castor hat 
without loops, one felt do., one pair of shoes with strings, one pair of sil- 
ver sleeve buttons. Whoever will take up and secure said negro, and re- 
turn him to his master, shall have six dollars reward. All masters of ves- 
sels are forbidden to carry oft" said negro at their peril. 

(Signed,) JOHN FENNER." 

Several land owners sold farms about this time. The fol- 
lowing is from the Gaaette of March, i jyG : 

To Be Sold or Let. — A farm lying in the northerly part of Glocester, 
containing 250 acres, adjoining Herring Pond; 150 acres are within good 
fence, 7 or 8 acres of rye in the ground, and is capable of producing 300 
bushels of corn ; it has a sufficient quantity of meadow, pasture and plow- 
ing land, will keep 20 head of cattle and is well timbered ; has a good 
dwelling house, corn crib, two hovels; also an orchard. Apply to 

BENJAMIN BOWEN, Providence. 

As early as 1791 the population of the town had so in- 
creased that in the northern part the men found it so incon- 
venient to go to Chepachet to attend town meetings that a 
petition was sent from the town to the General Assembly to 
have the town divided. The petition was received, but for 
various reasons the division was postponed. 

All male persons of twenty-one years and upwards, except 
ministers of the gospel, paid a poll tax. For several years 
mothers had the entire responsibility of their children, man- 
aging their affairs in the most frugal manner, and living on 
the resources of the town as far as possible. Weddings were 
celebrated without cake made of wheat flour; ribbons and 
many foreign articles of wear were not then worn. All con- 
siderate persons realized that to sustain the strength of the 
new independent nation, great wisdom, uprightness and in- 
telligence must be sought and adhered to. Sidney Smith 
has well said "That civilization does not simply consist in 
having better china and adornments, but to be just and noble 
in conduct." 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER, 3/ 

THE WAR OF 1812. 

After Washington resigned his commission and our nation 
had been acknowledged free by England, our people had to 
struggle hard to meet the exigencies of an independent nation. 
England foresaw what we had to encounter, and solaced her- 
self with the hope that we should be divided by civil broils 
and again might be restored to Great Britain. But fortu- 
nately for America, at this juncture she possessed some very 
able and wise men, who had great influence over their fellow- 
citizens. In 1812 it became evident that decisive measures 
must be taken to secure our rights and privileges. Our sea- 
men were impressed into the English service, our commerce, 
by some acts of their' s, was nearly swept from the ocean, and 
contrary to express stipulation, she refused to give up some 
military posts at the west and other important points of vital 
interest to the new republic. 

In view of these facts and other serious encroachments, on 
June 18, 1812, war was declared with the mother country," 
In this declaration the citizens of this town took an active 
interest. The military was at once put on a war footing. 
Fort Independence, on Robin Hill, Field's Point, Providence, 
was thrown up to protect the harbor. Members from this 
town assembled at Chepachet, spade in hand. When all 
were ready, the commander called out, "Shoulder shovels — 
march ! " All classes joined in making the defense — a breast- 
work was thrown up and a ditch around it. Some portions 
of it still remain. Soldiers received eight dollars per month 
and bounty from the town. 

December 24, 18 14, a treaty of peace was concluded. 
Since that time the two countries have been very friendly. 
Great depression in business prevailed at this time. 

Military officers in the revolutionary and colonial periods, 
from this town : 

Chad Brown, Stephen Winsor, Samuel May, John Smith, 
Jonah Steere, John Colwell, Dr. Reuben Mason, Caleb Arnold, 



38 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

Elisha Bartlett, Asa Kimball, Simeon Brown, Israel Cooke, 
Nathaniel Wade, Isaac Ross, Jeremiah Ross, Stephen Kim- 
ball, Benajah Whipple, Edward Sol way, Arnold Smith, 
Ezekiel Phetteplace, Henry Whipple, Simon Smith, Elijah 
Armstrong, Solomon Owen, Jeremiah Whipple, Abner Chil- 
son, Esek Brown, Seth Ross, John Pray, Benjamin Colwell, 
John Colwell, Abraham Tourtellot, David Richmond, Na- 
thaniel Blackmar, Samuel Thornton, John Phetteplace, James 
Colwell, Peter Lewis, Zephaniah Keach, John Whipple, Henry 
Wheeler, Edward Salsbiiry, Jeremiah Irons, Richard Tucker, 
Abraham Winsor, Zebulon Wade, Israel Smith, Asa Bow- 
dish, Asa Kimball, William Herenden, Richard Steere, John 
Eddy, Stephen Olney, John Bowen, Benjamin Burlingame, 
StejDhen Irons, Richard Lewis, Daniel Mathewson, Stephen 
Paine, Aaron Arnold, Martin Smith, Caleb Sheldon, Simon 
Smith, Eliakim Phetteplace, Ezekiel Brown, Timothy Wil- 
marth, Zephaniah Smith, Daniel Owen, Stephen Kimball. 

DIVISION OF THE TOWN IN 1806. 

At a town meeting held on the 27th of August, 1805, the 
division of the town was again discussed and a committee 
appointed, consisting of Zebedee Hopkins, Seth Hunt, 
Abraham Winsor, Daniel Tourtelott, Baralael Paine, Joctan 
Putnam and Edward Waldron, to draft a petition to divide 
the town as near as might be into two equal parts, thereby 
to form two towns, and present it to the next Assembly, 
which was to meet on the i6th of April, 1806. The petition 
was presented and granted to divide the town by drawing a 
line through the middle of the town from east to west, the 
northern part to be called Burrillville, in honor of the 
Attorney General of the State, the Hon. James Burrill. In 
recognition of this act, Mr. Burrill presented the town a full 
set of books to keep the town records. The southern half 
retained the favorite name, Glocester. 

The town being divided, an equal division of the poor was 
made between the two towns, also all debts due or owing, 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 39 

and money belonging to the town, said division to be settled 
and made in proportion to the last tax assessed ; the boundary 
to be established. The town is nearly five miles from north 
to south, and nearly eleven miles from east to west, con- 
taining fifty-three and three-tenths square miles. The 
business meetings of the town of Burrillville were to be held 
at Pascoag. Glocester town meetings are held as formerly 
at Chepachet. The town council meet here. The council- 
men are chosen annually at a regularly apjDointed meeting of 
from five to seven freeholders ; a majority constitutes a 
quorum. It is their duty to annually examine the jury boxes 
in April, and reject any names that have become disqualified 
from any cause. They may appoint clerks pro tempore of the 
council and also town clerk pro tempore during the disability 
of the regular one, and see to the right use of all charitable 
aid. The councilmen are ex-officio the board of health ; 
may adjudge the settlement of paupers and order them 
removed ; may remove or bind out bad persons ; may lay out 
highways and driftways ; may grant licenses and recall them ; 
may remove nuisances and regulate the assize of bread, etc. 

The town council constitutes a Court of Probate. This 
court has the power to take the probate of wills, grant letters 
of administration, appoint guardians to minors, idiots, etc. 

Every person who is a citizen of the United States, of the 
age of twenty-one, has resided in the State one year, and in 
the county six months in which he offered his vote, was a 
legal voter up to 1846 under the following regulations : Any 
native or naturalized citizen, without regard to color, who is 
the oldest son, or others who are possessed of landed property 
valued at one hundred and thirty-four dollars, or renting for 
seven dollars per annum." 

The town was incorporated and bounded north by Burrillville, 
east by Smithfield, south by Scituate and west by Killingly 
and Thompson in Connecticut. The rules of organization at 
that time were nearly the same as at present. In 1797, the 
title of Deputy was changed to Representative. 



40 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

In 1810, four years after Glocester was divided, the town 
contained four hundred dwelling houses, a population of 
2,310 ; two clothiers' works, six grain mills, four manufactur- 
ing establishments, seven or eight mercantile stores, two 
religious societies, twelve private schools, and one good 
social library. 



ROADS. 

Previous to the town of Glocester being set off from 
Providence, a road had been laid out from Providence village 
to Woodstock, passing through what are now the towns of 
North Providence, Johnston, Smithfield and Glocester to the 
road in Connecticut that leads to Woodstock. This road was 
a large country road, and much used. In 1788 so much of it 
had been taken by private persons that the travelling at some 
seasons had become very difficult. To repair said road, a 
petition from the several towns was presented to the Assem- 
bly, asking that the road might be relaid to its original width. 
It was granted, and Thomas Owen, Esq., of Glocester, Caleb 
Harris, Esq., of Johnston, Stephen Brayton, Esq., of Smith- 
field, and Mr. Thomas Olney, of North Providence, were 
appointed a committee to relay and open the road three rods 
wide, its original width, the aforesaid towns paying all expen- 
ses. The committee decided to petition for a lottery to raise 
twelve hundred dollars to aid in paying the repairs. The 
petition was granted, and Messrs. Timothy Wilmarth, 
Thomas Owen, Solomon Owen, Jr., Edward Greene and 
Nathaniel Bowditch were appointed directors of said lottery. 
The money was raised and the road repaired. 

In 1774 there was a road laid out from Providence to East 
Hoosick, through Glocester. In 1792 there was a road from 
Providence to Albany through this town ; also there was a 
road through this town in 1792 to Hartford, Ct., and Brook- 
field, Mass. 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 4I 



ROADS. 



A road that in the year 1762 passed from Providence to 
Connecticut through this town was by a number of persons 
residing in the towns through which the road passed, repre- 
sented to the Assembly to be so bad that carriages were not 
able to pass without great difficulty, that some part of the 
way was without inhabitants, and that the road could not be 
made passable without some assistance. If the road was in 
a good condition, commerce between Providence and Con- 
necticut would be greatly increased. The petition to raise 
necessary funds was granted by having a lottery, on con- 
dition that there should be no expense to the State. William 
Dean, Jonah Steere, Chad Brown, Abraham Winsor and 
Andrew Waterman were appointed directors to carry out 
these measures. In due time the road was put in good order 
for travel. 

In 1772 a road was laid out in the north part of the town, 
from the colony line, at a place known as Alum Pond Hill, 
and leading southerly to Cook's mill, about the distance of 
five miles, crossing Clear river at the north end and meeting 
a highway laid out by Massachusetts Bay which leads from 
Oxford to Providence. To put said highway in good order, 
the Assembly granted a lottery to raise four hundred dollars. 
Messrs. Jonathan Harris, William Ross and John Howland 
were appointed directors. No expense to the State. 

After lotteries were forbidden, toll-gates were established 
to raise funds to make repairs on turnpikes. 

The road in the south part of the town with a toll-gate 
was made free in 1856. 

In 1825 a charter was granted to Richard Burlingame and 
others for a turnpike beginning in North Providence and pass- 
ing through Johnston, and a corner of Scituate and Glocester, 
under the name of the Rhode Island and Connecticut Central 
Turnpike, with the permission to have two toll-gates in 
Glocester. One of these was opposite the hotel kept many 
6 



42 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

years, by Hezekiah Cady, in the western part of the town ; 
the other was established opposite the hotel kept many years 
by Mr. Richard Aldrich, in the eastern part of the town. 

In 1826 the Smithfield and Glocester turnpike was named 
the Mineral Spring turnpike. Reports of a committee on 
turnpikes were annually to be made to the General Assembly. 

The common roads are now laid out by the town and kept 
in repair by town taxes. The roads are generally kept in 
good condition. 

APPIAN WAY. 

In June, 18 16, a charter was granted to incorporate the 
Foster and Glocester Appian Way Society, as follows: 

^^Be it enacted by the General Assembly, and by the authority 
thereof it is hereby enacted, That the said Society be and they 
hereby are authorized to make and establish a branch of the 
turnpike road which by law they have been authorized to 
make and establish, and to extend the said branch from some 
place at or near the dwelling house of Jonathan Williams,* 
in Glocester, to the southerly end of the turnpike laid out 
by the State of Connecticut, or any other road laid out, or 
which may be laid out, in that State, leading from Thompson 
into the Chepachet Turnpike Road, and to make the said 
branch in the same manner, and with all the same privileges, 
as they have power, by their own charter, to make any other 
part of said road ; Provided the said Society shall previously 
obtain the consent thereto, of all the proprietors of the lands 
over which it will pass, under their hands and seals." 

No other recorded information has been found of the 
Appian Way by the author. 

RAILROADS. 

In January, 1874, the town of Glocester was authorized to 
subscribe and hold capital stock in the Providence and Spring- 
field Railroad Company. 

* Jonathan Williams' homestead in Glocester was not far from that of 
Mr. Nathaniel Bowditch, in the western part of the town. 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 43 

The Ponagansett railroad, to connect with the Hartford 
and Fishkill railroad and the Providence and Springfield rail- 
road, has not yet been made. 

The Woonasquatucket Railroad Company was incorporated 
in 1857, the road to pass through or near the village of Che- 
pachet, on the petition of Daniel M. Salsbury, Ira P. Evans, 
Clovis H. Bowen, Horace Kimball, Jason Emerson, Albert 
L. Sayles, Otis Sayles, George H. Browne, Nathan B. 
Sprague, Thomas Barnes, Anthony Steere, William Winsor, 
Elisha Dyer, Zachariah Allen, Philip Allen, Amos D. Smith 
and Henry B. Lyman. The road was built, but passes 
through Oakland instead of Chepachet. 



LOTTERIES. 

The lottery system, sanctioned by the Legislature, was 
commenced as early as 1763. It seemed to be the best and 
surest way to raise needed funds to build bridges, churches, 
to lay out and repair roads, and make other public improve- 
ments. After a few years the legality of lotteries was with- 
drawn by the Assembly. 

In 1774, "several persons of the inhabitants of the town 
of Glocester preferred a petition unto the General Assembly, 
praying that a lottery may be granted them for the raising 
the sum of five hundred pounds, lawful money, for the 
purpose of building a meeting house in the north part 
of /said town, and purchasing a lot for the same; and also a 
small lot for the use of their Society, commonly called 'The 
Old Standing Baptist,' which Society is under the care of 
Messrs. Edward Mitchel, John Winsor, William Bowen and 
Philemon Hynes ; that Messrs. Stephen Winsor, Arnold 
Smith, Martin Smith and Jesse Smith be appointed direc- 
tors of the same." 

The petition was granted, and it was provided " that said 
persons be managers of the said lottery, they giving bonds 
according to law in a sum double the amount of the sum 



44 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

which is to be raised by the sale of the tickets, and that no 
expense be given to the State." 

At the session of the General Assembly in January, 1790, 
"it was voted and resolved, that the Hon. Daniel Owen, 
Nathaniel Wade, Esq., and Mr. Seth Hunt, be appointed a 
committee to settle the account of Messrs. Stephen Winsor, 
Arnold Smith, Martin Smith and Jesse Smith, who were the 
directors of the said lottery for building a meeting house in 
Glocester, and that the expense thereof be defrayed by the 
said directors without any expense to the State." 

The account was settled. Other lotteries were subse- 
quently made. 

VILLAGES. 

Chepachct. The site of the village of Chepachet has been 
the centre of public business in this section since its first 
settlement. As the population increased, business in various 
departments was quite extensive for a small place. Li 181 3 
there were in some dozen stores for groceries, dry goods and 
farming utensils, several clerks. Much business was done 
here from towns around, reaching into Connecticut and 
Massachusetts. 

Two public houses were formerly kept here ; now there is 
but one. A post office was established here in 1806; and 
on that day Amherst Kimball was appointed postmaster. 
The following persons succeeded Mr. Kimball: Cyrus Cooke; 
Horace Kimball in 1845; Job Armstrong in 1849; Horace 
Kimball in 1853 ; William Hawkins in 1861 ; Walter A. Read 
in 1866, and Robert H. Wade in 1885. 

The village is pleasantly situated on both sides of Che- 
pachet river, and is healthy. The climate is somewhat colder 
than in Providence. The large elms beautify the village. 

In 1830 there was a great temperance movement; liquors 
in all the stores were given up, and much less cider was made. 
A large temperance society was formed which exerted a 
healthful influence on many persons. 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 45 

There were great turnouts when shows of wild animals 
were brought to the village. In 1825 a fine, large elephant 
was brought here, and room for a canvas tent on the ground 
of the Central Hotel was hired to show the animal. When 
the owners were leaving at twelve o'clock at night, and pass- 
ing the bridge in the village, the contents of an unerring rifle 
entered the brain of the poor elephant. He fell and died. 
The perpetrators of this fearful deed were afterwards taken, 
tried and damages assessed. 

The village of Clarkvillc is in the northwest corner of the 
town. A tannery was here in the early part of the present 
century, and was continued for many years ; also a saw-mill. 
In 1818, Arnold Brothers put up a building to manufac- 
ture cotton yarn. The mill has several times been burnt 
and rebuilt and run as a shoddy mill. For several years it 
was in the hands of Horatio Darling, but now T. R. White 
& Co. run the mill. 

West Glocester is a small village near Clarkville. This is 
a manufacturing place for carpet warp and heavy woollen 
goods, conducted by the firm of Hawkins & Houghton. A 
post office was established here in 1862, with Mr. Keach as 
postmaster. 

Williamsville is about two miles south of Clarkville. It 
has a few houses and a grist-mill of long standing. 

Harmony is in the eastern part of the town. It has about 
200 inhabitants. The village has two stores, several mechan- 
ical shops, and a post office. Mr. Randall is postmaster. 
There is also a hotel here. 

Spring Grove is a village of several houses about a mile' 
east of Chepachet. Here Smith Mowry and his two sons, 
Scott W. and Brown, about 1836, purchased the Spring 
Grove mill and successfully carried on the manufacturing of 
cotton goods for about sixteen years. This mill then passed 
into several hands, until in 1868 it was purchased by T. R. 
White & Co. to manufacture shoddy goods. 



46 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 



HILLS. 

The range of hills in the western part of the town extend 
to the Green Mountains in Vermont, and the views from the 
tops of some of them are grand. These hills were early 
known as the great rendezvous for deer ; also rabbits, squirrels 
and sparrows ; consequently venison and other kinds of game 
were abundant. The deer and the bucks fled from the hun- 
ters to the hill-tops, hence the name "Buck Hill." In 1728 a 
law was made to protect the deer. The deer chase seemed 
English and homelike to some of the settlers, but to kill a 
deer in certain portions of the year was punishable with a 
heavy fine. 

Here a band of counterfeiters found a very secluded cave, 
where they counterfeited the Spanish milled dollars in 1786. 
They made them of two kinds ; one was plated, the other 
mixed. Many persons were found implicated in several 
towns, and some out of the State. After it was discovered, 
a settlement was made with the town and State. The pen- 
alty was very severe when actual proof of the counterfeiters 
could be proved. 

"Cooper's Den" is quite a curiosity, and for the early 
settlers it was a good hiding-place. Absolona hill is about 
two and a half miles east of Chepachet. Matony hills run 
southeast by east some miles, and the turnpike crosses these 
hills near the south end of the range, about three miles 
southeast of Chepachet village. Swamicut valley is west of 
Matony hills, running north and south. The town is hilly 
and rocky. 

From the top of Winsor's hill, Wachusett mountain, in 
Princeton, Mass., is seen in a clear day. The mountain is 
3,000 feet high. 

Pine hill is in the southwestern part of the town. From 
the Sayles Brown hill, on the great road that formerly led 
from Chepachet to Killingly, are fine views. Pine Orchard 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 4/ 

hill, and some others, are very suitable sites for dwelling- 
houses. 

RIVERS AND PONDS. 

Chepachet* river rises in the western part of the town, on 
the farm of the late Judge Richard Steere. It is a durable 
stream for manufacturing, and has been long used for various 
mills. The river runs through Mill pond, where there is a saw- 
mill and various kinds of excellent fish for cooking ; then, in 
about three-fourths of a mile, it passes through Keech pond, 
the largest natural division of water in the town. The river, 
after having run some miles, passing through the village of 
Chepachet, unites with Clear river and forms Branch river 
which flows into the Blackstone. 

Suker stream runs into the Chepachet river northeast of 
the village. Early iron ore was obtained from Sea Patch 
river in this town for a forge in Woonsocket. 

Ponaganset pond is near Pine hill, in the southwestern 
part of the town. This pond has had great attractions in 
the summer for its pond lilies. Ponaganset river flows from 
this pond and unites with the Moswansicut river to form the 
north branch of the Pawtuxet river. 

Poquanatuck river flows from Ponaganset pond. Place 
reservoir is in the northwestern part of the town. Part of 
Killingly pond is in the southwestern part of the town. 
There are many small streams and brooks. The rivers and 
ponds have been of great use to the town. 

In the Keech and Saw-mill ponds formerly there were more 
fish than at present. There were many pouts, shiners, eels, 
pickerels, perch, etc. 

Waterman reservoir and the Smith and Sayles reservoirs 
are preserved for manufacturing purposes. 

♦Indian, signifying where the streams divide. The village is named 
from the river. 



48 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 



SECRET SOCIETIES. 

The ancient order of Free Masons was chartered at the 
time the town was set off. Friendship Lodge, No. 7, A. F. & 
A. M., had a meeting on the 21st of October, 1800. The fol- 
lowing officers were installed: Joseph Bowen, Master; Elijah 
Armstrong, S. W. ; David Richmond, J. W. ; Asa Burlin- 
game. Treasurer ; S. Owen, Secretary ; Oliver Owen, S, D. ; 
Stephen Burlingame, J. D. In 1805 the meetings were 
more regularly held. The meetings were held in the village 
of Chepachet. In the year 1807 the following persons peti- 
tioned the Assembly for a charter for Friendship Lodge of 
Free and Accepted Masons from the town of Glocester, viz. : 
Anan Evans, Elijah Armstrong, Chad Sayles, Solomon Owen, 
William Steere, Jr., Joseph Bowen, Stephen Burlingame, John 
Wood, Joseph Hines, Levi Eddy, Cyrus Cooke, Duty Sals- 
bury, Thomas Owen, Daniel Tourtellot, Mowry Smith, John 
Wilkinson, Andrew Brown, Ebenezer Felch, Daniel Tucker, 
Angell Paine, Hiram Salsbury, Seth Thompson, Job Phette- 
place, Elijah Day, John M. Donald, Thomas Ingraham, James 
King, Jr., Joseph Putnam, Adfer Eddy, Abraham Belnap, 
Joseph Burgess, George Harris, Job Aldrich, Emor Olney, 
Pitt Smith, Seth Hunt, Jr., Stephen Eddy, William Reming- 
ton, Thomas Darling, Jesse Tourtellot, Thomas Eddy, Emor 
Winsor, Jeremiah Tourtellot, Elisha Sayles, and Samuel 
Matteson. The charter was granted with all the privileges 
of any organized society. One hundred and thirty members 
are reported. Regular meetings were held on Saturdays on 
or before the full of the moon. 

Officers in 1828 : Benedict Aldrich, Master; Isaac Aldrich, 
Warden ; Willard J. Smith, Junior Warden ; Jethro S. Lap- 
ham, Senior Deacon ; Sterry J. Smith, Junior Deacon ; 
Richard Lapham, Treasurer ; Arthur A. Ross, Secretary ; 
Otis Sayles and Otis Eddy, Stewards ; Esek Phetteplace, 
Tyler. 

Officers in the above society in the year 1884: Joseph 
Perkins, Renssalaer A. Cooper, Edward L. Phetteplace, Albert 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 49 

Potter, William J. Tracy, William Blackmar, Carlton G. 
Smith, George E. Cutting, George O. Bligh, Martin W. 
Young, Edwin M. Neff, Randall Mowry, Walter A. Read, 
Felix S. Slavin. About ninety members. The society had 
a Free Masons' hall in the village. 

The Chepachet Division, Sons of Temperance, No. 14, 
was organized October 24th, in the year 1872. The following 
officers were installed October 6, 1884 : Mrs. James Angell, 
Ed. Webster, Mrs. R. H. Wade, Mrs. M. D. Arnold, Mrs. 
S. Sweet, Miss Eva Sweet, Fred. Wilson, Miss Frances Wil- 
son, Mrs. U. T. Potter, E. L. Leveck, William Sweet, Rev. 
H. E. Johnston, Chaplain. During the last twelve years 
over thirteen hundred dollars have been paid into the treas- 
ury. It has about forty members. The meetings of the 
society are held in the vestry of the Congregational meeting- 
house, Mrs. U. T. Potter, Worthy Patriarch ; Mrs. Mary 
A. Sweet, Recording Scribe, in 1885. 

Harmony Division, Sons of Temperance, No. 13, was 
chartered February 4, 1875. It meets Saturday evenings at 
the Harmony chapel. A. J. Hubbard, Worthy Patriarch ; 
Henry C. Brown, Recording Scribe, 1885. 



BANKS. 

In February, 1804, the Farmers' Exchange Bank was char- 
tered, to be located in the village of Chepachet, with a capital 
of $100,000. President, John Harris; cashier, Mowry 
Smith. Daniel Owen, Simon Smith, Timothy Wilmarth, 
James Aldrich, John Harris, John Wilkinson, Elisha Mathew. 
son, Solomon Owen, Samuel Winsor, Daniel Smith, Simeon 
Smith, Mowry Smith and Daniel Tourtellot were appointed 
directors of said bank. Daniel Owen resigned in March, 
1804, and William Rhodes was elected to fill his place. The 
books of the bank were kept in a confused state, according to 
the final report of the Assembly's committee to examine the 
bank. The directors did not at any time have a proper 

7 



50 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

knowledge of the management of the bank. In 1808 nearly 
all the directors sold out their shares. John Harris continued 
president, and in 1808 William Colvvell was appointed cashier; 
Elisha Fairbanks and Samuel Dexter were made directors. 
It was evident to men doing business with the bank that 
there was great mismanagement with some of the officers, 
and that the affairs of the bank needed to be examined. A 
bank business meeting was called, and the following new 
directors were appointed, viz.: Obadiah Brown, Seth Hunt, 
Jr., Mark Steere (son of Richard), Jesse Mowry and Samuel 
Fenner. They delivered the books to the General Assembly. 

In March, 1809, the Assembly appointed a committee to 
investigate all the concerns of the Glocester Bank and make 
a report. This they did. It was found in a fearful condition. 
The cashier, Mr. Colwell, was committed to close confine- 
ment, no person being allowed to converse with him. The 
president of the bank left the State, and his estates were put 
under attachment. All the members of the General Assem- 
bly manifested a full determination to take the most vigorous 
and decided measures to thoroughly probe this iniquitous 
deed to its very centre. The cashier and directors were cited 
and appeared before the General Assembly with bank books 
and papers. By this examination it was ascertained that the 
bank had issued bills to an enormous amount, far beyond 
their capital ; that they had taken notes from Andrew De.x- 
tcr, Jr., in Boston, without an indorser, payable at the expi- 
ration of eight years from November, 1808, at two per cent, 
interest for upwards of $800,000. The president of the bank 
was then in Boston, and the plates on which the bills were 
impressed. 

An article in TJic American, a newspaper published in Prov- 
idence, March, 1809, has the following : "The funeral of the 
Farmers' Exchange Bank, in Glocester, is on its way to the 
General Assembly at East Greenwich. It appears on exam- 
ination of the books and papers at Glocester, by a committee 
appointed for that purpose, that a certain well-known trader 
in bank stock, living in Boston, had got out of that bank 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 5 I 

something more than half a milHon of dollars, for which he 
had given only his note without an indorser, payable at the 
end of eight years from November last [1808], with two per 
cent, interest, to the cashier, his successors in office or 
order. The bank is shut, and probably never to be opened 
again for similar business. The sign is taken down and the 
keys are in the vicinity." 

Obadiah Brown, Esq., and Seth Hunt, Jr., both of Provi- 
dence, were appointed a committee by the General Assembly 
to take into possession all the effects, books and papers of 
the Farmers' Exchange Bank, and to collect and present an 
account of the same at the next meeting of the Assembly. 
This they did, and a report of the committee before the 
Assembly, in February, 1809, was published in a pamphlet of 
forty-three pages. 

In February, 1818, a number of people of the town of 
Glocester obtained a charter for another bank, to be called 
the Franklin Bank, with a capital of fifty thousand dollars. 
President, Jesse Tourtellot ; cashier, Cyril Cook; directors, 
Jesse Tourtellot, Amherst Kimball, Cyrus Cook, Joseph 
Bowen, Joseph Wilmarth, Timothy Sweet, Amasa Eddy, Jr., 
Thomas Owen, Jr., Asaph Wilder, Jr., Job Armstrong, Ira 
Phetteplace Evans, Thomas Mathevvson and John Hawkins. 
This bank was successful and continued to do business until 
the present national system was introduced in 1865, when 
it was voted to discontinue business. The following are the 
names of the directors of the bank when it was closed in 
1868, viz.: Amasa Eddy, Horace Kimball, Clovis H. Bowen, 
Lawton Owen, Smith Peckham, Horace A. Kimball, Leonard 
Sayles, Joseph B. Smith. President, Joseph B. Smith ; 
cashier, Horace A. Kimball. The bank paid out its surplus 
to the stockholders, October 2, 1868. 

Several persons from this town were shareholders in the 
Greenville Bank when it was formed. The following persons 
were the petitioners for the bank: Daniel Winsor, Joseph 
Mathewson, Dexter Irons, Nathan B. Sprague, Asa Winsor, 



52 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

Richard Smith, Stephen Steere, John S. Appleby, Reuben 
Mowry, Silas Smith and Elisha Steere. 

Bank stock owners of this town in general, now invest their 
money in banks in Providence, or in United States bonds. 



MILITARY. 

OFFICERS OF TRAINED BANDS IN 1781. (GLOCESTER.) 

First Company — Peter Lewis, Captain ; Henry Wheeler, 
Lieutenant ; Zephaniah Keach, Ensign. 

Second Company — Samuel May, Captain ; James Colwell, 
Lieutenant ; Arnold Smith, Ensign. 

Third Company — Nathaniel Wade, Captain ; John Pray, 
Lieutenant ; Esek Brown, Ensign. 

FonrtJi Company — Isaac Ross, Captain ; Jeremiah Irons, 
Lieutenant ; Seth Ross, Ensign. 

1784. Senior Class Company — Benajah Whipple, Captain ; 
Ezekiel Phetteplace, Lieutenant ; Edward Salsbury, Ensign. 

First Company — Henry Wheeler, Captain ; Simeon Bowen, 
Lieutenant ; Jeremiah Phillips, Jr., Ensign. 

Second Company — Arnold Smith, Captain; Abner Chilson, 
Lieutenant ; Israel Cooke, Ensign. 

Third Company — Nathaniel Wade, Captain ; John Pray, 
Lieutenant ; Esek Brown, Ensign. 

Fourth Company — Isaac Ross, Captain ; Jeremiah Irons, 
Lieutenant ; Seth Ross, Ensign. 

GLOCESTER GRENADIERS. 

In June, 1792, "in consideration that the preservation of 
this State, as well as other States, depends under the pro- 
tection of God upon the military skill and discipline of the 
inhabitants, that the following officers and soldiers in the 
Fourth Rhode Island Regiment, in the town of Glocester, 
commanded by Col. Stephen Winsor, viz. : Joctan Putnam, 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 53 

Elisha Mitchell, Amaziah Harris, Thomas Steere, Elisha 
Brown (son of David), Stephen Cooke, Jr., Moses Taft, 
Joseph Putnam, David Thompson, Gideon Cooke, John 
Greene, Daniel Curtis, Henry Phillips, John Cooke, Duty 
Salsbury, William Phetteplace, Daniel Smith, Richard Sals- 
bury, Richard Mitchell, David Bowen, Ezekiel Phetteplace, 
Stephen Barnes, Thomas Barnes, Benjamin Cooke, David 
Taft, John Arnold, Jesse Tucker, Vial Salsbury and Darius 
Mitchell, all of Col. Stephen Winsor's Fourth Regiment, in 
the county of Providence, but all residents of the town of 
Glocester. The above officers and soldiers petitioned, with 
certain limitations to numbers, etc., to form themselves into 
a company by the name of the 'Glocester Grenadiers.' 
Each officer and soldier of said company shall be five feet 
and nine inches in height, the number not to exceed sixty- 
four, exclusive of officers." It was granted and by that 
name to have a perpetual succession. The above company 
was an independent one. 

State military officers to command the Fourth State Regi- 
ment from Glocester : 

1 79 1. Senior Class Company — Jonathan Eddy, Captain; 
Joctan Putnam, Lieutenant ; Eliakim Phetteplace, Ensign. 

First Company—Thomd.?, Mitchell, Captain ; Thomas Win- 
sor, Lieutenant ; William Wheeler, Ensign. 

Second Company — Israel Cooke, Captain : Rufus Williams, 
Lieutenant ; Jesse Cooke, Ensign. 

Third Company — Amos Winsor, Captain ; Jonathan 
Cowen, Lieutenant ; Isaac Wade, Ensign. 

Fourth Company — Willard Eddy, Captain ; George Hunt, 
Lieutenant ; Pitt Smith, Ensign. 

Fifth Company — Edmond Green, Captain ; Jabez Arnold, 
Lieutenant ; Oliver Cornell, Ensign. 

1793. Senior Class Company — Jonathan Eddy, Captain ; 
Eliakim Phetteplace, Ensign. 

First Company — Thomas Winsor, Captain ; William 
Wheeler, Lieutenant ; Benajah Sweet, Ensign. 



54 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

Second Company — Asa Ballon, Captain ; Will Lapham, 
Lieutenant. 

Third Company — James Potter, Captain ; Isaac Wade, 
Lieutenant ; John Wells, Jr., Ensign. 

Fourth Company — Pitt Smith, Captain ; Daniel Sayles, 
Lieutenant ; Joshua Winsor, Ensign. 

Fifth Company — Edward Greene, Captain ; Jabez Arnold, 
Lieutenant ; Oliver Cornell, Ensign. 

1794. Senior Class Compajiy—Stih Hunt, Captain; Eli 
akim Phetteplace, Lieutenant ; Nathan Cooper, Ensign. 

First Company — Thomas Winsor, Captain ; William 
Wheeler, Lieutenant ; William Hawkins, Jr., Ensign. 

Second Company — Asa Ballou, Captain ; William Lapham, 
Lieutenant. 

Third Company — James Potter, Captain ; Isaac Wade, 
Lieutenant ; Stephen Cowing, Ensign. 

Fourth Company — Pitt Smith, Captain ; Daniel Sayles, 
Lieutenant ; Ezekiel Emerson, Ensign. 

Fifth Company — Benedict Burlingame, Captain ; Esek 
Brown, Lieutenant ; Benjamin Harris, Ensign. 

1795. Senior Class Company — Rufus Steere, Captain ; 
Nathan Cooper, Lieutenant ; Esek Brown, Jr., Ensign. 

1800. Senior Class Company — Nathan Cooper, Captain ; 
Esek Brown, Lieutenant ; Aaron Logee, Ensign. 

First Company — Samuel Steere, Jr., Captain ; Richard 
Burlingame, Lieutenant ; Pascal W. Wheeler, Ensign. 

Second Compa?iy — Nathan Williams, Captain ; Jesse In- 
man, Lieutenant ; Peregrine Mathewson, Ensign. 

Third Company — Oliver Owen, Captain ; Jenckes Sprague, 
Lieutenant ; Adfer Eddy, Ensign. 

Fourth Company — Ezekiel Emerson, Captain ; Esek Paine, 
Lieutenant ; Stephen Thayer, Ensign. 

Fifth Company — James Reynolds, Captain ; Jonathan 
Thornton, Lieutenant ; Eleazer Clarke, Ensign. 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 55 

Sixth Company — John Greene, Captain ; Amasa Evans, 
Lieutenant ; Nicholas Brown, Ensign. 

Officers of Light Infantry, Glocester : 

1800. Joseph Steere, Captain ; Jesse Botte, First Lieu- 
tenant ; Tristam Burgess, Second Lieutenant ; William Car- 
penter, Ensign. 

1806. Thomas Brown, Captain ; Moses Hawkins, First 
Lieutenant ; Robert Steere, Second Lieutenant ; Obadiah 
Smith, Ensign. 

1807. Robert Steere, Captain ; Obed Smith, First Lieu- 
tenant ; Chad Sayles, Second Lieutenant ; Jonathan Paine, 
Ensign. 

1808. Robert Steere, Captain; Obed Smith, First Lieu- 
tenant ; Chad Sayles, Second Lieutenant ; Jonathan Paine, 
Ensign. 

1810. Chad Sayles, Captain; Jonathan Paine, First Lieu- 
tenant ; Elisha Sayles, Second Lieutenant ; William Carpen- 
ter, Ensign. 

1 8 14. Arnold Brown, Captain ; Samuel Potter, First Lieu- 
tenant ; Sayles Brown, Second Lieutenant ; Rufus Brown, 
Ensign. 

181 5. Arnold Brown, Captain ; Samuel Potter, First Lieu- 
tenant ; Sayles Brown, Second Lieutenant ; Uriah Colwell, 
Ensign. 

1 8 16. Samuel Potter, Captain; Sayles Brown, First Lieu- 
tenant ; Job Armstrong, Second Lieutenant ; Uriah Colwell, 
Ensign. 

1820. Job Armstrong, Captain ; Uriah Colwell, First 
Lieutenant ; Theodore F. Millard, Second Lieutenant ; John 
Young, Ensign. 

1 82 1. First Company — Welcome Aldrich, Captain; John 
W. Smith, Lieutenant ; Elisha Winsor, Ensign. 

Second C^;;//<^;/;/— Christopher Winsor, Captain ; Thayer 
Bellows, Lieutenant ; Rufus Steere, Ensign. 

Third Company — George Brown, Captain ; Solomon 
Clarke, Lieutenant ; Amasa Smith, Ensign. 



56 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

In 1 82 1 the Glocester Light Infantry and the Burrillville 
and Glocester Washington United Cavalry were revived, and 
said companies were attached to the Twelfth Regiment of 
the Militia, in the Second Brigade, in this State, and subject 
to the command of the officers of that regiment. 

1803. Twelfth Regiment of State Militia from Glocester : 
Anan Evans, Major, and Richard Burlingame, Second Major. 

First Company — Pascal P. Wheeler, Captain ; Samuel 
Bowen, Lieutenant ; Robert Aldrich, Ensign. 

Second Company — Peregrine Mathewson, Captain ; John 
Wallen, Lieutenant ; Rufus Smith, Ensign. 

Third Company — Ebenezer Felch, Captain ; John Arm- 
strong, Lieutenant ; Stephen Thayer, Ensign. 

Fourth Company — Stephen Thayer, Captain ; John Arnold, 
Lieutenant ; Arnold Sayles, Ensign. 

Fifth Company — Eleazer Clarke, Captain ; Thomas Bur- 
gess, Lieutenant ; Othnil Saunders, Ensign. 

Sixth Company — Nicholas Brown, Captain ; Daniel Med- 
bury, Lieutenant ; Seth Hunt, Jr., Ensign. 

1804. First Company — Samuel Bowen, Captain ; Esek 
Page, Lieutenant ; Bani Phillips, Ensign. 

Second Company — Peregrine Mathewson, Captain ; John 
Wallen, Lieutenant ; Rufus Smith, Ensign. 

Third Company — Ebenezer Felch, Captain ; John Arm- 
strong, Lieutenant ; Stephen Eddy, Ensign. 

Fifth Company — Thomas Burgess, Captain ; Othnil Saun- 
ders, Lieutenant ; Henry Wheeler, Jr., Ensign. 

Sixth Company — Nicholas Brown, Captain ; George Olney, 
Lieutenant ; Jeptha Hunt, Ensign. 

1805. First Company — Bani Phillips, Captain ; Esek 
Page, Lieutenant ; Ezekiel Cornell, Ensign. 

Second Company — Peregrine Mathewson, Captain ; John 
Wallen, Lieutenant ; Rufus Smith, Ensign. 

Third Company — Ebenezer Felch, Captain ; John Arm- 
strong, Lieutenant ; Stephen Eddy, Ensign. 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 57 

Fourth Company— ]o\\n Arnold, Captain ; Arnold Sayles, 
Lieutenant ; David Burlingame, Ensign. 

Fifth Cojnpany—Thom^iS Burgess, Captain ; Othnial 
Saunders, Lieutenant ; Henry Wheeler, Jr., Ensign. 

Sixth Company— K\Qho\^s Brown, Captain ; George Olney, 
Lieutenant ; Job Phetteplace, Ensign. 

1807. After the town of Glocester was divided, the town 
was required to furnish but three companies : Robert Steere, 
Major, for the Twelfth Regiment. 

Fij'st Company— ]oh Phetteplace, Captain; Thomas R. 
Eddy, Lieutenant ; Joseph Brown, Ensign. 

Second Company— ¥^ztV.\t\ Cornell, Captain ; Asa Borden, 
Lieutenant ; Ira P. Evans, Ensign. 

Third Company— \i^xvxy Wheeler, Jr., Captain; Joseph 
Hammond, Lieutenant ; Jacob Clarke, Ensign. 

1808. First Company— ]oh Phetteplace, Captain ; Thomas 
R. Eddy, Lieutenant ; Joseph Brown, Ensign. 

Second Company— 'EztkitX Cornell, Captain ; Asa Borden, 
Lieutenant ; Amasa Eddy, Ensign. 

Third Company— U^nry Wheeler, Jr., Captain ; Joseph 
Hammond, Lieutenant ; Jacob Clarke, Ensign. 

1 8 10. Anthony Sprague and John Eddy, Majors. 

First Company— i:hom2.s R. Eddy, Captain ; Joseph Brown, 
Lieutenant ; Zephaniah Keech, Ensign. 

Second Company— Am^sdi Eddy, Jr., Captain ; Esten Owen, 
Lieutenant ; Seth Peckham, Ensign. 

Third Company — Joseph Hammond, Captain ; Jacob Clarke, 
Lieutenant ; David Page, Ensign. 

181 1. First Company — Joseph Brown, Captain; Zepha- 
niah Keech, Lieutenant ; Amasa Steere, Ensign. 

Second Company— Amd^^d. Eddy, Captain ; Seth Peckham, 
Lieutenant ; Charles Potter, Ensign. 

Third Company — Jacob Clarke, Captain ; David Page, 
Lieutenant ; Charles Wade, Ensign. 



58 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

i8i2. First Covipany — Zephaniah Keech, Captain ; Am- 
asa Steere, Lieutenant ; Dexter Irons, Ensign. 

Secojid Compajiy — Amasa Eddy, Captain ; Setli Peckham, 
Lieutenant ; Charles Potter, Ensign. 

Third Co7npaiiy — David Page, Captain ; Charles Wade, 
Lieutenant ; Cyrus Burlingame, Ensign. 

1 813. First Covipany — Zephaniah Keech, Captain ; Am- 
asa Steere, Lieutenant ; Dexter Irons, Ensign. 

Third Company — David Page, Captain ; Charles Wade, 
Lieutenant ; Cyrus Burlingame, Ensign. 

Companies of the Twelfth Regiment : Arnold Brown and 
Zephaniah Keech, Jr., Majors. 

1 8 14. First Company — Amasa Steere, Captain ; Dexter 
Irons, Lieutenant ; Smith Mowry, Ensign. 

Second Company — Seth Peckham, Jr., Captain ; Charles 
Potter, Lieutenant ; Caleb Davis, Ensign. 

181 5. First Company— Am2iS^. Steere, Captain; Dexter 
Irons, Lieutenant ; Smith Mowry, Ensign. 

Second Company — Charles Potter, Captain ; Caleb Davis, 
Lieutenant ; Jeremiah Keech, Ensign. 

Third Company — Cyrus Burlingame, Captain ; George 
Smith, Lieutenant ; Asaph Wilder, Ensign. 

1 8 16. First Company — Dexter Irons, Captain ; Smith 
Mowry, Lieutenant ; Harris Medbury, Ensign ; Esek Phet- 
teplace. Major. 

Second Company — Jeremiah Keech, Captain ; Christopher 
Winsor, Lieutenant ; Thomas Smith, Ensign. 

Third Company — Cyrus Burlingame, Captain ; George 
Smith, Lieutenant ; Asaph Wilder, Ensign. 

18 1 7. First Company — Smith Mowry, Captain ; Harris 
Medbury, Lieutenant ; John W. Smith, Ensign. 

Second Company — Jeremiah Keech, Captain ; Christopher 
Winsor, Lieutenant ; Thomas Smith, Ensign. 

Third Company — Asaph Wilder, Captain ; George Bowen, 
Jr., Lieutenant ; Amos Clarke, Ensign. 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 59 

1817. Arnold Brown, Colonel ; Esek Phetteplace, Lieu- 
tenant Colonel ; George Smith, Esq., Major. 

18 1 8. First Company— Yi2ixx:\?> Medbury, Captain; John 
W. Smith, Lieutenant; Welcome Aldrich, Ensign. 

Second G;;;//^/^/— Jeremiah Keech, Captain ; Christopher 
Winsor, Lieutenant ; Benjamin Paine, Jr., Ensign. 

1 8 19. First Company — Harris Medbury, Captain; John 
W. Smith, Lieutenant ; Welcome Aldrich, Ensign. 

Second Gv///«;/j— Jeremiah Keech, Captain ; Christopher 
Winsor, Lieutenant ; Benjamin Paine, Jr., Ensign. 

Third Company— GQorgt Bowen, Captain; Amos Clarke, 
Lieutenant ; Solomon Clarke, Ensign. 

1820. Arnold Brown, Colonel ; Ira P. Evans, Lieutenant 
Colonel; Jesse Harris, Major. 

1 82 1 First Company — Welcome Aldrich, Captain; John, 
W. Smith, Lieutenant ; Elisha S. Winsor, Ensign. 

Second Company— Knins Steere, Captain ; Thayer Bellows, 
Lieutenant ; Anthony Sanders, Ensign. 

Third Company — Solomon Clarke, Captain ; Amasa Smith, 
Lieutenant ; Harris Bowen, Ensign. 

State Militia of Twelfth Regiment from Glocester : 

1822. First Company — Welcome Aldrich, Captain; Elisha 
S. Winsor, Lieutenant ; Richard R. Clemence, Ensign. 

Second Company— Kwin^ Steere, Captain ; Thayer Bellows, 
Lieutenant ; Syvanus Bradford, Ensign. 

Third Company— Solomon Clarke, Captain ; Harris Bowen, 
Lieutenant ; Lee Steere, Ensign. 

1823. First Company — Harris Bowen, Captain; Lee 
Steere, Lieutenant ; Lysander Richmond, Ensign. 

Second Company — Benjamin Owen, Captain ; Clark Phet- 
teplace, Lieutenant ; Asel Hawkins, Ensign. 

Third Company — Elisha Winsor, Captain ; Richard R. 
Clemence, Lieutenant ; Daniel Tourtellot, Ensign. 

1824. The same as in 1823. 



60 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

1825. First Covipaiiy — Richard R. Clemence, Captain; 
Daniel Tourtellot, Lieutenant ; Samuel Waldron, Ensign. 

Second Company — Benjamin Owen, Captain ; Clark Phette- 
place, Lieutenant ; Asahel Hawkins, Ensign. 

Third Company — Harris Bowen, Captain ; Lee Steere, 
Lieutenant ; Horatio Darling, Ensign. 

1886. First Company — Benjamin Owen, Captain; Clark 
Phetteplace, Lieutenant ; Asahel Hawkins, Ensign. 

Second Company — Lee Steere, Captain ; Horatio Darling, 
Lieutenant ; Otis Paine, 2d, Ensign. 

Third Company — Richard R. Clemence, Captain ; Daniel 
Tourtellot, Lieutenant ; Samuel Waldron, Ensign. 

1827. First Company — Samuel Waldron, Captain ; Brown 
Burlingame, Lieutenant ; Ora F. Steere, Ensign. 

Second Company — Benjamin Owen, Captain ; Clark Phette- 
place, Lieutenant ; Asahel Hawkins, Ensign. 

Third Company — Horatio Darling, Captain ; Otis Paine, 
Lieutenant ; Orin Reynolds, Ensign. 

1828. First Company — Samuel Waldron, Captain; Brown 
Burlingame, Lieutenant ; Ora F. Steere, Ensign. 

Second Company — Clark Phetteplace, Captain ; Juni Irons, 
Lieutenant ; Clark Steere, Ensign. 

Third Company — Horatio M. Darling, Captain ; Otis Paine, 
Lieutenant ; Orin Reynolds, Ensign. 

1829. State Militia of Twelfth Regiment from Glocester : 
George Smith, Colonel ; Asa Steere, Major. 

First CompaJiy — Ora F. Steere, Captain ; Brown Burlin- 
game, Lieutenant ; Olney B. Steere, Ensign. 

Second Company — Juni Irons, Captain ; Clark Steere, Lieu- 
tenant ; Joshua Williams, Ensign. 

Third Company — Orin Reynolds, Captain ; Solomon Sweet, 
Lieutenant ; Riley Page, Ensign. 

1830. First Company — Ora F. Steere, Captain ; Brown 
Burlingame, Lieutenant ; Olney B. Steere, Ensign. 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 6l 

Second Company — Juni Irons, Captain ; Clark Steere, Lieu- 
tenant ; Joshua Williams, Ensign. 

Third Company — Orin Reynolds, Captain; Solomon 
Sweet, Lieutenant ; Riley Page, Ensign. 

183 1. Fit St Company — Ora F. Steere, Captain; Brown 
Burlingame, Lieutenant ; Olney B. Steere, Ensign ; John 
Brayton, Colonel ; Jedediah Sprague, Lieutenant Colonel. 

Second Company — Juni Irons, Captain ; Clark Steere, Lieu- 
tenant ; Joshua Williams, Ensign. 

Third Company — Orin Reynolds, Captain; Solomon Sweet, 
Lieutenant ; Riley Page, Ensign. 

1832. First Company — Scott Mowry, Captain; Amasa 
Burlingame, Lieutenant ; Jencks Brown, Ensign. 

Second Company — Joshua Williams, Captain ; Alba Bel- 
lows, Lieutenant ; Otis Sayles, Ensign. 

Third Company — Solomon Sweet, Captain ; Leonard R. 
Williams, Lieutenant ; William White, Ensign. 

1833. First Company — Jencks Brown, Captain; Amasa 
Burlingame, Lieutenant ; Alanson Steere, Ensign ; Jedediah 
Sprague, Colonel ; Scott Mowry, Lieutenant Colonel. 

Second Company — Alba Bellows, Captain ; Otis Sayles, 
Lieutenant ; George Eddy, Ensign. 

Third Company — Leonard R. Williams, Captain ; William 
White, Lieutenant ; Joseph P. Sweet, Ensign. 

1834. First Company — Jencks Brown, Captain ; Amasa 
Burlingame, Lieutenant ; Alanson Steere, Ensign. 

Second Company — Alba Bellows, Captain ; Otis Sayles, 
Lieutenant ; George Eddy, Ensign. 

Third Company — Leonard R. Williams, Captain ; William 
White, Lieutenant ; Lester Arnold, Ensign ; Scott Mowry, 
Colonel ; Asa Paine, Major. 

1835. State Militia of Twelfth Regiment from Glocester: 

First Company — Charles H. Steere, Captain ; Jonathan A. 
Tourtellot, Lieutenant ; Cyrus S. Eddy, Ensign ; William 
Aldrich, Lieutenant Colonel; Jesse Armstrong, Major. 



62 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

Second Company — George L. Owen, Captain ; Francis 
Hunt, Lieutenant ; Nathan Page, Ensign. 

Third Company — William White, Captain ; Lester Arnold, 
Lieutenant ; Rhodes Page, Ensign. 

1836. First Company — Arnold Tourtellot, Captain; Elisha 
M. Aldrich, Lieutenant ; H. J. Tourtellot, Ensign. 

Second Company — Abel Man, Captain ; Warren, 

Lieutenant ; Edwin B. Olney, Ensign ; Samuel P. Tucker, 
Major. 

Third Company — George C. Smith, Captain ; George W. 
White, Lieutenant ; Joseph Clarke, Ensign. 

I §37) 1838- First Company — Darling S. Durfee, Captain; 
Calvin Luther, Lieutenant ; Enoch Steere, Jr., Ensign ; 
George W. Sheldon, Lieutenant Colonel ; Amasa Westcott, 
Major. 

Second Company — William R. Page, Captain ; James R. 
Rhodes, Lieutenant ; William Wilcox, Ensign. 

Third Company — Paris Wade, Captain ; Dennis Steere, 
Lieutenant ; Caleb E. Tucker, Ensign. 

1839. First Company — Calvin Luther, Captain; Enoch 
Steere, Jr., Lieutenant ; A. A. M. Steere, Ensign. 

Second Company — S. C. Newman, Captain ; Abel Wade, 
Lieutenant ; James Owen, Ensign. 

TJiird Company — Paris Wade, Captain ; Caleb E. Tucker, 
Lieutenant ; Abel M. Wilder, Ensign. 

January, 1850, chartered military companies were dis- 
charged from further State military acts. 

LIGHT INFANTRY. 

1780. Timothy Wilmarth, Captain; Martin Smith, First 
Lieutenant ; Elijah Armstrong, Second Lieutenant ; Ezekiel 
Brown, Ensign. 

1787. Elijah Armstrong, Captain ; Ephraim Brown, First 
Lieutenant ; Elisha Brown, Second Lieutenant ; Benjamin 
Hawkins, Ensign. 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 63 

1 79 1. Elijah Armstrong, Captain ; Benjamin Hawkins, 
First Lieutenant ; Eleaser Harris, Second Lieutenant ; Wil- 
liam Gadcomb, Ensign. 

May, 1 79 1. The first company of infantry in the town of 
Glocester, representing that it consisted of one hundred and 
twenty soldiers, could not be exercised and trained with con- 
venience, presented a petition to the Assembly that it might 
be divided and formed into two companies. Said petition 
was granted, and said company divided in the following 
manner, to wit : " by a line beginning at Smithfield line near 
Col. Chad Brown's on the great country road, and extending 
westward on the road as far as Jeremiah Steere's house, 
leaving said Steere's in the north company ; thence continu- 
ing straight to William Coman's house, leaving the said 
Coman's house in the north company; thence straight to Job 
Steere's on the south road, leaving the said Steere's house 
in the north company, and thence running up the said south 
road to the west line of the said company ; that all those 
belonging to the said first company living to the southward 
of the said dividing line shall be denominated the first com- 
pany, and all those who live to the northward of said divid- 
ing line shall be denominated the sixth company." 

1 79 1. First Company — Thomas Winsor, Captain ; William 
Wheeler, Lieutenant ; Benajah Sweet, Ensign. 

Second Company— \^xz.ev Cooke, Captain; Asa Ballou, 
Lieutenant ; Jesse Cooke, Ensign. 

Third Company— Kw3.\\ Winsor, Captain ; Jonathan Cowing, 

Lieutenant ; Isaac , Ensign. 

Fourth Company — Willard Eddy, Captain ; Pitt Smith, 
Lieutenant ; Daniel Sayles, Ensign. 

INDEPENDENT COMPANY CALLED "MORGAN RIFLEMEN." 

The independent company called "Morgan Riflemen" was 
revived in June, 1815, with all the former privileges and offi- 
cers appointed, to wit : Daniel Smith, Jr., Captain ; Henry 
Rhodes, Lieutenant ; Ira P. Evans, Ensign. 



64 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

1817. Daniel Smith, Jr., Captain ; Henry Rhodes, First 
Lieutenant ; Ira P. Evans, Second Lieutenant ; Benjamin 
Bowen, Ensign. 

1 81 8. Ira P. Evans, Captain ; Benjamin Bowen, First 
Lieutenant ; Artemas Smith, Second Lieutenant ; Caleb 
Logee, Ensign. 

1819. Benjamin Bowen, Captain ; Artemas Smith, First 
Lieutenant ; Caleb Logee, Second Lieutenant. 

1 82 1. Artemas Smith, Captain ; Caleb Logee, First 
Lieutenant ; Ara Hawkins, Second Lieutenant ; Duty Evans, 
Ensign. 

Charter revived in 1822. 

1822. Artemas Smith, Captain ; Caleb Logee, Jr., First 
Lieutenant ; Ara Hawkins, Second Lieutenant ; Duty Evans, 
Ensign. 

1823. Ara Hawkins, Captain ; Hardin Sayles, First 
Lieutenant ; Fenner Wood, Second Lieutenant ; Burrill 
Logee, Ensign. 

The Burrillville and Glocester Washington United Cavalry 
was chartered October, 1818, by the petition of the follow- 
ing persons, residents in Glocester and Burrilville : Eleaser 
Harris. Otis Wood, Thayer Bellows, David Tourtellot, Daniel 
C. Tourtellot, Smith Brown, Amasa Brown, Arad Lapham, 
Thomas Barnes, Jr., Elisha Smith, Richard R. Clemence, 
Abel Phillips, Russell Evans, Thomas Smith, George Olney, 
Eddy Waldron, Joseph B. Waldron, Randall Phetteplace, 
Brown Cary, Eddy Keech, Junia Paine, John Whipple, 
Washington Logee, Elisha Logee, Whipple Sayles, James 
Wilson, John Greene, 3d, Harris Cooke, Peter Sherman, Jr., 
Zadoc Shearman, Duty Lapham, Coomer Smith, Fenner 
Wood, Smith Ward, Amasa Aldrich, Burrill Logee, Daniel 
Barnes, Russell Barnes, Russell Kelly, James Irons, Nathan 
Irons, Amasa Smith, Caleb Westcott, Arnold Angell, John 
Peckham, James Aldrich, 3d, Rufus Steere, Amasa R. Tour- 
tellot, Richard Burlingame, Jr., Sanford Edwards, Martin 
Mathewson, and such others as may hereafter associate with 
them, etc., etc. 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 6$ 

1820. Eleaser Harris, Captain; David Tourtellot, First 
Lieutenant ; Otis Wood, Second Lieutenant ; Hezekiah, 
Cady, Cornet. 

1822. Hezekiah Cady, Captain ; Elisha Smith, First Lieu- 
tenant ; Otis Wood, Second Lieutenant ; Allen Hawkins, 

Cornet. 

1823. Hezekiah Cady, Captain ; Elisha Smith, First Lieu- 
tenant ; Otis Wood, Second Lieutenant ; Allen Hawkins, 
Cornet. 

1824. Allen Hawkins, Captain ; Senaca Smith, First 
Lieutenant ; Stephen Burlingame, Jr., Second Lieutenant ; 
Elisha Harris, Cornet. 

1825. Allen Hawkins, Cornet. 

COUNTY MILITIA IN GLOCESTER IN 1820. 

Ftrsi Company— U^ivris Medbury, Captain; John W. Smith 
Lieutenant ; Welcome Aldrich, Ensign. 

Second Company — Jeremiah Keech, Captain ; Christopher 
Winsor, Lieutenant ; Benjamin Paine, Jr., Ensign. 

Third Company — George Bowen, Jr., Captain ; Amos 
Clarke, Lieutenant ; Solomon Clarke, Ensign. 

In 1837 the charter of the Glocester and Burrillville Safe 
Guards was revived, having become forfeited by the omission 
to make the return of certain ofificers elected. 

The town had a May military training for several years 
previous to 1830 or later, for the general exercise of different 
companies ; besides this there was a general muster, the 
Burrillville military uniting with the Glocester military to 
form a brigade. Several hours were devoted to drills and 
military evolutions. 

On the morning of the general training it was a custom 
that the under officers should go before light to the residence 
of the captain and honor him by firing many guns. After 
awhile the doors were opened and all were invited into the 
house to partake of a well-prepared breakfast. When through 
in the house they mounted their horses for the training 
ground. The captain wore on his hat a tall black and red 



66 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

feather, on his shoulder a silvered epaulette, and by his side a 
sword dangling that was attached to his belt. In their march 
and practice they made a marked display in the towns. 

In the late civil war, James M. Eddy was Captain in the 
Fifth Rhode Island Regiment in 1862. 

George H. Browne was Colonel of the Twelfth Rhode 
Island Regiment in 1862. Amasa F. Eddy was Commissary 
Sergeant in the same regiment. 

Stephen Sweet was Major in the First Rhode Island 
Cavalry Regiment in 1862 and 1863. 

Alexander Eddy was in the Quartermaster's department. 

MANUFACTURERS, BUSINESS MEN AND 
FARMERS. 

Mr. Nathan Blackman had a hat factory, where he manu- 
factured silk and felt hats for the old, middle-aged and young 
men. Some elderly persons preferred the broad-brimmed 
hats, especially the Friends. 

Oliver Owen had a nail factory and a trip-hammer in the 
early part of the present century. 

Solomon Owen had a tannery here before 1800. His son, 
Lawton, continued the business until his death. He was 
succeeded by his son, George, who had charge of the tan- 
nery for several years. 

The Messrs. Owen had oil works where oil was pressed 
from cotton-seed. 

A brick-yard was established in Glocester by the owners 
of the clay beds. 

Elisha Bartlett was one of the first manufacturers of 
scythes in Glocester. 

Potash was manufactured quite extensively in the latter 
part of the last century by Timothy Wilmarth, in the vicin- 
ity of Chepachet. 

Crude ore, taken from the Sea Patch river in Glocester, 
was used at the Woonsocket forge before the Revolution. 

Mr. George Harris had a distillery in the same building 
where he had his grist-mill for many years. He also had a 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 6/ 

tannery. In 1808 he built a house to carry on the work of 
carding, a little east of the bridge. Here annually was car- 
ried the wool of sheep to be carded and made into rolls to 
spin on the family spinning-wheel to make woolen cloth.* 
These works were sold to the Glocester Manufacturing Com- 
pany. 

Near this place, Lawton Owen built a small mill to spin 
cotton yarn, in 18 14. This mill was sold to Ira P. Evans, 
and again sold to Henry B. Lyman and Elisha Dyer. In 
1858, Horace A. Kimball, Jr., and Warren Arnold purchased 
the factory and commenced the manufacture of satinet ; later, 
fancy cassimeres. About sixty operatives were employed. 

In February, 1867, a freshet did great damage to the man- 
ufacturing establishments on the Chepachet river, in the vil- 
lage. Large expenditures were incurred to repair the injury. 

In 1820, Elisha Dyer and Henry B. Lyman built a factory 
on the south side of the river, near the turnpike, where for 
twenty-five years they manufactured cotton cloth. They were 
succeeded by Otis Sayles and Joseph B. Smith. About 
1862 they put in machinery to manufacture cassimeres. 
Fifty persons were employed. After the death of Sayles and 
Smith, in 1881, Edward Valentine had charge of the factory, 
and manufactured woolen goods. 

FARMERS. 

Most of the people of the town, outside the villages, are 
industrious and frugal farmers, though for forty or fifty years 
some of the best farms have been neglected, as many per- 
sons have left their homes to seek other employment. The 
late Enoch Steere had one of the best farms in the town. 
Fruits and berries of various kinds are cultivated ; potatoes, 
corn, rye, oats, barley, cabbages and beans are raised, and but- 
ter and cheese are made. The esculent vegetables are car- 
rots, onions, turnips, beets and parsnips. 

* The " First Custom " house for carding and draping wool was where 
the Granite Mill now stands, in Burrillville, and was carried on by Daniel 
Sayles & Son. 



68 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 



EARLY RELIGIOUS PRIVILEGES. 

Among the early settlers of this land while forming a part 
of the town of Providence, were some of the children and 
grandchildren of English Dissenters. At first some of them 
held prayer meetings in their very humble dwellings. Some 
called themselves Seekers ; some were Friends. Several of 
the owners of land here spent their winters in Providence 
village. Others lived there most of the time, putting on 
hired help to clear and cultivate the land. Twenty-four 
slaves of the late Moses Brown were employed here in cut- 
ting down trees and preparing the land for good farms pre- 
vious to the year 1773.* AH that were sufficiently favored 
to have a winter home in Providence had, a part of the year, 
better religious privileges. Some of the settlers called them- 
selves Separatists, having left the Church of England, and 
desired only the simple forms of worship. Some were called 
New Lights. 

From Backus' " History of the Baptists " we learn that 
Elder Edward Mitchell was pastor of a church in Glocester 
many years. He died October 22, 1795, aged ninety-eight 
years. Elder William Bowen succeeded him. The church 
was an Independent one. Mr. Bowen is represented as faith- 
ful in his ministrations for several years. The above church 
was in the northerly part of the town. 

Thomas Knowlton was ordained at Plainfield, Conn., Sep- 
tember II, 1742. He soon after came to Glocester and was 
pastor of a Separatist Baptist Church. Here he died. Ste- 
phen Place and others assisted Mr. Knowlton in his declining 
years in church work. 

Joseph Winsor, great-grandson of Joshua Winsor, who 
came to Providence in the year 1638, was ordained October 
31, 1763, and settled pastor to succeed Elder Thomas Knowl- 
ton. Backus says in his history : " Elder Joseph Winsor 
was in full fellowship with our churches." The church pros- 

* In 1773, Moses Brown manumitted all his slaves and became an ardent 
abolitionist. 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 69 

pered, had seventy-two members, and a new house of worship 
■was built in the southerly part of the villarge, near the resi- 
dence of the late Samuel Y. Atwell. In 1771 the church joined 
the Warren Baptist Association. The members collected a 
fund to aid in educating pious young men with a view to the 
gospel ministry. The Warren Baptist Association was the 
earliest of its kind in New England. It was formed in 1766. 
It had for its object " to secure the civil and religious privi- 
leges enjoyed by the mother church in England." 

In 1767, says the Rev. David Benedict, in his History of 
the Baptists, " the Baptist Church in Glocester was repre- 
sented at the Warren Association by the Rev. Joseph Win- 
sor." For years this church prospered. About 1790 a 
number of active members moved to other parts of the 
country, and their pastor, becoming aged and infirm, was un- 
able to fully attend to his pastoral duties, and the members 
became reduced and scattered. Mr. Winsor remained with 
them and continued their pastor until his death, in the sum- 
mer of 1802, in the eighty-ninth year of his age. He was 
buried on his own homestead farm, which was on a com- 
manding hill with a very fine prospect. His large house is 
still standing. 

Mr. Winsor had a great interest in the religious and gen- 
eral education of the town. He built on his farm a good- 
sized meeting-house with a gallery ; the outside was finished, 
but not the inside. Christopher Winsor, grandson of the 
Rev. Joseph Winsor, (now living, January, 1885,) says "no 
church was ever organized here, but large neighborhood 
meetings were held there." Later the house was used for a 
school. Mr. Christopher Winsor also says that " his grand- 
father, when his sons married and settled, built a school- 
house near their dwellings." He had five sons, viz. : Abra- 
ham, Amos, Christopher, Anan and Samuel ; and seven 
daughters, viz. : Amey, Deborah, Lillis, Martha, Mary, Thank- 
ful, and one died in infancy. All married. Samuel Winsor, 
his youngest son and for many years Judge Winsor, inher- 
ited his father's homestead, on Winsor' s hill, and lived there 



70 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

until his death. The old Winsor burying ground is on this 
hill. 

After the death of Rev. Joseph Winsor, who was for some 
years an invalid, his church was very much broken up by some 
active members dying and some emigrating to colonize a 
neighborhood in the town of Newport and other places in 
New York. 

John W. Hunt, Clarissa Danforth, of Weathersfield, Vt., 
and Elder John Colby were devoted religious teachers. Rev. 
George Lamb held neighborhood meetings several years in 
Deacon Asa Steere's large kitchen, on Sundays. The old 
meeting-house at Chepachet had either been torn or blown 
down. 

THE DORR WAR. 

Glocester has been for many years a Democratic town. 
Until 1842 the charter given by King Charles the Second had 
been in full force in this State. Several years previous to 
1842, the unequal distribution of political power had agitated 
many politicians in the State, many expressing a desire for a 
chano^e when it could be peaceably and lawfully made. Samuel 
Y. Atwell, of this town, strongly favored the giving up of the 
land qualification. Some of the Suffrage leaders were 
Thomas W. Dorr, Duty J. Pearce, Ariel Ballou and John R. 
Waterman. Mr. Dorr was nominated by the Suffrage Con- 
vention as their Governor in April, 1842, and appealed for 
support to the people. His supporters claimed a majority of 
the votes cast. The Judges of the Supreme Court gave their 
opinion that the Suffrage Convention had acted illegally. 
April 18, 1842, Thomas W. Dorr was declared Governor by 
his party. Two days later the existing government reelected 
Samuel W. King by a large majority over Dorr. The Gen- 
eral Government favored the Law and Order or Whig party, 
and President Tyler, on the 7th of May, said "that if neces- 
sary he would sustain by force the Charter Government." 
June 25, 1842, Dorr issued a proclamation as Governor of the 
State under the Suffrage Constitution to convene the Gen- 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. /I 

eral Assembly, to meet at Chepachet, in the town of Gloces- 
ter, on the 4th clay of July, and on that day to transact such 
business as might come before that Assembly. 

Gov. King was authorized, with the advice of R. K. 
Randolph, James Fenner, E. C. Carrington, L. H. Arnold, 
N. F. Dixon, Peleg Wilber and Byron Diman, to take such 
measures as he might see fit to protect the private and pub- 
lic property of the State. Martial law was established and 
in full force. 

June 23d, Dorr took up his headquarters at Chepachet, 
and established martial law around the village. A fort was 
built on Acote hill. Dorr took command of his forces. 
Five or six hundred soldiers were said to be within his estab- 
lished fortress on the hill. They had several rusty cannon 
and many muskets. The excitement was intense. Law and 
Order men of the town and village had taken to the woods, 
where some of them remained several days ; others fled to 
various secret places without food. Mr. Atwell, who resided 
in the village, saw the mistake Mr. Dorr was making, and 
entirely withdrew from the Suffrage party and removed him- 
self and family to the house of a Law and Order friend (Mrs. 
Waite Phetteplace), about two miles from the villlge. There 
were no males at this house except servants. So much has 
been printed on this subject of the Dorr war that it is treated 
briefly here. 

The State militia were, in a large force, marching to take 
possession of Acote hill. Dorr was finally convinced that he 
was powerless, and on the morning of the 27th of June he dis- 
missed his military. He and all his force fled in haste. The 
State military arrived, and without resistance took possession 
of the famous expected Rhode Island battle-ground and the 
village. Refreshments in abundance were sent at once from 
families in the town to the State's artillery. There was great 
rejoicing that no battle was fought. 

In the following October a company of Light Dragoons 
was chartered by the name of the Burrillville and Glocester 
Horse Company ; the number not to exceed one hundred, 



72 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

exclusive of officers ; the company to be in the Second Bri- 
gade of the Rhode Island militia, and all its members, so long 
as enrolled, to be exempt from doing duty in other miltary 
companies in their district. 



MISCELLANEOUS. 

Some of the women of this town rode, in 1800, on horse- 
back to Pawtucket to get cotton yarn of Brown & Almy, 
manufacturers, to make cotton cloth. It was the custom up 
to 18 1 7, in the absence of machinery, for manufacturers of 
yarn to send the webs into the country to be woven by hand 
looms. In some cases matrons of families could hire girls 
for one dollar per week, with board, to weave. The weaving 
was paid in yarn. This yarn was used to make cloth for fam- 
ily use. India cotton was used.* 

Linen thread cannot be spun by the machinery used for 
spinning cotton or wool on account of the length and 
strength of the fibres of flax. The linen spinning wheel is a 
great mechanical curiosity. The flax is broken, hatcheled, 
stretched and made smooth ; after all the woody parts are 
shaken off, it is wound loosely upon a distaff ; the fibres se- 
lected are drawn out by the thumb and fore-finger at the 
same time ; these fibres were twisted by the flyers by the 
movement of the foot on the pedal, and wound upon a bobbin 
which turned somewhat slower than the flyers. In the mid- 
dle ages linen and woolen were the only materials for dress. 
In this town some of her maidens one hundred years since 
succeeded in making quite fine shirting and sheeting ; very 
handsome diapers and kersey for table cloths, napkins and 
towels ; bed and window curtains, striped with coarse and 

* Previous to 1815 all the weaving was done bv hand looms. Judge Ly- 
man, of North Providence, was the first to attempt to construct the power 
loom, but did not fully succeed. He employed a Mr. Gilmore, late from 
England, who had brought some portions of the power loom and dresser 
with him. He finally succeeded in making the loom. David Wilkinson, 
of Pawtucket, introduced them into his mill. The [hand loom was super- 
seded. 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 7J 

fine threads. After woven, the cloth was perfectly whitened. 
Men's summer clothes were made of coarser threads, and not 
often whitened. The choicest paper is manufactured from 
linen. After a few years some of the more favored maidens, 
would have a silk dress, and a cotton dress called the patch,"' 
or a cotton print. Corsets were made of durant, and dress 
shoes of velvet. 

Early many families had all the materials for making boots- 
and shoes, and employed a shoemaker to come to their houses, 
in the autumn to make all needed supplies for the winter. 

High post bedsteads were used in some families with cur- 
tains, especially as a great protection from the cold in the 
winter. 

During the latter part of the last century and the first of 
the present, spinning and weaving woolen cloth was carried 
on sufficiently to meet the wants of the inhabitants. Some 
of the farmers were at great trouble and expense to get fine 
merino sheep, their wool being very soft. Excellent cloth 
was made for men's wear ; after being woven, it was carried to- 
the fulling and dyeing mill, either at Chepachet or at Kil- 
lingly, Conn. When returned, one side had a glossy nap. 
Covelets were woven of various designs. Beautiful carpets 
were made, quite equalling the Venetian ; woolen blankets,, 
flannel sheets and dresses were also home manufactured. 
Nearly every family knitted their own stockings from yarn 
spun from wool on a wheel, doubled and twisted, or by a dis- 
taff held in the hand. The wool was carded and made intO' 
small round rolls about two feet long, then attached to the 
revolving spindle of a spinning-wheel which was turned round 
by one hand ; at the same time the roll was drawn out by the 
other hand, and when sufficiently twisted, the wheel was so 
turned as to wind the thread on the spindle. Mr. Shadrach 
Steere, in Burrillville, was a manufacturer of wheels to spin 
wool and tow. All comfortable families generally had a 
wheel, reel and swifts ; also a loom and a small wheel to wind 
quills to put in a shuttle to weave cloth. 



74 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 



CORN HUSKINGS. 

In the autumn large farmers sometimes had their corn cut 
from the field and carried into the lower part of their barns 
or in some other dry place, and piled up ready to be husked. 
On a pleasant morning an invitation was given to their 
neighboring men to come in the evening to the husking ; 
chairs and benches were set all round and usually well filled. 
Though very busy husking, their social enjoyment in story- 
telling, etc., often made them forget their enjoyable supper of 
baked pork and beans, or roast beef with its accompanyings, 
bread and butter, coffee, tea and pumpkin pies. When about 
half through husking, the landlord carried around to the busk- 
ers pitchers of sweet cider, and sometimes New England rum 
and sugar. After the husking was finished they were invited 
into the house, where they had supper. 

Apple parings were another source of pleasure to some of 
the young men and women. For two hours or more the 
girls would pare, the young men hand the apples and do all 
the waiting. Several bushels would be pared and sliced 
already for drying to make apple pies late in the spring, when 
green apples were used up. When through paring, tea and 
cake were served ; after this, social entertainments, dancing 
and different kinds of plays. 

Very many families would piece different kinds of calico 
to make a bed-quilt. This was put on a frame and made 
ready for four or five to sit on opposite sides, rolling up when 
quilted as far as one could conveniently reach. Numbers 
were invited, and at the close a supper was ready, and merry 
entertainments followed. 



THE LONE MAN. 



For nearly forty years from about 1820, generally in the 
spring, a solitary looking man came to the town, always 
walking slowly. He wore the same tattered suit. He usu- 
ally called on the same families each year. After his first 
call the people understood what he wanted, and laid, without 
his asking, food and drink on the table for him. He always 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 75 

refused any eatables to carry away with him, but seemed 
grateful for anything received. As he always wore the same 
suit, rents would often come in them. He would ask for a 
large needle and dark yarn. When these were furnished he 
would mend the worn places, and return the yarn and needle. 
He seldom answered any questions, none in relation to his 
past life. Where he came from was not found out. His 
travels extended in Connecticut and New York. Some way 
the fancied story was circulated that he was once engaged to 
be married, and the suit he wore was to have been his wed- 
ding dress ; but he was disappointed, and ever after carefully 
cherished and cared for the above suit, that was made for 
what he anticipated to be the most joyful occasion of his life. 
He was well proportioned, and his personal appearance was 
gentlemanly, quiet and sad. 

THE HAUNTED BROOK. 

On the road that leads south, about a mile from the village 
of Chepachet, is a brook that after much rain used to some- 
times run across the road. Here it was said an Indian 
drowned his wife, and all noises heard at this place were 
believed by many to come from this distressed Indian woman 
still haunting the brook. 

About 1825 an intelligent lady of this town, and her 
cousin, Mr. Rufus Steere, were riding to their home from the 
village over this road, and carrying a bottle of beer undergo- 
ing the vinous fermentation. As they were passing the 
haunted brook, all at once there was a fearful, loud report, 
like a pistol. The gentleman exclaimed, "Im shot, and I feel 
the blood running down my back ; I am faint." The horse 
was made to go with all speed. They reached their home 
and found the feared pistol shot was the explosion of the beer 
bottle. 

A room for a bank was drilled out of a solid rock, near the 
late Eddy Cooper's, in the latter part of the seventeenth 
century. The trap door that opened into it could only be 
lifted by a strong rope which was attached to the ceiling of 



■j6 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

the counting-room. The rope was so hidden as not easily to 
be found by burglars. 

"Cooper's Den," or " Forgers' Cave," was a great rendez- 
vous for mischievous persons. The place to enter is very 
small ; one has to creep some distance before reaching the 
long room of about thirty by eighty feet, and about twelve 
feet high. The above ledge of rocks is now in the town of 
Burrillville. 

PUBLIC HOUSES. 

In 1780, licenses were granted by the town council to six 
persons to keep a public house in their home dwelling for 
•one year on condition that they kept good order, and for the 
privilege they were required to pay a given number of bush- 
els of corn to the town. The corn given was used to sup- 
port the poor of the town. Later, silver dollars were paid. 
In 1800, license was given to sell liquor on town meeting 
-days for fifty cents. 

Many years after 1800 six quite large and convenient 
hotels were kept in the town. Hezekiah Cady kept the hotel 
in the western part of the town ; Cyrus Farnum and Richard 
Aldrich kept the two in the eastern part ; Daniel Cornell in 
the southern part, and Cyrus Cook, Anan Evans and others 
kept the two hotels in the village. At present there are 
three. The railroads have taken much of the travel, conse- 
quently there is much less patronage for public houses. 

OTHER OCCURRENCES. 

In the great gale of September, 181 5, considerable damage 
was done in the town. Many trees, chimneys and fences were 
blown down, and many doors had to be barricaded. 

On the Page farm, not far from Poneganset pond, a mine 
was opened a few years since, where some quartz and a little 
gold were found, but thus far little has been done to find out 
its resources. 

The marriage law of 1701 and later, required notice of in- 
tention to marry to be set up in a public place fourteen days, 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. TJ 

and persons coming from other States were required to pro- 
duce certificates that they had conformed to the law. 

In 1844 a committee was appointed to examine and survey 
the established line between Glocester and Burrillville. It 
was found that Glocester had 1,049 acres more than belonged 
to her territory. This fact was presented to the General As- 
sembly, when a committee was appointed to run the division 
line again. This was done and found right as presented. 
The 1,049 acres were added to Burrillville. These acres in- 
cluded the well known estates of Messrs. Ahab, Esek and 
Welcome Sayles. 

In 1859 the boundary line between Glocester and Smith- 
field was settled by the State committee. 

In 1875 the boundary between Glocester and Foster was 
established. 

SCHOOLS. 

The early facilities for instruction were limited. Schools 
were kept in private dwelling houses or some little building 
made for the purpose in the house yard. In some cases 
patrons of the school allowed poor parents to send their chil- 
dren to the schools and take day labor for tuition ; in this 
way most of the children were taught to read and write. 
Little girls were taught to do plain stitching ; in some cases, 
the old custom was in vogue for little girls to work a sampler 
on linen cloth or canvas. After the Revolution several good 
school houses were built in different parts of the town. Men 
were generally employed to teach the winter schools, and 
women the summer schools. Some of the summer teachers 
instructed the little girls to embroider on muslin for bags in 
which to carry handkerchiefs ; also caps, ruffs and capes. Chil- 
dren were taught to be reverent to their parents and supe- 
riors, and to be mannerly when meeting persons on the road. 
Among some of these early teachers were Harriet Greatrix, 
from Providence, teacher of a private school in the Irons 
neighborhood in 1790; Lucina Sayles, Miss Ballou, Anna 
Sibley, Susan Sibley, Roby Bowdish and Sarah Brewster. 



78 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

As children advanced in their studies, select schools and 
academies were patronized. Rev. Mr. Atkins, generally 
known as " Priest Atkins," of Killingly, had an excellent 
family school for boys. Children could be carried there on 
Monday morning and brought home on Friday, after the 
school closed for the week. Others older were sent to 
Dudley, Leicester, Plainfield and other established academies. 

In the Brown neighborhood, in 1812, Esek Brown, Olney 
Brown, Eber Phetteplace, Thomas Owen and Nicholas 
Keech built a good-sized arched school house, with closets 
for the boys and girls' hats, and caps, bonnets and dinner 
pails. Here generally an excellent private school was kept 
from seven to ten months in each year until the free schools, 
were established, in 1828. The common and higher branches 
were taught. Several other well-built school houses were 
erected about this time. At Chepachet, besides a school of 
experienced teachers for older pupils, a school for young chil- 
dren was yearly kept. Miss Hannah Blackman kept the 
school for about thirty years. 

In all the older schools, the scholars had the privilege of 
choosing their own studies. In several schools, history, phil- 
osophy and rhetoric were taught, and occasionally a young 
man studied surveying. 

In 1828 the State appropriated $10,000 to be divided 
among the towns according to their population on condition 
that each town doubled the amount received. It was ac- 
cepted. The town appointed a committee to divide the 
town into seventeen districts with their boundaries defined. 
Each district without a school house was encouraged to build 
one. 

The free money would sustain a teacher but a few months 
yearly. In several of the districts the schools were kept 
longer by the liberality of some patrons in the district. The 
schools were well patronized and generally under good dis- 
cipline. Teachers were first appointed by a school commit- 
tee ; later a superintendent was appointed, who is the super- 
visor of the teachers. The system has worked well. 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 79 

In 1840 the State appropriated $io to aid in maintaining a 
-district school Hbrary for the use of the schools. In a few 
years afterwards several districts secured very small libraries. 
At Chepachet there is a well-built school house for a graded 
grammar school. 

In 1854 the Manton library, in this school house, contained 
750 volumes of well selected books, valued at $400. The 
library was given by the late Amasa Manton, of Providence, 
in memory of his native town. The citizens, in honor of the 
giver, gave it the name, "Manton Library." For several 
years past the library has been closed. In 1885 a new inter- 
est was awakened in the village and town. The Manton Li- 
brary Association called a meeting to reorganize the society, 
and elected officers as follows : President, John T. Fisk ; vice 
president, Thomas Irons ; secretary, E. W. White ; treas- 
urer, William H. White; executive committee, Miss Mary 

0. Arnold, Dr. George A. Harris and Walter A. Read. The 
library has been removed to a more accessible room, on 
Main street, a large number of new books have been added, 
and much interest is manifested by the people in reading the 
books. 

The State Normal School is highly appreciated. The State 
'Commissioners have always exerted a salutary influence on 
the schools. 

Teachers in the public ungraded and primary schools in 
1885, were as follows : Lydia C. Armstrong, Alice M. Bearse, 
Susan H. Evans, Mystic A. Cooper, Carrie B. Brown, Addie 

1. White, Alice J. Barnes, George O. Hopkins, Lavinia G. 
Ross, Philip Shippee, Grace Holden, E. Emily Grover, 
Ida A. Cunningham, Marcie Arnold, Ella M. Steere, Zelotte 
A. Coman, Emily A. Lowe, Eliza A. Mowry, Clara L. Irons. 
Several of the above teachers are graduates of the Rhode 
Island Normal School. Trustees : Arnold Steere, Calvary 
Mitchell, William H. White, Thomas M. Greene, James B. 
Reynolds, Esaias Pray, Joseph Sarle, Frank Warren, William 
M. Cushman, William C. Tourtellot and George Evans. Two 
hundred and ninety-one children in school, and seventy-five 
not in school. 



8o HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

SCHOOLS FOR THE DEAF. 

Several deaf children from this town have been supported 
by the State. George M. Darling was a beneficiary at Brat- 
tleboro, Vermont. Several have been educated at the Hart- 
ford Institution for the Deaf. All are appointed by the Gov- 
ernor, and he is authorized to pay for each of the deaf and 
dumb children at the American Asylum, $175 each year. 
For the blind at the Perkins Institute, Boston, each one 
receives ;^300 ; other institutions, ^100; also a small sum for 
clothing. In the town there are now three deaf and dumb ; 
one is blind and one an idiot. 

A good school for the deaf has been established in Provi- 
dence. It is on the corner of Fountain and Beverly streets. 
The school is free to any deaf youths in the State who are 
suitable subjects to be taught. The school is under excellent 
discipline. Katherine H. Austin is principal. 

SOCIETIES. 

The Jefferson Society was incorporated in October, 1828. 
Uriah Colwell, Gideon Smith, David Bowen and others were 
the petitioners. They were created a body politic, capable in 
law to hold property of any kind, to sue and be sued. The 
first directors were Gideon Smith, Thomas Mason, David. 
Bowen, Simeon Bowen, Zephaniah Mann and Benjamin 
Smith. Secretary, Jervis J. Smith ; Treasurer, Uriah Colwell. 
A school house was built, and a good school kept in it 
until it was too small for the number of scholars. A new 
and larger house for the school was built. The old house 
was sold to a voluntary religious association to accommodate 
many in that part of the town. The house was well repaired, 
and consecrated in i860 the Union Chapel. 

The Union Society is a voluntary association for religious 
and literary improvement. The desk is supplied twice each 
month alternately by the Congregationalists and Baptists of 
the town. A Sabbath-school is kept up through the year. 
Edward L. Phetteplace is the Superintendent. 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 8 1 



BENEVOLENT SOCIETIES. 



Neighborhood female sewing societies have been formed 
to aid the poor and religious services in different neighbor- 
hoods. In 1836 the Glocester Female Benevolent Society was 
formed to assist the religious operations in Chepachet and 
its vicinity. 

Mrs. Mary Steere was President ; Mrs. Paris Irons, Vice 
President ; Mrs. Roby Browne, Treasurer, and Miss E. A. 
Phetteplace, Secretary ; seventy members. For two years 
this society was active and accomplished much good. 
Besides money raised, many garments were made and given 
to the needy. The Freemasons of the town granted the 
society the privilege of meeting in their hall in the village. 

Since the above time efficient benovelent societies have 
been sustained by the Baptist and Congregationalist organi- 
zations in the village. 



DEBATING CLUBS. 



The first half of the present century, societies were held 
by young men to discuss the current questions of the day. 
Meetings in the winter were held fortnightly in school 
houses in different neighborhoods. One of these was for 
years sustained, and the following are the names of some of 
the prominent members : Joseph Smith, Clark Sayles, Sterry 
Smith, Clark Phetteplace, Rufus Steere, Riley Phetteplace 
Thomas Owen, Nelson Eddy, Clark Steere, Ruffis Steere, 
Rensalaer B. Smith, George Smith, Smith Peckham, Jedediah 
Sprague, Elijah Armstrong, Cyrel Cooke, Ora Owen, Elisha 
M. Aldrich and Welcome B. Sayles. 



OTHER ORGANIZATIONS. 



In 1830, the Glocester and Burrillville Horse Thief Detect- 
ing Society was incorporated by the General Assembly upon 
the petition of Daniel Smith, Andrew Harris, Daniel Smith, 
Jr., Abram Baker, Ira P. Evans and others. They were 



82 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

made a body corporate to hold property, to buy and sell not to 
exceed ten thousand dollars. 

The Ponagansett Reservoir Company was incorporated in 
1856 by a number of mill owners as an outlet for occasions 
of Ponagansett pond. 

The Society of Domestic Industry was formed in 1820, 
and for the first few years held their annual meetings at Paw- 
tuxet. A number of persons from this town were interested 
in the society and patronized its yearly exhibitions. Jesse 
Tourtellott and Chad Brown were among the members of the 
standing committee from this town. 



GRAVEYARDS. 

Families at first lived some distance from each other, and 
the death of one of their number was deeply lamented. To 
have their remains deposited near by was a comfort in sor- 
row. The pleasantest spot of land near their home was the 
consecrated place for the dead. Later, families connected 
would join in a burial place. Not always were even rude 
stones put up to mark the last resting place. It is well 
known that the Quakers did not erect gravestones. 

There are a great many small burying grounds scattered 
over the town. Some have been kept in good repair, so that 
the places of deposit of mortal remains are less forbidding. 
The following are among them : The Armstrongs, Browns, 
Irons, Sw#ets, Tourtellotts, Winsors, Wades, Potters, Steeres, 
Aldrichs and Waldrons. The Chepachet burying ground, 
north of the village, was consecrated about one hundred 
years since, and contains the remains of a large number of 
early settlers. Its care has been much neglected. Recently 
the Evans lot has been much improved. Some other owners 
of lots are intending soon to renovate theirs. 

In early times the funerals of most of the families were so 
far from each other that they were great events. The people 
from all around were present. If a clergyman could not be 
present, some Christian brother would read a portion of 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 83 

Scripture and offer prayer. Sometimes it was the silent 
prayer of the Friends. When the way was rough to the 
graveyard, the dead had to be carried on the shoulder bier ; 
if the way was long, rests were made and bearers changed. 

The Chepachet Cemetery Association was formed in the 
year 1844, on the petition to the Assembly by John T. Fiske, 
Scott W. Mowry, Jervis J. Smith, Amasa Eddy, Otis Sayles, 
Brown Mowry and Frederick A. Squires to be incorporated. 
Said corporation has power to hold land not exceeding ten 
acres, to have a stock of $3,000, divided into three hundred 
shares at ten dollars per share, etc. The above cemetery is 
pleasantly laid out on Acote Hill, south of the village. 



THE FRIENDS. 

About 1643 there was a change of rulers in England. 
Episcopacy was abolished for a season, and Presbyterianism 
was established. .There were many Dissenters, and among 
them was George Fox, the first public preacher of the so- 
called Quakers by their opponents. Fox took strong grounds 
against drunkenness, the vices of the times, the established 
mode of public religious worship, and rejected the sacrament ; 
he gave his testimony against oaths, against salaried minis- 
ters of the gospel, against tithes, and some other religious 
requirements. Their numbers rapidly increased ; they used 
the singular pronoun when addressing only one person, and 
refused to raise their hand to touch the hat when meeting 
persons of their own or higher standing.* Their society is 
governed by its own code of discipline. They are strong 
advocates of the Holy Scriptures ; they believe in the resur- 
rection of the just and the uujust. Great persecution fol- 
lowed the Independents throughout England, especially this- 

*A delegation of the Society of Friends called on Victoria, the Queen, 
soon after her coronation. They wore their broad-brimmed hats, which 
they never removed in honor of any person. But according to custom, 
on entering her presence their heads were uncovered by the " yeoman " of 
the guard, and as they were non-resistants, they submitted. 



84 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

sect. In consequence of these sufferings many families left 
their country and came to the American colonies. Among 
them was William Penn, a devoted Friend, who came to 
Philadelphia, and where to this day many of their noblest 
institutions are due to the benevolence of this sect. 

On account of the religous freedom enjoyed under the 
jurisdiction of Roger Williams in the colony of Rhode Island, 
many families of Friends followed him from the Bay State 
colony, and their influence in the government from the i6th 
to the 17th centuries was great. In 1700 nearly half of the 
population of the island of Rhode Island were of the Friends 
persuasion. Their meeting houses for divine worship were 
plain and unadorned. Eight of the early governors of this 
colony were Friends, and in many towns they held offices of 
trust, as judges and legislators. 

To Charles the Second, King of England, Rhode Island 
owes her great religious freedom, as in her second charter 
nothing is said against religious privileges. His brother 
James, who succeeded him, was not as favorable. Religious 
liberty was set forth, and the law of the colony first sanc- 
tioned the various religious opinions, which ever attend a 
transition state. 

The settlers not knowing for the time what opening might 
be for them, scattered as they were in the wilderness, and 
believing that some time must elapse before they would be 
able to organize and have a regular place for public worship, 
had neighborhood gatherings in some one of their homes, for 
silent worship, unless otherwise moved by the Divine Spirit, 
as they felt impressed by their bountiful Benefactor. In 1791 
a plain and substantial house of worship was built not far 
from the residence of the late Moses Cooper. Here for 
nearly one hundred years they met twice each week. Among 
their speakers were Smith Battey and his wife. Their quar- 
terly meetings are held in Smithfield and Northbridge, Mass. 
Their yearly meetings have been held in Newport until very 
recently, where they met their friends from different parts of 
the Union. As neighbors and citizens, their influence has 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 85 

"had a strong moral and religious tone. They are true friends 
■of education, and civil and religious liberty. 

In 1783 a petition was presented to the Assembly by some 
Friends to manumit the slaves of this State. The subject 
was well discussed, and the committee appointed to take into 
■consideration the petition were Thomas Wells, John Smith, of 
docester, Benjamin Rowland, Stephen Steere, Joseph Noyes, 
Nathan Millar, and Abraham Lippitt. Though African 
slave trade was disapproved, no final action was taken until 
1787, when, by vote of the Assembly, it was forbidden that 
the master of any vessel should purchase or transport any 
negroes for slavery, or for any citizen to cause said purchase. 
All children born after the above date were to be free. 

In June, 1790, a society was formed for promoting the abo- 
lition of slavery in the United States, and for improving the 
African race. This society was incorporated with the names 
•of one hundred and fourteen influential men of this State. 
From this town are the names of Hon. Daniel Owen, Rufus 
Smith, Esq., and John Brown, Esq. Several of the slaves 
born previous to the Revolution lived until 1830. 

Among the Friends who were governors was Governor 
Hopkins, who signed with a trembling hand the Declaration 
of Independence. Until the war of the Revolution the 
holders of offices did not of necessity require any participa- 
tion in military affairs or war appendages. After the war 
these were required. Then the members of the Friends' 
Society declined any appointments. 

William Penn says of the early public speakers of the 
Friends (they were both men and women) " that they were 
changed themselves before they went about to change others, 
their hearts were rent as well as their garments, not schemes 
of doctrine and verbal creeds, or new forms of worship, but 
leaving off in religion the superfluous, reducing the cere- 
monious and formal part, and earnestly pressing the substan- 
tial, the necessary and profitable part." 

All that embraced the principles of Friends and attended 
their meetings regularly, were by their consent reckoned 



S6 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

members, and their children. It is their great wish to incul- 
cate and influence by love and kindness. They hav^e their 
rules of discipline. The person appointed as clerk is to 
record what seems to be the manifestation of truth in their 
meetings.* 



BUSINESS MEN IN 1885. 

Auctioneers — John M. Eddy and H. S. Taylor, Harmony ; 
Samuel Steere, Chepachet. 

Blacksmiths — Joseph Baraba and Daniel Mowry, Che- 
pachet ; Frank Steere, Harmony. 

Box Makers — Hopkins & Houghton, West Glocester. 

Bntchers — C. A. Capron, E. Place, H. A. Sayles and Benja- 
min White, Chepachet. 

Builders — A. W. Gorey, E. F. Keech and N. Taft, Che- 
pachet ; J. S. Evans, Harmony. 

Coal and Wood Dealer — Walter A. Read, Chepachet. 

Stoves— SNi\\\2im Hawkins, W. A. Read and R. H. 
Wade, Chepachet ; C. W. Whipple, Harmony. 

Fish Dealers — C. E. Brown and W. B. Ship^Dee, Chepachet. 

Grist Mills — A. S. Peckham and Smith A. Steere, Che- 
pachet ; Dennis Paine, Harmony. 

Hair Dressers — A. H. Harrington and John A. Staples, 
Chepachet. 

Hardware and Cutlery — G. H. Davis, Chepachet. 

Harness Maker — R. H. Wade, Chepachet. 

Hotel. — H. R. Taft, Harmony Hotel, Harmony, 

Insurance Agents — C. W. Farnum, William H. Hawkins 
and E. W. White (life), Chepachet. 



*Rhode Island, in 1656, would not join the United Colonies in commend- 
ing to the courts to pass laws forbidding the Quakers to live within their 
jurisdiction; but appealed to England for aid to enable her to carry out 
the principles of her charter. 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 



87 



Jewelry and Watches — James W. Laney, Chepachet. 

Wines and Liquors — R. H. Tobin, Chepachet. 

Lumber Dealer — Simeon Sweet, Chepachet. 

Masons — Joseph Holbrook, Joseph Page and Abram Smith, 
Chepachet ; James B. Coman, Harmony. 

Painters— S&t\\ Mowry, L. C. Rounds and E. Westcott, 
Chepachet. 

Periodicals — James W. Laney, Chepachet. 

Physicians— AXb^rt Potter and E. A. Harris. Both are 
members of the Rhode Island Medical Society. 

Book and Job Printer— ¥. H. Potter, Chepachet. 

Saiu Mills — Albert Peckham and George W. Steere, Che- 
pachet ; Dennis Paine, West Glocester ; A. B. Steere, Har- 
mony. 

Stables— KdiwddiW Mowry, William R. Parkhurst and Harris 
Steere, Chepachet. 

Tinsmith — G. H. Davis, Chepachet. 

Tailor— M. H. Angell, Chepachet. 

Wheehvright — Daniel Mowry. 

Print Works— {\^Z2) — M. J. Converse, Chepachet; Ste- 
phen S. Potter, Harmony. 

GRADUATES IN BROWN UNIVERSITY. 



Asa Aldis, 






> 






1796. 


George H. Browne, 










1840. 


Joseph Winsor, 












1840. 


Amasa S. Westcott, 












1842. 


George M. Angell, 












1844. 


John K. Bucklin, . 












1861. 


Stephen A. Cooke, Jr., 












1861. 


John W. Colwell, . 












1872. 


Samuel L. Irons,. . 












1882. 



88 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

PROFESSIONAL MEN. 

PHYSICIANS. 

Levi Eddy, Dean, Mason (lived in the Revolu- 
tion), Hazael Peckham, Daniel Bellows, Eleazer Bellows, 

Sweet, Edward T. Waldron, Joseph Bowen (living in 

1820), George Gary, Mowry S. Peckham, Harrington, 

Allen Potter, Samuel Mowry, Jarvis Smith. Albert Potter 
and George A. Harris are the present physicians. 

LAWYERS. 

Asel Steere, John B. Snow, Charles F. Tillinghast, Samuel 
Ames, Samuel Y. Atwell, James M. Clark, George H. Browne^ 
Horace Manchester, Ziba O. Slocum. 

BAPTIST MEETING HOUSE AND SOCIETY IN THE 
VILLAGE OF CHEPACHET. 

In 1 8 14 a number of Christian men seeing the great 
need of having a house, aside from the school house and 
private dwellings, for regular religious worship and disci- 
pline, obtained a charter in October under the name of 
"The Christian Benevolent Society." The meeting house 
was not built until 1821, in the northern part of the village. 
In January, 1822, it was re-chartered as the " Chepachet 
Meeting House," the Baptists to hold the power to occupy 
it four Sundays each month, and the Universalists every 
fifth Sunday. The Rev. Mr. Pickering, from Providence, 
and the Rev. Adin Ballou, of Smithfield, sometimes sup- 
plied the desk on the fifth Sunday. After a few years 
their services were entirely given up. The lot was given by 
Mr. Amherst Kimball. The pews were sold previous to 
building the house, to pay the expense. The church was 
well proportioned, with a steeple and a good bell ; galleries 
were on each side and at one end, and the pulpit was at the 
other end. The cost was about $4,000. The following 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 89 

named persons were pew owners : Thomas Owen, Esek 
Brown, Jr., Joseph Steere, Ahab Sayles, Amherst Kim- 
ball, Obadiah Smith. Olney Browne, Lyndon Smith, Ste- 
phen Willmarth, Jesse Tourtellott, Chad Sayles, Ira P. 
Evans, Stephen' Eddy, Jeptha Hunt, John B. Snow, 
James Sprague, Eber Phetteplace, Job Armstrong, Cyrus 
Cooke, Joel Paine, Amasa Eddy, Jr., Arnold Brown, James 
Wilder, Samuel Potter, Joseph White, John M. Hunt, 
Elisha Browne, Jr., Hezekiah Cady, Daniel Evans, Jr., Sayles 
Browne, Amasa Sayles, Arnold Owen, Lawton Owen, Ara 
Hawkins, Elisha Winsor, Duty Evans, Scott C. Armstrong, 
Clovis H. Bowen, Jedediah Sprague, and Nelson Eddy, with 
the grant to hold property not to exceed thirty thousand 
dollars, etc. 

I-n the articles of association, under the name of "The 
Proprietors of the Chepachet Meeting House," it was stated 
that every pew holder on the ground floor had a right to vote 
at all meetings of the society. Eight owners of pews on 
the ground floor constituted a legal meeting for business. 

A small organ has been furnished. The house has been 
kept well repaired. It is on a fine lot of land, and has a good 
shed in the back part of the yard. 

BAPTIST SOCIETY AND SUNDAY SCHOOL. 

A Free Baptist Church was organized in the village of 
Chepachet in the year 1825, Rev. Reuben Allen, pastor. 
He was followed by the Rev. Joseph White, Zachariah Jor- 
dan, Arthur Ross, Maxcy Burlingame and John Pratt. The 
Rev. D. Curtis supplied the pulpit in 1838, 1839 and 1840. 
He superintended the Sunday-school — seventy-five scholars. 
Since then the pulpit has been supplied by Rev. Ami Brad- 
bury, I. M. Purkis, A. H. Morrill and Rev. John Rodgers, the 
present pastor. The church has generally had from fifty to 
seventy-five members. A monthly conference has generally 
been sustained. The clergymen that have supplied the pul- 
pit have usually been the first class in the denomination. 



90 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 



The first Sunday-school reported from this town was organ- 
ized in 1828, at Chepachet, in connection with the Baptist 
church at the meeting house. Job Armstrong was the 
Superintendent, and Dr. George Gary, Secretary. The 
school in the above year was made auxiliary to the Rhode 
Island Sunday-school Union. The following is the report 
sent to the Union and printed in the annual report : 

" Chepachet Sunday School, in Glocester, 182S." 
" Our school commenced on the first Sunday in June last, and contin- 
ued five months. The average number of scholars were fifty, taught by 
four instructors. Upwards of two hundred chapters in the Bible have 
been committed to memory by the scholars. Fine progress has been 
made in reading. Our prospects are truly flattering. 

George Gary, Secretary." 

The above school has been continued to the present time, 
usually in a prosperous condition. Mrs. Miranda Sprague 
and the present Superintendent, Deacon Smith A. Steere, 
and many others, have devoted much time to the interest of 
the young in this school. There are about seventy-five 
scholars in the school, and a well-selected library. 

SUNDAY SCHOOLS.- 

In the summer of 1829 a Sunday-school was organized in 
the sixteenth school district, in the Brown school house ; 
Clark Phetteplace, Superintendent. The school continued 
six months — forty-five scholars. A library of fifty small vol- 
umes from the Rhode Island Sunday-school Union was pur- 
chased, and many religious tracts distributed. This school, 
during about six months in the warm season, was kept up for 
fifteen years. It was auxiliary to the Rhode Island Sunday- 
school Union. In 1831 the interest in religious instruction 
of the youth was increased by agents sent out by the Rhode 
Island Sunday-school Union. During 1832 and 1833 there 
were Sunday-schools organized and successfully cared for in 
the Central school house, the Harmony school house, the old 
Winsor meeting house. Pine Orchard, Robert Steere district, 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 9I 

Jefferson district, Winsor school house and Richmond dis- 
trict. Most of these schools were kept open only in the 
warm season. In these schools, from the reports it is inferred 
that competent teachers were generally secured, and that 
there was a good degree of interest in learning the Bible les- 
sons. In seven of these schools there were well selected 
libraries, varying from 50 to 150 volumes, purchased from 
the Rhode Island Sunday-school Union. Eight of these 
schools were auxiliaries to the Rhode Island Sunday-school 
Union. For nine or ten years, about four hundred and 
thirty-five scholars were in these schools. 

Superintendents of Sunday-schools found recorded, not 
already named, are Aaron Wood, Abby Colwell, Riley 
Steere, Job Steere, Miranda Phetteplace, Mrs. Riley Steerc) 
Susan M. Phetteplace, William S. Potter, Luther Waldron, 
E. A. Phetteplace, Emeline Keech, Christopher WinsoJ-, 
Delia Irons, Mrs. L, Steere, Cyrus Eddy and Samuel Steere, 
Jr. After 1846 there was a Congregationalist church and 
Sunday-school organized at Chepachet. There is a small Free 
Baptist church and Sunday-school in the south part of the 
town ; fifty-four members in 1884. Forty members in the Sun- 
day-school. The late Rev. Charles Wade was a faithful pastor 
in this church for several years. The above society is partly 
in Glocester and partly in Foster. 

There are two small Advent churches in the town. One 
at Clarkville, where Elder Eldridge has spent some time. 
The other in the northeastern part of the town. Sunday- 
schools, «a part of the year, are sustained in the above two 
societies. At different times several preachers have supplied 
their desks. 

EPISCOPALIANS. 

The General Assembly was petitioned in February, 1818, 

"for the establishment and promotion of the worship of 

. Almighty God in Chepachet, according to the discipline, 

rites, usages and ceremonies of the Protestant Episcopal 



92 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

Church, in the United States, and praying for an act of 
incorporation to enable them, with greater convenience, to 
effect their aforesaid purposes, and to manage and secure the 
property and funds of which they are now, or may hereafter 
become possessed." It was granted, and Joseph Bowen, Ira 
P. Evans, Job Armstrong, Anan Evans, Cyrus Cooke, Amasa 
Eddy, Joseph Steere, Asel Steere, Christopher C. Dexter, 
Amherst Kimball, Joseph Wilmarth, Jesse Tourtellot, Wil- 
liam Tourtellot, Jeptha Hunt, Russell Evans, Thomas Owen, 
Jr., Stephen Eddy, Esek Brown, Jr., Ara Hawkins, Benja- 
min Bowen, John Wood, Lyndon Smith, Ahab Sayles, 
Thomas Matheson, Jr., John Hawkins, and also such others 
as may hereafter be admitted as members, are hereby and 
forever created a body corporate and politic with perpetual 
succession, by the name of the church wardens, vestry and 
i5arish of Christ's church, at Chepachet, in Glocester," etc. 
(Schedule of the General Assembly, 1818.) Thomas Owen, 
Jr., and Anan Evans were delegates from Christ's church to 
the Episcopal Convention held at St. Paul's church, Paw- 
tucket, on the first Tuesday in June, 1818. Rev. George 
Taft, Deacon, while in college officiated occasionally at 
Christ's church, Chepachet. Mr. Taft continued his services 
as often as he could after his settlement at Pawtucket. Rev. 
Dr. N. B. Crocker, late of St. John's church, sometimes offi- 
ciated. 

At the Episcopal Convention held at St. John's church, 
Providence, in 18 19, Thomas Owen, Esq., and Joseph Bowen, 
M. D., were delegates from Christ's church, Glocester. The 
church service was in the hall of the Evans hotel, for which 
the society paid $45 per year. 

For two or three years the interest in the church increased, 
and there was a strong prospect that a meeting house 
for the society might soon be built, but reverses came 
in the removal and passing away of several of the more 
active members. In 1836 the Rev. Louis Jansen was sent 
here by the Rhode Island Episcopal Convention, to hold the 
service of the church in the Baptist meeting house. He was 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 93 

well received, and had on Sundays large congregations. He 
made a report to the convention, June, 1837. He remained 
here one year. The Sunday-school was well sustained. His 
wife died here. 

By the request of some of the residents in the village, the 
Episcopal Convention, in the autumn of 1864, sent the Rev. 
Samuel H. Webb to hold Episcopal service in the unoccupied 
Congregationalist meeting house. Services were held here 
about eight months. Persons interested did not feel able to 
build a church, consequently for the time being the services 
were closed. 



CONGREGATIONALISTS. 

In 1833, the Baptist meeting house in the village of Che- 
pachet not being permanently occupied, the Rev. Mr. Dun- 
ham was sent here by the Rhode Island Congregational Con- 
sociation. He supplied the pulpit about one year. An 
interesting Sunday-school was sustained. His health failed 
him, and he was obliged to leave to get rest. 

In 1845, Oi'ii'i F- Otis, a graduate of Yale College and of 
Union Theological Seminary, was called to preach to a small 
Evangelical Congregational Society in the village. The 
society was organized by an ecclesiastical council appointed 
from the several churches of the Rhode Island Consociation. 
William R. Waterman, Jonathan Tourtellot, Scott W. Mo wry, 
Lawton Owen, Orin F. Otis and others petitioned the Gen- 
eral Assembly to be created a body politic and incorporate 
forever. It was granted. A church was formed with ten 
members. Mr. Otis was ordained and installed pastor of 
the church in March, 1846. During this year a very neat, 
convenient and well-proportioned meeting house was built, 
with a good bell for the size of the house, and a fine yard, 
with a shed in the back part of the yard. A small organ has 
been furnished. Mr. Otis was pastor of this church until 1864, 
when, by his own request, he resigned and went to live in 
Providence. At the time he left, there were about twenty mem- 



94 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

bers in his church. He was a devoted Christian, and always 
ready for every good word and work. A well organized Sun- 
day-school was well sustained. The church for about six 
years was without a pastor. The pulpit was generally sup- 
plied by various clergymen. The Rev. Mr. Arnold, from 
Elmwood, was here some months. In 1870, the Rev. Mr. 
Scott was settled as pastor. He was active in all church 
interest, and was here about six years when he resigned by 
request. The following June the Rev. George L. Dickinson 
was called to the pastorate. He was successful in the church 
and Sunday-school several years. In May, 1S79, the Rev. 
H. E. Johnson, the present esteemed pastor, commenced his 
labors with the church. 

Miss Ruth Irons, Church Clerk ; Stephen Irons, Superin- 
tendent of the Sunday-school, which has been well sustained 
since the church was organized. The meeting house is kept 
in excellent repair by the society. Recently a fine stained 
glass window has been put in the meeting house, given by 
Miss White to the society. 

LIBRARY. 

The Union Library Company in Glocester vi'as organized 
in the year 1794, and the following named persons petitioned 
the General Assembly for a charter, viz. : William Tourtellot, 
Timothy Wilmarth, Jesse Armstrong, Benjamin Hawkins, 
Solomon Owen, Jesse Potter, Jonathan Knapp, Thomas 
Owen, Jr., Stephen Winsor, Area Phetteplace, Simeon Smith, 
David Grossman, Asahel Reach. Anan Evans, Seth Hunt, 
Benjamin Phetteplace, Eleazer Bellows, Cyrus Cooke, Sim- 
eon Steere, Jonathan Harris, Esek Harris, Duty Salsbury, 
Daniel Owen, Oliver Owen, James Mason, Daniel Owen, Jr., 
John Aldrich, Elijah Armstrong, Joctan Putnam, Joseph 
Hines, Seth Ross, Stephen Wilmarth, Oliver Smith, Peter 
Hawkins, Joseph Bowen, Samuel Steere, Asa Barlow, Elisha 
Field, Stephen Brown, Mark Steere, Asel Steere, Robert Dur- 
fee, Jacob Smith, Jonathan Paine, Anthony Place, Stephen Val- 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. • 95 

let, Jedediah Sprague, Abraham Fisk, Nicholas Keech, Ahab 
Sayles, Benjamin Paine, Amasa Eddy, Thomas Brown, Daniel 
Smith, Ebenezer Felch, Obadiah Smith, James Potter, Wan- 
ton Potter, Esek Smith, Joseph Wilmarth, Esek Sayles, Wil- 
liam Steere, Jr., Penelope Armstrong and Richard Steere, Jr. 
The charter granted gave to the Library Company "power to 
hold land and tenements, to buy and sell, but not to exceed the 
sum of ^5,000, said company to have annual meetings to 
choose three directors, a librarian and a treasurer." 

The library contained several hundred well-selected books, 
especially in history. It was owned by shareholders, and 
very much read by some families. Names of shareholders : 
Thomas Owen, Ira Phetteplace Evans, Duty Evans, Amherst 
Kimball, Dr. Joseph Bowen, Mowry Smith, Abraham Win- 
sor, Eber Phetteplace, Jesse Tourtellot, Solomon Owen, Asel 
Steere, Richard Steere, Duty Smith. The book-case con- 
taining the library was kept in a private school house in the 
village of Chepachet. The librarian was to have the book- 
case opened every Saturday afternoon for receiving and taking- 
out books. After some thirty years, some of the share- 
holders moving away, some dying, and some becoming inef- 
ficient, the case the books were kept in needed repairing ; 
the school house it was kept in became old and shattered ; 
finally the shareholders decided to take the books and divide 
them. A great loss afterwards to the town. 

ORNITHOLOGY. 

There are quite a variety of birds, including different spe- 
cies, in this town. Some of the birds pass most of their 
time on trees, as the woodpecker ; some on the ground, like 
the partridge ; some visit marshy places, as the heron ; some 
rocks and dens. Hens, turkeys, geese and ducks have for a 
long time been largely domesticated. 

Hon. Ziba O. Slocum has a very fine case of mounted 
birds, all shot in this town by himself. With permission, the 
names of some of them are here given. The blue heron is 
the largest, and a most beautiful bird ; the lease bittern is 



96 • HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

the smallest ; a few of the 480 species of the humming bird, 
hawks, woodpeckers, warblers, the white-winged cressbill, 
wax wing and cedar bird, sparrows, bluejay, kingfisher, rob- 
ins, woodcocks, partridges, quails, shelldrake, red-breasted 
merganzer, auks, snipes, red-winged cressbills and owls. 



BOTANY. 

Much wood is yet burnt for fuel. Coal is used more in the 
villages. Lombardy poplars, chestnuts, several kinds of oak, 
maple, ash, willows, walnut, birch, cedar, pines and hemlock ; 
many fruit trees, and bushes bearing berries ; high and low 
laurel, wild cherry, swamp cheese bushes, juniper, witch- 
hazel, butternut ; many medicinal plants and wild flowers ; 
sumach, sweetbrier, dogwood, wild roses, rhododendron or 
rose tree, a shrub or small tree with evergreen leaves and 
large brilliant flowers. 

In the herbarium of the late Riley Phetteplace, about three 
hundred of the different species of plants classed were col- 
lected in his father's garden and on his farm of about three 
hundred acres. The old, large and beautiful elm in the house- 
yard of the above farm was finally split in the centre, though 
much was done to save it ; it is now gone. The late Doctor 
Usher Parsons called it the largest and finest tree in the 
State. 

GEOLOGY. 

From Jackson's geological survey of the town, some years 
since, we learn that about two miles west from Chepachet, 
near the turnpike, there is a variety of compact, thick-bedded 
gneiss quarried, and is known as " Pine Orchard grit." East- 
ward from this place is a large bed of black mica, associated 
with a little granulas quartz. It is on the roadside. The 
road is cut through a granite vein. The rocks are of a 
primary class, consisting of gneiss, mica slate and granite. 

Quartz is found in various forms in this town, and it is 
capable of being used in different ways. It is a very valuable 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 97 

substance, as it serves to form the basis of glass, which is 
composed of this mineral melted with an alkali and oxide of 
lead. In plate glass it is united with potash of lime. 

On the old road leading to Thompson, in the westerly part 
of the town, is a ledge of rocks, where one part turns around 
so decidedly as to get the name of " Elbow Rock." From the 
road the ledge is so slanting that it is easily ascended to the 
highest point. The back side is nearly precipitous many 
feet. On the ground far below are two large rocks having 
the form of coffins. 

On the so-called Eber Phetteplace farm, now owned by 
Mr. Benoni Lewis, isavery large balance rock, barrel-shaped, 
weighing many tons. It is situated on the slanting side of a 
small ledge of rocks, the bottom of this rock touching on the 
ledge only in a few places. To the first look it would seem 
that a slight wind would make it roll down. Several years 
since, Mr. Phetteplace took some half-dozen of his workmen, 
with iron bars and wedges, to try to roll down the large rock. 
At first the task looked an easy one, but after hours of all the 
skill and strength they were able to use, no change could be 
made. There the rock still remains, and is spoken of by 
persons who have visited the notable rock on the east shore 
of Lake Memphremagog, as about an equal curiosity. 



FREEMEN. 

Freemen admitted from the town of Glocester, at Newport, 
from the time it was set off from Providence, from 1732 to 
1 760 : 

Admitted May, 1732. James King, Jr., John Hogg, Wait 
Smith, Andrew Brown, Daniel Walling, David Thornton, 
Cornelius Walling, Preserved Herndeen, William Coman, 
Amariah Harris, Jonathan Olney-, Michel Inman, Job Phette- 
place, Richard Steere, William Walling, and David Bur- 
lingame. 

1733. Charles Waterman, Philip Phetteplace, Jonathan 
13 



98 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

Vallet, Zorobabe] Cooper, Elisha Eacly, David Ross, William 
Coman, Samuel Gary, Jr., and Benjamin Keech. 

1735. James Blackmore, Joshua Hall, Silas Tucker, John 
Page, Peregrene Matheson, Thomas Cooper, Moses Cooper, 
Isaiah Inman, Jr., Stephen Shelton, Joseph Eady, Jonathan 
Richardson, Jr., Isaac Richardson, Jeremiah Sweet and 
Thomas Wood. 

1736. Jonathan Wade, Nathan Wade, Jonathan Eady, 
Edward Evans, Jonathan Irons, Obadiah Jenks, Jr., Joseph 
Cary, Daniel Sweet, Moses Bartlett, Daniel Aldrich and 
Edward Inman, Jr. 

1737. Francis Whitmore, John Marsh, Joseph Pettingill, 
James Bloyce, Job Pray, David Phillips, Joseph Hix, John 
Sly, John Keech, Jr., and Benjamin Macintire. 

1738. Daniel Bartlett, Stephen Paine, Jr., Miles Sly,Elisha 
Herenden, Jr., Richard Hayward, Eleazer Marsh, Ephraim 
Marsh, Obadiah Bowen, William Keech, Jr., William Colwell^ 
Edward Davis, Daniel Hix, James Harris, Ichabod Bumpus, 
Eliphalet Eady, Benjamin Keech, Jr., and Isaac Benson. 

1739. Samuel Short, David Ross, David Ross, Jr., Stephen 
Smith, John Benson, John Jencks, Jei-emiah Irons, John 
Inman, Anthony Steere, John Hunt and Abraham Inman. 

1740. Elijah Inman and John Daley. 

1 74 1. Benjamin Smith. 

1742. Thomas Field, Abner Bartlet and Hezekiah 
Mitchell. 

1743. Elisha Cooke, Morris Tucker, Silas Williams, Dan- 
iel Smith and Timothy Wilmarth. 

1744. Eliphalet Weight, William Herenden, John Grover, 
Thomas Knowlton, John Davis, Elias Smith, Noah Arnold, 
Obadiah Inman, John Whipple, Ebenezer Darling, James 
Cowen, George Bumpus, Eliphalet Eddy, Ebenezer How- 
ard, Benjamin Phetteplace, Noah Aldrich, Jonathan Cutler, 
Stephen Smith, Jr., and Nathaniel Man. 

1745. Henry Shippey, Joseph Shippey, Job Bartlet, Rob- 
ert Colwell, Edward Bishop and John Chilson. 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 99 

1746. Zachariah Jenckes, Jeremiah Steere, Jonah Steere, 
Richard Plummer, Joseph Grover, Benjamin Comings, Sam- 
uel Short, Jr., Enos Grover, Nehemiah Bellows, Jr., Abraham 
Smith, John Allen, Isaac Hicks and Peleg Chace. 

1757. Edward Davis, Joseph Phillips, Charles Polluck, Jon- 
athan Phetteplace, Joram Kynion, John Walling, Stephen 
Baker, Abraham Inman, David Blackman, Ebenezer Aldrich, 
Daniel Owen, Abraham Waterman, Jonathan Smith, Corne- 
lius Haven, Obadiah Brown, Benjamin Barril, Daniel Wheel- 
ock, Daniel Howard, Isaiah Hernden, John Page, John Bushee, 
Nehemiah Lewis, Richard Tucker, Preserved Hernden, Steph- 
en Grover, Andrew Phillips, Enoch Smith, David Phillips and 
Orial Inman. 

1758. William Coman, Jr., Richard Eddy, Samuel Steere, 
John Hambleton, Uriah Hawkins, William Dean, Anthony 
Place, Stephen Steere, Oliver Arnold, Zephaniah Andrevi's, 
James Leonard and Joseph Keech. 

1759. Abraham Fairfield, Silas Cook, Abraham Saun- 
ders, Zebedee Hopkins, Jr., William Aldrich, Nathaniel 
Blackmar, Joseph Shippey, Jeremiah Phillips, William Col- 
well, Jr., William Bishop, Abraham Baker, Moses Bowdish, 
Nathaniel Bowdish, Joseph Page, Jr., Samuel Salsbury, John 
Andrews, Jedadiah Sprague, Stephen Salsbury, John Burdick, 
Joseph Ross, Asa Kimball, and John Andrews, son of John. 

1760. Enos Eddy, Elijah Hawkins, Hosanna Brown, Jr., 
Joseph Harris, William Dean, John Grover, Edward Carpen- 
ter, Charles Aldrich, Dudley Wade, Samuel Thornton, Paul 
Wheelock, William Martin, John Barns, Benajah Whipple, 
Eleazer Bowen, Jacob Walling, John Walling, Jr., John Agin- 
ton, Isaac Benson, Edward Inman, Joseph Barns, Benoni 
Tucker, Arnold Lewis, Jesse Brown and Thomas Thornton. 

FAMILIES IN GLOCESTER IN 1774. 

The following is a record of the names of families in the 
town of Glocester in June, A. D. 1774; taken by order of 
the General Assembly : 



lOO HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

Charles Alclrich, Joseph Alclrich, Joseph Aldrich, Jr., Ste- 
phen Aldrich, John Andrew, John Allen, Widow Andrews* 
Noah Aldrich, David Arnold, Stephen Aldrich, Jr., Widow 
Armstrong (5 children), Caleb Arnold, William Arnold, Gid- 
eon Arnold, Noah Arnold, Jr., Israel Arnold, Nathaniel 
Andrews, Nedabiah Angell, Ebenezer Aldrich. 

Andrew Brown, Elisha Brown, Jr., Jesse Brown, Obadiah 
Brown, Elisha Brown, David Bowdish, Nathaniel Bowdish, 
Moses Bowdish, Gideon Burgis, William Bowen, Benjamin 
Burgis, John Bushee, Nathaniel Blackmar, Joseph Barnes, 
Jobe Benson, Jeremiah Ballon, Daniel Ballou, Joseph Ballou, 
Nehemiah Ballou, Seth Ballou, Daniel Barnes, Widow 
Barnes, Joseph Barnes, Jr., John Baker, Thomas Burlin- 
game. Widow Baker, Abraham Baker, Stephen Baker, John 
Baker, Stephen Bowen, William Bishop, Richard Bart- 
let, David Ballou, Hezekiah Bowen, Widow Bowen, Ezra 
Bowen, H. Bowen, Mathew Barnes, Elezer Bowen, George 
Bowen, Stephen Blackmar, Ichobod Bollard, Abner Black- 
man, Nedabiah Brown, James Blackmar, Stephen Ballou, 
Jeremiah Bollard, Jr., William Bussey, Chad Brown, Ho- 
sanna H. Brown, Daniel Brown, Edward Bishop, Thomas 
Bishop, Elezer Ballou, David Burlinggame, Benedict Burling- 
game, Widow Burlinggame, Obadiah Brown, Jr., Ezra Bart- 
let, Caleb Bartlet, Benjamin Barnes, Ezekiel Burlingame, 
Jeremiah Brown, Israel Brown, James Bloss, Elisha Bartlet, 
Ezekiel Brown, Joseph Basset, George Brown, Benjamin 
Brown, James Brown, Obadiah Batton. 

Moses Cooper, William Coman, Robert Colwell, Benjamin 
Cowen, James Cole, Widow Cooke, Samuel Cooke, Richard 
Clemence, Sylvanus Cooke, Thomas Collens, John Coller, 
William Colwell, Jr., Silas Cooke, Gideon Cooke, Elijah 
Cooke, Stephen Coper, Coggshall Chace, Henry Clarke, Eli- 
jah Cooke, Israel Cooke, Israel Chilson, Jeremiah Comstock, 
Esek Comstock, Samuel Comstock, Elezer Grossman, Peter 
Grossman, Thomas Curtis, Widow Curtis, Israel Comstock, 
William Colwell, Moses Cooper, Jr., Joseph Cowen, John 
Cowen, James Cowen, Samuel Clarke, Samuel Cutler, Solo- 
mon Cutler, Widow Cole. 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. lOI 

Peleg Dexter, John Dexter, Gideon Daley, John Durfey, 
James Durfey, Edward Davis, Joseph Davis, Andrew Dar- 
ling, John Davis, David Darling, Ebenezer Darling, Antho- 
ney Dyer, Jeremiah Dexter. 

Enos Eddy, Widow Eddy, Jemima Eddy (widow), Jona- 
than Eddy, Jonathan Eddy, Jr., John Eddy, Gideon Eddy, 
Joseph Eddy, Jr., Joseph Eddy, ; Enoch Eddy, Zachariah 
Eddy, Daniel Eddy, Abner Eates, William Eddy, Eliphelet 
Eddy, John Edgenton, Obadiah Esten. 

Charles Field, John Fenner, Abraham Fairfield. 

Elisha Greene, Elisha Greene, Jr., Peter Greene, William 
Greene, David Greene. 

Andrew Herendeen, William Herendeen, Zebedee Hopkins, 
William Hawkins, Amaziah Harris, Jonathan Harris, Zebe- 
dee Hopkins, Jr., Joseph Harris, Thomas Herrendeen, Elisha 
Harris, Dan Hix, Henry Head, Thomas Howland, Samuel 
Heldrick, Benjamin Hawkins, Uriah Hawkins, William 
Hawkins, Jr., Samuel Howland, Cornelius Havens, William 
Heerendeen, John Howland, John Howland, Jr., William 
Howland, Ozial Hopkins, Jabish Hopkins, Seth Hopkins, 
Elijah Hawkins, David Hill, David Hopkins, Elisha Hop- 
kins, Isaac Hix, Luther Hix, Othnial Herrendeen, William 
Harvey, Jonathan Harris, Jr., Israel Herrendeen, Solomon 
Herrendeen, Levi Herrendeen, WiUiam Hill, Isiah Her- 
rendeen, Preserved Herrendeen, Eliab Herrendeen, Seth 
Hunt, John Hunt, John Hunt, Jr., Frances Hambelton. 

Thomas Irons, Elisha Inman, Jr., John Ide, Elisha Inman, 
Samuel Inman, Elisha Inman, 3d, Abraham Inman, Ezekiel 
Inman, Edward Inman, Samuel Irons, Jr., Jeremiah Irons, 
Jr., Israel Inman, John Inman, David Inman, Samuel Irons, 
Stephen Irons, Resolved Irons, Ozial Inman, William Irons, 
Jonathan Irons. 

John Jenks, Jr., John Jenks, Jonathan Jillson. 
Zephaniah Keech, Christopher Keech, John Kimball, 
James King, Paul Knapp, Benjamin Killy, Stephen Keech, 
Sylvanus Keech, Joseph Keech, Manariah Killy, Asa Kim- 
bell, Jorem Kimbell, Nathan Kinyon, Jesse Keech. 

Abiah Luther, James Leonard, Arnold Lewis, Solomon 



102 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

Lapham, Jethro Lapham, Obadiah Lewis, Vinten Lewis, 
James Lewis, Joseph Lasuer, Nehemiah Lewis, Richard 
Lewis. 

Peregreen Matheson, Gideon Mo wry, Thomas Mowry, Jr., 
Jacob Mowry, Jeremiah Merethew, Noah Miller, Rufus 
Mackintier, John Mitchel, John Matheson, Edward Mitchel, 
John Matheson, Thomas Mowry, Joshua Matheson, Nero 
Matheson, Jno. Matheson, Simeon Macintier, Rufus Macin- 
tier, Jr., Samuel May, Widow Melavery, Zephaniah Mowry, 
Daniel Matheson, Experience Mitchel, John Mitchel, Jr., 
Daniel Mitchel, Andrew Man, Micajah Moffit, Enoch Moffet, 
Jonathan Mitchel, Zuriel Mitchel, Daniel Man, William 
Martin, James Martain, Ezekiel Mitchel, Gideon Marten, 
Reuben Mason. 

Thomas Owen, Daniel Owen, Solomon Owen, Joseph 
Olney, John Olney. 

Jobe Phetteplace, Samuel Potter, John Phillips, Adam 
Phillips, Great Jeremiah Phillips, William Phillips, Jer.emiah 
Phillips, 3d, Joseph Place, Daniel Place, Henry Polluck, 
Marke Peters, Nathan Pain, Nathan Pain, Jr., Stephen Pain, 
Samuel Phetteplace, David Phillips, Jeremiah Phillips, Jr., 
Ephraim Phillips, Joshua Phillips, Andrew Phillips, David 
Phillips, Jr., Benjamin Phetteplace, Samuel Phetteplace, Jr., 
Jonathan Phetteplace, John Place, John Page, William Page, 
James Page, Resolved Phetteplace, John Phetteplace, Eph- 
raim Pearce, Joseph Page, William Page, Jr., Abel Potter, 
Joseph Phillips, Peter Place, Nathan Place, Stephen Place, 
Charles Polluck, Stephen Pain, Jr., Benjamin Pain, Richard 
Plumer, Simeon Place. 

William Raymond, Nathaniel Raymond, Israel Raymond, 
Samuel Ross, Samuel Ross, Jr., John Ross, William Ross, 
Joseph Ross, Isaac Ross, Jothum Round, Widow Richard- 
son, Seth Richmond, David Richmond, George Round, 
Isaac Richardson, David Richardson, 

Rufus Smith, John Smith, Aholiab Smith, Widow Smith, 
John Smith (son of Benj.), Arnold Smith, Ezekiel Smith, 
Edward Salsbury, David Salsbury, Benjamin Smith, Enos 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. IO3 

Smith, Ezekiel Sayles, Wait Smith, Obed Smith, Stephen 
Smith, Joseph Smith, Joseph Smith, Jr., Jonas Sprague, 
Richard Sprague, Stephen Sanders, Peter Shippe, Jonah 

Steere, Simon Smith, Slocum, Hosea Steere, John 

Steere, Enoch Steere, Noah Steere, Leonard Smith, Esek 
Shelton, James Sweet, James Sweet, Jr., Richard Smith, 
Esek Smith, Widow Steere, David Steere, Abraham Smith, 
Isaac Smith, Stephen Smith, Jr., Abraham Sanders, Othnial 
Sanders, Robert Sanders, Henry Sanders, Stephen Salsbury, 
Samuel Sprague, Samuel Steere, Jonathan Smith, Timothy 
Sweet, Ezra Stone, Christopher Shippe, Christopher Shippe, 
Jr., Joseph Smith (son of Samuel), John Streeter, Samuel 
Short, John Short, Oliver Stone, Jobe Smith, Jeremiah 
Sanders, Elkanah Shirmon, Thomas Shippe, Stephen Shippe, 
Jahalel Smith, Jobe Steere, Simeon Steere, Jeremiah Steere, 
Jeremiah Sweet, Joseph Shippe, Henry Shippe, Richard 
Steere, Stephen Steere, Caleb Sheldon, John Smith, Jr., 
Widow Sarah Smith, Stephen Smith, Israel Smith, Jeremiah 
Smith, Jedadiah Sprague, John Straite, Israel Sayles, Martin 
Smith. 

Richard Tucker, Benoni Tucker, Silas Tucker, Ebenezer 
Thornton, Rufus Tucker, John Thornton, William Turner, 
Samuel Thornton, William Tourtellot, Jesse Tourtellot, 
Daniel Tourtellot, Hasekiah Tinkcom, Abner Tucker, John J. 
Thornton, Benjamin Thornton, Ichabod Thompson, Benja- 
min Tourtellot, Jeremiah Thornton, Abraham Tourtellot, 
Joseph Thornton, Abraham Thayer, Levi Thornton. 

William Vinsent, William Vincent, Jr., David Vallet, Jon- 
athan Vallet. 

Nathan Wade, Jonathan Wade, William Wade, Nathaniel 
Wade, Gideon Wade, John Williams, William Williams, 
Joseph Winsor, Abraham Winsor, Amos Winsor, Christo- 
pher Winsor, Anan Winsor, Charles Winsor, Benjamin War- 
ner, Benjamin Warner, Jr., Benajah Whipple, Silas Williams, 
Reuben Williams, Thomas Williams, Nathan Wood, Daniel 
Walter, William Wilkinson, John Woodard, Timothy Wil- 
marth, Timothy Wilmarth, Jr., Asa White, Abraham Water- 



104 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

man, Elijah Whipple, Cornelius Walling, Jeremiah Walling, 
Douglass White, Noah Wood, Thomas Wall, Jacob Walling, 
Isaac Walling, John Walling, Widow Walling, Daniel Whe- 
lock, Daniel Whelock, Jr., Noah Whitman, Noah White, Jon- 
athan Whipple, Stephen Winsor, Widow Williams, John 
Whipple, Thomas Wood, Widow Wood, Jerah Wilcox, Enoch 
Whipple. 

Names of some old families that have passed away since 
the Revolution : 

Oliver Aldrich, Elijah Armstrong, James Aldrich, Jesse 
Armstrong, John Aldrich, Job Armstrong, Scot Armstrong, 
William Armstrong. 

Chad Brown, Olney Brown, Esek Brown, Andrew Brown, 
Sayles Brown, Nicholas Brown. 

Benjamin Cowin, James Cowin, Stephen Cowin, John 
Capron, Cyrus Cooke, Horatio Cooke, Cyril Cooke, Richard 
Clemence, Hezekiah Cady. 

Anthony Dyer. 

Daniel Evans, Duty Evans, Ira P. Evans, Stephen Eddy, 
Amasa Eddy. 

Jeptha Hunt, John Hawkins, Pardon Hunt. 

Stephen Irons, Samuel Irons, Samuel Irons, Samuel Irons, 
Resolved Irons, Laban Irons, Dexter Irons, Paris Irons, 
Nathan Irons, Colwell Irons. 

Kimball, Horace Kimball, Nicholas Keech, Stephen 

Keech, Jeremiah Keech. 

Jonathan Lackey. 

Thomas Owen, Arnold Owen, Daniel Owen, Solomon 
Owen, Daniel Owen, Ora Owen. 

Benjamin Paine, Stephen Paine, Samuel Potter, Arnold 
Phetteplace, Clark Phetteplace, Dexter Phetteplace. 

Deacon Asa Steere, Samuel Steere, Joseph Sweet, Tim- 
othy Sweet, Solomon Sweet, Jeremiah Sweet, Jeremy 
Sweet, Enoch Steere, Clark Steere, Otis Sayles, Jeremiah 
Sheldon, Chad Sayles, Ahab Sayles, Welcome Sayles, Silas 
Saunders, John Sprague, James Sprague, Smith Sprague, 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTEK. IO5 

George Sprague, Jcdediah Sprague, William Sprague, Rich- 
ard Steere, Stephen Steere, Mark Steere, Mark Steere, Smith 
Steere, Asel Steere, Oliver Smith, Mowry Smith, Thomas 
Smith. 

William Waterman, Square Williams, William Winsor, 
Obadiah Winsor, Samuel Winsor, Joseph Winsor, Elisha 
Winsor, Jeptha Winsor, Benjamin White. 

The number of families in Glocester, taken by the census 
in 1885, was 475. Number of houses, 473 ; number of acres 
in the farm for the poor, 90. 

TAXPAYERS IN GLOCESTER IN 1885. 

Names of persons living in Glocester that were taxed for 
real or personal property in 1885 : 

Moses Aldrich's heirs, Benjamin B. Aldrich, George M. 
Allen, William Allen, Jesse Angell, Manning H. Angell and 
wife, James A. Angell, Elijah Armstrong, Warren O. Arnold 
and wife, Anna Arnold's heirs, Charles Aylesworth, Lydia 
A. Armstrong, Edward Atkinson, George Alderwick. 

Francis M. Baker, Mary E. Baker, Amasa Baker, Jesse P. 
Ballou, Albert Barnes and wife, Richard Barnes, Charles 
Barnes, Polly Barnes' heirs, Louisa M. Barnes, William 
Barry, Drusila Bates, Mary Babbitt, Alba Bellows, Bowditch 
Reservoir Company, Andrew Brown, William Brown, Laban 
Brown, F:iisha Brown, Henry T. Brown, Maria A. Brown, 
Eugene D. Brown and wife, James B. Brown, Oscar M. Brown, 
Reuben J. Brown, Elisha M. Brown, Henry C. Brown, Nancy 
Brown's heirs, Amasa Burlingame, William P. and George 
M. Burlingame, Benedict A. Burlingame. Samuel S. Burgess, 
Albert Bucklin, Francis H. Buxton, Thomas Bresette. 

Clinton A. Capron, Joseph H. Cady, James M. Carpenter, 
Elias Carpenter and wife. Low Carpenter, Michael Carroll, 
Dana W. Capron, Ellery N. Carder, Mary Clark, John S. 
Clark, William Clegg, Daniel P. Clemence, Reuben A. Clem- 
ence, Richard M. Clemence, Daniel M. Clemence, Leonard 
S. Clemence, Angelina Clemence, George A. Colwell, Ray- 
14 



I06 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

mond p. Colwell and wife, Joseph Cole, Corliss Coman, 
David Coman, Nelson D. Coman's heirs, James B. Coman, 
Margaret Conlan, Marvin J. Converse, Jr., Edward O. Cooke 
and wife, Edward S. Cook, Michael A. Cook, John G. 
Cook, Silas L. Cook, Percy E. Cook, James Corbin, Amey 
Cornell, John Coughlin, Jr., William Couton, Louis Couton, 
Francis J. Crawford, William A. Cushman and wife, James 
N. Cutler, Samuel B. Cutler and wife, George E. Cutting 
and wife, Elizabeth Curtis. 

Albert S. Daggett, Sydney C. Daniels, Dexter Davis' heirs, 
Paris O. Davis, Susan Daggett, Elisha Daggett, Hannah L. 
Dawley, John Donnelly, Henry R. Dexter, Ellen Dowdell, 
Cornelius and Bridget Drury, Richard C. Durfee and wife, 
Frank Dumas, Francis Dunn. 

Sophia Eastman, Arnold Eddy and wife, James A. Eddy 
and wife, George Eddy and wife's heirs, Betsey Eddy, Hiram 
J. Eddy, Stephen A. Eddy, Henry E. Eddy, John M, Eddy, 
Thomas J. Eddy, Arthur Eddy, Mary B. Eddy, Fanny M. 
Eddy, Alexander Eddy, Owen Eddy, Eugene F. Eddy, Maria 
Evans, Mason N. Evans, James S. Evans and wife, Amey M. 
Evans. 

Cyrus Farnum, Cyrus A. Farnum's heirs, Charles M. Far- 
num and wife, Harris S. Farnum and wife, John A. Farnum, 
Charles W. Farnum, 2d, William Ferguson and wife, Frank- 
lin Bank, James Fricker, Artemus Fuller and wife, Ann T. J. 
Fiske, Friendship Lodge. 

Daniel C. Gleason, Arnold N. Gory's heirs, Sarah J. Gory, 
Allen N. Gory, Adeline E. Graves, William H. Graves, Oliver 
Green, William Green and wife, William C. Green, Thomas 
M. Green, James H. Greenhalgh, John Gross, 'Jr., Stilman 
Gross. 

George A. Harris, M. D., Albert A. Harrington and wife, 
Lydia A. Harrington, James Harrington's heirs, James B. 
Hammond, Nancy H. Hammond, Franklin B. Ham, William 
Hancock and wife, William W. Hawkins, Jr., Ayllette R. 
Hawkins and wife, George Hawkins, Henry A. Hawkins, 
Allen Hawkins, Allen and Henry A. Hawkins, Robert B, 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 10/ 

Hawkins, Hawkins and Houghton, Ara Hawkins and wife, 
John W. Hawkins, Irving B. Hawkins, William Hawkins, Jer- 
emiah Hawkins, Philip W. Hawkins, Joshua Hill, Joseph H. 
Holbrook and wife, Margaret J. Holden, Thomas Hopkins, 
George O. Hoj^kins and wife, Joseph H. Hopkins, John Hopp, 
Merrick Houghton and wife, Andrew J. Hubbard, Alexander 
Houghton, Louis H. Houghton. 

Sterling S. Irons, Stephen C. Irons, Thomas Irons, Betsey 
and Ruth T. Irons, Esten B. Irons, Henry D. Irons, Charles 
H. Irons, Joseph H. Irons. 

Hiram E. Johnston and wife. 

Benjamin Keech, Nelson M. Keech, Francis J. Keech, 
Emily J. King, Edward J. King, Michael Killon and wife, 
Edwin C. Kelley and wife, Reuben Knight, Louisa Knight. 

Enos Lapham, Clemont Robossiere, James W. Laney, 
George W. Latham and wife, Clarissa Lawrence, Nelson A. 
Law, Ernest F. Law, John R. Lee, George A. Lee, Benoni 
Lewis, Henry Lewis and wife, John B. Lincoln, John Long 
and wife, Calvin Luther, John C. Luther, Adelia Luther, 
Aldana Lyon, Edward L. Leveck. 

Alfred H. and Hannah Martin, Patrick McGunigle, Joseph 
C. Medbury's heirs, Allen Medbury, John Miller, John A. 
Mills, Frank P. Mitchell and wife, James N. Mitchell, Eliza 
A. Mitchell, Calvary Mitchell, Benjamin C. Mitchell and 
wife, Atwell MowTy's heirs, Randall Mowry, Seth Mowry, 
Mahala Mowry, Daniel Mowry, Oscar S. Mowry, George A. 
Mowry and wife, George T. Mowry, Albert J. Mowry and 
wife, Samuel O. Mowry. 

Edwin M. Neff and wife. 

James B. Olney, James Olney, Walter M. Olney, George 
L. Owen, James M. Owen, Laura A. Owen, Susan Owen, 
Charles O'Reilly. 

Joseph Page, Maria Page's heirs, Abigail Page, Alba S. 
Page, John H. Paine, Squire M. Paine, Dorcas Paine, Mathe-' 
son Paine's heirs, Dennis Paine, Daniel M. Paine and wife, 
William R. Parkhurst, John Peckham's heirs, George H. 
Peckham and wife, Albert S. Peckham, A. S. and G. H. 



I08 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

Peckham, James Peckham, Joseph Perkins, Harley Phillips 
and wife, Michael Phillips, Clark Phetteplace's heirs, Edward 
L. Phetteplace, Hiram Phetteplace, Horatio N. F. Place, 
Allen S. Place, Charles R. Place and wife, William N. Place, 
Lewis M. Place and wife, James M. Place and wife, Calvin 
Place, Edward Place, Welcome Place, Harley Place and wife, 
Marvin Plummer and wife, Isabella Potter, William A. Potter, 
Albert Potter, M. D., Charles Potter, Benjamin Poole, Pona- 
ganset Reservoir Co., Esias Pray, Eddy Pray, Richard Pray, 
Jeremiah Pray, Amasa Potter, Amey Pray. 

Charles H. Randall, Henry A. Randall, Walter A. Read, 
Laura A. Owen, James Reynolds, Albert Reynolds, William 
H. Richardson, William B. Richardson and wife, Horace 
Richmond and wife's heirs, Lawton C. Rounds and wife, Gil- 
bert Rounds, Michael Reily. 

Joseph Sarle, Frances E. Sabin, Leonard Sayles, Henry A. 
Sayles, Henry A. Salsbury, Mercy Saunders, Albert R. Saun- 
ders, Dexter A. Saunders, George A. Saunders and wife, 
Albert H. Saunders, William A. Sanford and wife, Smith 
Saunders, Barton W. Saunders, Isaac A. Saunders, Atwell W. 
Saunders, Peter A. Sebille, Almeda Simonds, Charles E. Shaw 
and wife, Jeremiah Sheldon and wife, Sydney I. Sherman 
Adin Sherman, Clinton Shippee, Olive and Anna M. Shippe, 
William B. Shippee, Adin S. Shippee, Isaac C. Shippee, Almira 
Sisson, Felix Slavin, Felix S. Slavin, Lydia S. Slocum, Edwin 
Smith and wife, Albert C. G. Smith, Albert H. Smith, Byron 
A. Smith, Carlton G. Smith, George C. Smith, Sarah J. 
Smith, Marietta Smith, Maria N. Smith, Ann Smith, Martha 
Smith, Emor Smith's heirs, Abby V. Smith, Coomer G. 
Smith, Anson Smith, E. D. Smith, Russell M. Smith, Chad 
A. Sprague, Francis Sprague, Jedadiah Sprague, Miranda A. 
Sprague, Anthony Sprague, Jenckes A. Sprague, John A. 
Staples, William W. Steere and H. W. Paine, Silas Steere, 
Horace S. Steere and wife, Fred. Steere, Thomas W. Steere 
(for wife), William T. Steere, Smith Steere's heirs, Ora ¥. 
Steere, Enoch Steere, Job Steere, Charles H. Steere, A. A. 
M. Steere's heirs, Susan T. Steere, Joseph Steere, Henry W. 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. IO9 

Steere, Lucy L. Steere, Seth H. Steere's heirs, Ira W. Steere 
and wife, Samuel Steere, Harris Steere, Clovis W. Steere 
and wife, Smith A. Steere, George VV. Steere, Oliver Steere, 
George W. Steere, Jr., William H. Steere, Oliver W. Steere, 
Andrew J. Steere, William C. Steere, Harriet Stone, 
Lyman B. Stone, Andrew L. Stone, Sayles Streeter and wife, 
Fannie E. Sweet, Darling E. Sweet's heirs, Nathan Sweet, 
Jesse B. Sweet, Thomas P. Sweet's heirs, Simeon Sweet, 
Timothy D. Sweet, Mary Sweet. 

Norreddin Taft and wife, Richard B. Taft, Henry R. Taft, 
Edmund M. Taft, Henry S. Taylor, William S. Taylor, Amy 
P. Thorp, Nehemiah Tinkham, William C. Tourtellot, Caleb 
E. Tucker's heirs, Robert S. Tucker, George A. Tucker and 
wife, George N. and George A. Turner, William Tunmore. 

Edwin J. Valentine. 

Anan W. Wade, James F. Wade, Esek O. Wade, Samuel 
W. Wade and wife, Robert H. Wade, Charles A. Wade, Na- 
thaniel B. Wade, Patrick Wall, John Wall, James M. Water- 
man, Samuel Waldron's heirs, Ruth Waldron, Nancy Welman, 
Edwin Westcott, Robert H. West, Mary B. White, Charles L. 
Whipple, Henry C. White, Everett W. White, Benjamin 
White and wife, William H. White, George N. White, Benja- 
min A. Winsor, A. L. and Mary E. Williams, Alphonso P. 
Williams and wife, Emily J. Winsor, John Wilkinson, Jr., 
Joseph Woodhead's heirs, Joshua Woodhead. 

NON-RESIDENT TAXPAYERS. 

Clarence A. Aldrich, Samuel W. Aldrich, Gilbert Aldrich, 
William P. Angell, George A. Atwood, Daniel O. Angell, 
Joshua Angell, James Arnold, James Andrews, Byron A. 
Andrews, Albert M. Armstrong, Nelson Armstrong, Allen 
Austin. 

Job Ballou and wife, S. C. and B. Fenner Baker, Isaac 
Ballard, Thomes Barnes, Albert E. Barnes, Nelson Barnes 
and wife, Seth Babbitt, William Bowen and wife, Alden 
S. Bowen, Nancy Bowen, Clovis H. Bowen's heirs, Edward 
S. Bowen, Cyrus Brown, Amey Brown, Isaac Brown, J. O. 



I lO HISTORY OF GLOCESTEK. 

W. Brown, Allen Brown, George W. Brown, Casius C. Brown, 
William R. Brown, David Brayton, Stephen J. Buffum, Asie 
A. E. Branch. 

Nell D. Cady, Alva Chase, George L. Chace, Chestnut Hill 
Reservoir Company, William Camm and wife, William H. 
Clark, Ora Clemence, Stephen H. Clemence, Joseph B. Cook, 
Amos W. Cook, Charles D. W. Cooper, Henry Covil, Thomas 
Cole. 

E. Darling, William Dexter' s heirs, Leonard K. Durfee. 
Richard A. Eddy, James P. Eddy and wife, William Eddy, 

Ira P. Evans, Jr., heirs, Duty Evans, Elisha O. Evans, Duty 
Evans estate. 

Edwin Farnum, Henry Fenner. 

LibeusGaskill's heirs, Olney Goodspeed, George W. Graves, 
Ray Green's heirs. 

Albert A. Harris, Albert A. Hawkins, Lydia A. Hawkins, 
William Hanover, William W. Hawkins, Stephen P. Henry, 
David O. Hopkins, George F. Hopkins, Annie C. Hill, Aaron 
Horton. 

Otis M. Irons and wife, Oliver H. Ide. 

F. L. Keach, Horace A. Kimball, Charles Kimball and 
wife, Joseph Keach, Iscah Keach. 

Simon S. Lapham, James Legg & Co., Harley Luther's heirs. 

Parley M. Matheson, Orin Matheson, David Mason, Sophy 
Martin, Sylvestere Mclntyre, Sarah W. Miller, Harley 
Mowry and wife, Simon Mowry, Thomas Mowry, David A. 
Mowry, Cyrus H. Mowry and wife, Warren Mofifit. 

Henry C. Newall and wife. 

Joseph Oatly, Stephen Olney, Cynthia P. Olney, Job 
Owen and wife, Thomas Owen and wife's heirs, John A. 
Owen. 

Henry J. Paine and wife. Ransom Painc's heirs, Pascoag 
Reservoir Company, John F. Pitts, William H. Poole, A. F, 
Potter and wife. Prince A. Potter, Earle Potter and wife, 
Elisha Peter's heirs. 

Malory Reynolds, Lafayette Reynolds and wife, Samuel 
Reynold's heirs, Ezra Round, Lowell D. Ross. 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. Ill 

David W. Sampson and wife, Sylvester Sayles, Sabine 
Sayles, Alonzo 13. Shippee, Augustus Shippee George W. 
Smart, Nathaniel P. Smith, Andrew J. Smith, Freelove Smith, 
Artemas Smith, Daniel M. Smith, John Smith, Mowry Smith's 
heirs, John M. Smith, Francis Sprague, Ziba O. Slocum, 
Robert Steere, Clark Steere's heirs, Henry J. Steere, Job F. 
Steere, Simon S. Steere, Catherine Steere, Stephen Steere, 
Hiram Stone, Mary L. Sweet, Solomon S. Sweet, Angel S. 
Sweet. 

C. Tucker, Daniel Thornton's heirs, Squire Thurber's heirs, 
Abram Tourtellot and wife, Charles Tucker, George A. 
Tucker. 

Alba Wade, Asahel Waterman, Charles H. Whipple, Dan- 
iel S. Whipple's heirs, John Whipple, Abbie L. Whipple, 
Alfred A. White, Otis Williams, Eliza V. Winsor, William 
Winsor, Harris Wood's heirs, James R. Wood, Simon Wood- 
ell, Woonasquatucket Reservoir Company (David Young, 
and A. Horton). 

Nathan Young. 

JUSTICES OF PEACE IN GLOCESTER. 

177;. John Pray (son of Benjamin), Jonathan Harris, Zcb- 
edee Hopkins, Timothy Wilmarth, Stephen Winsor, Nathaniel 
Wade, Jesse Winsor, John Pray. 

1780. Zebedee Hopkins, John Smith (son of Benjamin), 
Timothy Wilmarth, Stephen Winsor, Nathaniel Wade, Samuel 
Winsor and Jesse Winsor. 

1 791. Zebedee Hopkins, John Smith (son of Benjamin), 
Timothy Wilmarth, Stephen Winsor, Nathaniel Wade, Samuel 
Winsor, Jesse Winsor, Seth Hunt, Richard Steere, Jr., Israel 
Cooke. 

1803. Zebedee Hopkins, Timothy Wilmarth, Nathaniel 
Wade, Samuel Winsor, William Arnold, Bezeleel Paine, Sim- 
eon Steere, John Easton, Jr., and James Olney. 

1806. Nathaniel Wade, Samuel Winsor, Bezeleel Paine, 
Simeon Steere, John Easton, Jr., James Olney, Thomas 
Owen, Jr., Cyrus Cooke, Jesse Tourtellot. 



112 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

1808. Nathaniel Wade, Samuucl Winsor,, Cyrus Cooke, 
Stephen Wilmarth, Abraham Baker, Jesse Tourtellot, Elijah 
Armstrong, Joseph Cady, Jr. 

181 1. Samuel Winsor, Jesse Tourtellot, Thomas Owen, 
Elijah Armstrong, Levi Brown, Stukely Turner. 

1812. Thomas Owen, Elijah Armstrong, John Greene, 
James Wilder, Job Armstrong, David Richmond. 

18 1 3. The same as 181 2. 

1814. Thomas Owen, Jr., Elijah Armstrong, William 
Steere, John Greene, James Wilder, Job Armstrong, David 
Richmond, Darius Smith, Eleazer Bellows. 

1815. The same as 1814. 

1816. Thomas Owen, Jr., Elijah Armstrong, James Wilder, 
Job Armstrong, David Richmond, Eleazer Bellows, George 
Smith, William Steere, Jr., John Hawkins, William Wood, 
William Andrews. 

1817. Thomas Owen, Jr., Elijah Armstrong, Job Arm- 
strong, David Richmond, George Smith, John Hawkins, 
William Wood, Anan Evans, Thomas Matheson. 

18 1 8. Stephen Wilmarth, Mowry Smith, Samuel Steere, 
Edmund T. Waldron, Hezekiah Cady, Ziba Olney, John Haw- 
kins. 

1 8 19. Samuel Steere, Edmund T. Waldron, Hezekiah 
Cady, Ziba Olney, John Hawkins, Isaac Wade, David 
Arnold. 

1820. Samuel Steere, Edmund T. Waldron, Hezekiah 
Cady, Ziba Olney, John Hawkins, Amasa Eddy, Isaac Wade, 
David Arnold. 

1821. Samuel Steere, Edmund T. Waldron, Hezekiah 
Cady, John Hawkins Amasa Eddy, Jr., Isaac Wade, David 
Arnold, Mowry Smith, Zephaniah Keech, Timothy Sweet. 

1822. Mowry Smith, Edmund T. Waldron, John Haw- 
kins, Amasa Eddy, Jr., David^Arnold, Timothy Sweet, Zeph- 
aniah Keech, Jr. 

1823. Mowry Smith, Edmund T. Waldron, Amasa Eddy, 
Jr., David Arnold, Timothy Sweet, Hezekiah Cady, Daniel 
Cornell, Samuel Steere, Richard Aldrich, Daniel Evans, Jr. 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. II3 

1824. The same as last year with the addition of Abra- 
ham Baker. 

1825. Mowry Smith, Edmund T. Waldron, Amasa Eddy, 
Jr., David Arnold, Timothy Sweet, Hezekiah Cady, Daniel 
Cornell, Daniel Evans. Jr. 

1826. Mowry Smith, Edmund T. Waldron, Amasa Eddy, 
Jr., David Arnold, Timothy Sweet, Hezekiah Cady, Daniel 
Cornell, Daniel Evans, Jr. 

1827. Mowry Smith, Edmund T. Waldron, Amasa Eddy, 
Jr., David Arnold, Timothy Sweet, H. Cady, Daniel Cornell, 
Daniel Evans, Jr. 

1828. Mowry Smith, Edmund T. Waldron, Amasa Eddy, 
Jr., Hezekiah Cady, Daniel Evans, Jr 

1829. Edmund T. Waldron, Amasa Eddy, Jr., Hezekiah 
Cady, Daniel Evans, David Arnold, George Smith. 

1830. Edmund T. Waldron, Amasa Eddy, Jr., Hezekiah 
Cady, Daniel Evans, David Arnold, George Smith. 

183 1. Edmund T. Waldron, Amasa Eddy, Jr., Hezekiah 
Cady, David Arnold, George Smith, Jesse P. Ballou, Richard 
Steere. 

1832. Edmund T. Waldron, Hezekiah Cady, David Ar- 
nold, George Smith, Jesse P. Ballou. 

1833. Abram Baker, Elisha S. Winsor,^ Sabin Smith, 
Charles Wade, Nedabiah Angell, Solomon Sweet, Artemas 
Smith, Syril Steere. 

1834. Abram Baker, Elisha S. Winsor, Sabin Smith, N. 
Angell, Solomon Sweet, Artemas Smith, E. M. Aldrich, J. S. 
Tourtellot, Daniel Owen, Smith Peckham. 

1835. Edmund T. Waldron, David Arnold, John West- 
coat, George Smith, D. C. Tourtellot, Hazard P. Clark, Jesse 
S. Tourtellot, E. S. Winsor, Solomon Sweet. 

1836. A. Baker, A. Eddy, Jr., J. S. Tourtellot, Nedabiah 
Angell, Solomon Sweet, Daniel Owen, William Luther, J. C. 
Medbury, Joseph Clark, H. W. Darling, Atwell Mowry. 

1837. A. Baker, J. S. Tourtellot, B. Aldrich, H. M. Dar- 
ling, Ezekiel Brown, Isaac Wade, T. Sweet. 

1838. Elisha Winsor, Jeptha Hunt, Richard Steere, Rus- 
15 



114 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

sel Smith, Anson Smith, Welcome Sayles, A. H. Tourtellot, 
William Page. 

1839. A- Baker, E. S. Winsor, Anson Smith, William 
Page, Christopher Winsor, John Peckham. 

1840. E. Winsor, Anson Smith, Richard Aldrich, Wil- 
liam Page, Richard Steere, H. N. Cook, Russell Smith. 

1 841. Leonard Williams, Allen Hawkins. 

1842. Abram Baker, Elisha Winsor, Richard Steere, L. 
R. Williams, Anson Smith, H. N. Cooke, Daniel Owen. 

1843. Abram Baker, L. R. Williams, Anson Smith, H. 
N. Cooke, Joseph Winsor. 

1844. Abraham Baker, L. R. Williams, Anson Smith, H. 
N. Cooke. 

1845. Abram Baker, L. R. Williams, Anson Smith, Cyrus 
Cooke, Elisha S. Winsor. 

1845. Justices of the Peace were appointed under the pro- 
vision of the new Constitution for several years both by the 
State and the town, — Jesse S. Tourtellot, Charles A. Slocum, 
Jesse Phetteplace, Artemas Smith, Thomas Irons, J. W, 
Wood, Hiram Salsbury, Enos Lapham. 

1846. Jesse S. Tourtellot, Charles A. Slocum, George 
Smith, J. C. Medbury, S. Sweet. 

1847. Pardon Hunt, Abraham Baker, Charles L. Slocum, 
Benjamin White, Samuel W. Hunt, Emor Smith, Thomas 
O. Evans Daniel Owen, Ira P. Evans, Jesse Armstrong, 
Cyrus Cooke, George Olney, William R. Sprague, Samuel 
Steere, Thomas Irons, Charles H. Steere, Allen Hawkins, 
Clark Steere, John M. Eddy, Ezra Hawkins, Robert Steere, 
George Smith. 

1848. George Olney, William R. Sprague, Gridley Burn- 
ham, Samuel Steere, Thomas Irons Charles A. Slocum, 
Charles H. Steere, Ransom Paine, D. E. Sweet, Clark Steere, 
Ezra Hawkins, Robert Steere, Abram Baker. 

1849. Abram Baker, Cyrus Cooke, Emor Smith, Anson 
Smith, L. R. Williams, Rufus Eastman. 

1850. Thomas Irons, Harris W. Colwell, Ezra Hawkins, 
Gridley Burnham, Allen Hawkins, Keys Danforth, Elisha 
M. Aldrich, Anson Smith. 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 11$ 

185 1. Erza Hawkins, Benedict Aldrich, Gridley Burnham, 
Thomas Irons, L. R. Williams, Anson Smith, J. C. Med- 
bury, Hiram Salsbury, Jeremiah Sheldon. 

1852. Elisha M. Aldrich, Anson Smith, L. R. Williams, 
Benjamin Smith, Samuel Hunt. By the town : Ezra Haw- 
kins, Gridley Burnham, George H. Browne, John S. Plum- 
mer, William S. Potter. 

1853. Bythe town : Ezra Hawkins, John Hawkins, Jesse 
P. Ballou, Benedict Aldrich, L. R. Williams, John M. Eddy, 
R. Burlingame, 2d, E. M. Aldrich, Solomon Sweet, William 
Greene, Anson Smith, Labin Irons. 

1854. Allen Hawkins, Raymond P. Colwell, Gains W. 
Hubbard, Alanson Steere, Leonard S. Williams, by the State; 
Samuel W. Hunt, Joseph C. Medbury, Anson Smith, John 
Hawkins, B. Aldrich, Benjamin Smith, by the town. Ezra 
Hawkins, Charles S. Randall, John M. Eddy, Gridley Burn- 
ham, Hiram Salsbury, Benjamin Dexter. 

1855. By the town : Gridley Burnham, Benjamin Dexter, 
John M. Eddy, Ezra Hawkins, Charles J. Randall, Benjamin 
Smith, Leonard R. Williams. 

1856. Ezra Hawkins, Gridley Burnham, Cyrus Farnham, 
Daniel Evans, L. R. Williams, Benjamin Smith. 

1857. Daniel Spencer, Anson Smith, J. C. Medbury, C, 
E. Tucker, Thomas O. Evans, C. O. Barnes, Nelson Keech. 

1858. J. B. Arnold, Daniel Spencer, Charles A. Slocum, 
A. Smith, Caleb E. Tucker. 

1859. C. O. Barnes, D. P. Spencer, C. A. Slocum, A. 
Smith, C. E. Tucker, G. Burnham. 

i860. George Owen, Job Owen. 

1861. Clovis Bowen, Rev. George E. Hopkins, R. M. 
Smith, C. E. Tucker. 

1862. Clovis Bowen, A. P. Williams, G. E. Hopkins, 
Ziba O. Slocum. 

1863. A. Smith, Ziba O. Slocum, B. Aldrich, E. King- 
man, Clovis PI. Bowen. 

1864. Clovis H. Bowen, Ziba O. Slocum, Albert Smith, 
A. P. Williams. 



Il6 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

1865. Ebenczer Kingman, Ziba O. Slocum, A. C. Wil- 
liams. 

1866. E. Ingraham, Ziba O. Slocum, A. P. Williams, 
Clovis H. Bowen. 

1867. Clovis H. Bowen, E. Ingraham, Job Owen, Charles 
Slocum, Ziba O. Slocum, A. Williams. 

1868. The same as 1867. 

1869. Clovis H. Bowen, Jesse P. Ballou, A. Smith, 
George Smith, C. Slocum, Z. O. Slocum, A. P. Williams. 

1870. Jesse P. Ballou, Ziba O. Slocum, C. E. Tucker. 
By the town : Clovis Steere, Caleb E. Tucker. 

1871. The same as 1870. 

1872. Jesse P. Ballou, Ziba O. Slocum, C. E. Tucker. 

1873. Jesse P. Ballou, Alexander Eddy, Ziba O. Slocum. 

1874. Alexander Eddy, Henry A. Randall, Ziba O. Slo- 
cum. 

1875. Alexander Eddy, Henry A. Randall, Ziba O. Slo- 
cum. 

1876. Alexander Eddy, Henry A. Randall, Ziba O. Slo- 
cum. 

1877. Henry A. Randall. 

1878. Reuben J. Brown, Henry A. Randall, William 
Simmons, Edward Smith, Clovis W. Steere. 

1879. Reuben J. Brown, Charles W. Farnum, Henry A. 
Sayles, A. P. Williams, H. A. Randall, C. M. Keach. 

1880. Reuben J. Brown, Charles W. Farnum. 

1 88 1. Reuben J. Brown, Charles W. Farnum. 

1882. Charles W. Farnham, by the county ; elected by 
the town : Henry A. Randall and James B. Reynolds. 

1883. Charles W. Farnum, P. Ham, Henry A. Sayles, 
by the county. 

1884. Charles W. Farnum. 

1885. Cyrus P'arnum, Henry A. Sayles. 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. ny 

DEPUTIES FROM GLOCESTER DURING THE 
COLONIAL PERIOD. 

1 73 1. Mr. Elisha Knowlton, Walter Phetteplace. 

1732. Capt. John Smith, Mr. Job Comstock. 

1733. Mr. Elisha Knowlton, Mr. Zachariah Eddy. 

1734. Capt. John Smith, Mr. Richard Steere. 

1735. Mr. Elisha Knowlton, Capt. John Smith. 

1736. Mr. John Barns, Mr. Walter Phetteplace. 

1737. Mr. John Smith. 

1738. Capt. John Smith, Mr. Richard Steere. 

1739. Capt. John Smith, Mr. Richard Steere. 

1740. Capt. John Smith, Mr. Richard Steere. 

1741. Mr. Edward Mitchell, Mr. Richard Steere. 

1742. Capt. John Smith, Mr. Richard Steere. 

1743. Mr. John Walton, Capt. Isaiah Inman. 

1744. Capt. John Smith, Mr. Richard Steere. 

1745. Mr. Richard Steere, Mr. Walter Phetteplace. 

1746. Mr. Richard Steere, Mr. Walter Phetteplace. 

1747. Mr. Richard Steere, Mr. Abraham Tourtelott. 

1748. Mr. Richard Steere, Col. Richard Smith. 

1749. Mr. Richard Steere, Maj. Richard Smith. 

1750. Mr. Richard Smith, Mr. Benjamin Smith. 

1751. Maj. Richard Smith, Capt. Timothy Wilmot. 

1752. Col. Richard Smith, Mr. Andrew Brown. 
1753- Col. Richard Smith, Capt. Joseph Winsor. 

1754. Mr. Richard Steere, Col. Richard Smith. 

1755. Capt John Smith, Mr. Richard Steere. 

1756. Mr. John Walton, Mr. Silas Williams. 

1757. Capt. Richard Smith, Mr. Richard Steere. 

1758. Capt. Timothy Wilmarth, Mr. Benjamin Smith. 

1759. Capt. Joseph Winsor, Capt. Rufiis Smith. 

1760. Mr. Richard Steere, Mr. Silas Williams. 

1 76 1. Mr. Richard Steere, Capt. Timothy Wilmarth. 

1762. Mr. Richard Steere, Capt. Joseph Winsor. 

1763. Mr. Richard Steere, Mr. Jonathan Harris. 

1764. Mr. Richard Steere, Mr. Benjamin Smith. 



Il8 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

1765. Mr. Richard Steere, Capt. Israel Arnold. 

1766. Mr. Richard Steere, Mr. John Smith, Jr. 

1767. Maj. Rufus Smith, Mr. Stephen Steere. 

1768. Mr. Richard Steere, Capt. Israel Arnold. 

1769. Mr. Thomas Owen, Maj. Rufus Smith. 

1770. Maj. Rufus Smith, Mr. Thomas Owen. 

1 77 1. Mr. Timothy Wilmarth, Mr. Zebedee Hopkins, Jr. 

1772. Mr. Abraham Waterman, Mr. Thomas Wood. 

1773. Mr. Solomon Owen, Mr. Caleb Arnold. 

1774. Mr. Silas WiUiams, Mr. Chad Brown. 

1775. Mr. Silas Williams, Mr. Daniel Owen. 

1776. Mr. Richard Steere, Col. Chad Brown. 

1777. Mr. John Smith, Jr., Mr. Stephen Winsor. 

1778. Timothy Wilmarth, Esq., Mr. Caleb Arnold. 

1779. Mr. John Smith, Mr. Daniel Owen. 

1780. Asa Kimball, Esq., Mr. Reuben Mason. 

1781. Mr. Simon Smith. 

1782. John Smith, Esq., Mr. Israel Cooke. 

1783. Daniel Owen, Esq., Stephen Steere, Esq. 

1784. Mr. Stephen Steere. 

1785. Daniel Owen, Esq., Mr. Simon Smith. 

1786. Mr. Seth Hunt, Stephen Winsor, Esq. 

1787. Mr. Seth Hunt, Stephen Winsor, Esq. 

1788. Mr. Seth Hunt, Stephen Winsor, Esq. 

1789. Mr. Seth Hunt, Stephen Winsor, Esq. 

1790. Mr. Seth Hunt, Stephen Winsor, Esq. 

1791. Mr. Seth Hunt, Stephen Winsor, Esq. 

1792. Mr. Seth Hunt, Stephen Winsor, Esq. October, 
Samuel Winsor, Esq., Mr. Silas Thayer. 

REPRESENTATIVES TO THE GENERAL ASSEM- 
BLY FROM GLOCESTER. 

1793. Samuel Winsor, Esq., Mr. Silas Thayer. 

1794. Samuel Winsor, Esq., Mr. Silas Thayer. 

1795. Samuel Winsor, Esq., Mr. Silas Thayer. 

1796. Samuel Winsor, Esq., Mr. Silas Thayer. 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. I I9 

[797. Samuel Winsor, Esq., Mr. Silas Thayer. 

[798. Samuel Winsor, Esq., Daniel Mowry, Esq. 

:799. Mr. Simeon Smith, Nathaniel Wade, Esq. 

:8oo. Mr. Simeon Smith, Nathaniel Wade, Esq. 

;8oi. Mr. Asa Burlingame, Mr. Pitt Smith. 

:8o2. Mr. Asa Burlingame, Mr. Pitt Smith. 

[803. Mr. Asa Burlingame, Mr. Solomon Owen, Esq. 

[804. Mr. Asa Burlingame, Mr. Solomon Owen. 

[805. Mr. Asa Burlingame, Mr. Solomon Owen. 

[806. Mr. William Steere, Jr., Mr. Solomon Owen. 

[807. Mr. William Steere, Jr., Mr. Jesse Tourtellot. 

[808. Mr. William Steere, Mr. Jesse Tourtellot. 

[809. Mr. William Steere, Mr. Jesse Tourtellot. 

:8io. Mr. William Steere, Mr. Jesse Tourtellot. 

[811. Mr. Hazael Peckham, Mr. Jesse Tourtellot. 

;8i2. William Steere, Esq., Cyrus Cooke, Esq. 

[813. Jesse Tourtellot, Esq., Cyrus Cooke, Esq. 

[814. Jesse Tourtellot, Esq., Cyrus Cooke, Esq. 

:8i5. Mr. Thomas Brown, Mr. Chad Sayles. 

:8i6. Thomas Brown, Esq., Mr. Chad Sayles. 

[817. Mr. Chad Sayles, Jesse Tourtellot, Esq. 

I18. Mr. Amherst Kimball, Mr. Joseph Wilmarth. 

[819. Jesse Tourtellot, Esq., Mr. William Wade, Jr. 

[820. William Wade, Jr., Esq., Arnold Brown, Esq. 

[821. Ziba Olney, William Wade, Jr. 

:2. Ziba Olney, Timothy Sweet. 

[823. Ziba Olney, Samuel Steere. 

:824. Daniel Cornell, Seth Peckham, Jr. 

:825. Daniel Cornell, Seth Peckham, Jr. 

:826. Daniel Cornell, Ziba Olney. 

[827, Cyrus Cooke, Daniel Cornell. 

[828. Daniel Cornell, Simon Smith, Jr. 

[829. Simon Smith, Jr., William Wade. 

[830. Simon Smith, Jr., David Arnold. 

[831. Simon Smith, Jr., David Arnold. 

[832. Job Armstrong, Hezekiah Cady. 

[833. Amasa Eddy, Jr., Rensellaer B. Smith. 



I20 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER, 



1834, 

1835 
1836 

1837 
1838 

1839 
1840. 
184I 
1842 



Amasa Eddy, Jr., Rensellaer B. Smith. 
Amasa Eddy, Jr., Rensellaer B. Smith. 
Samuel Y. Atwell, Nelson S. Eddy. 
Samuel Y. Atwell, Nelson S. Eddy. 
Ziba Olney, Allen Hawkins. 
Charles A. Slocum, Robert Steere. 
Samuel Y. Atwell, Abram Baker. 
Samuel Y. Atwell, Abram Baker. 
Cyrus Farnum, William Stead, 



SENATORS AND REPRESENTATIVES IN THE 

GENERAL ASSEMBLY, UNDER THE 

CONSTITUTION. 

1843. Samuel Steere, senator ; Cyrus Farnum, William 
Steere, representatives. 

1844. Samuel Steere, senator ; Jeremiah Sheldon, Cyrus 
Farnum, representatives. 

1845. Samuel Steere, senator; Stephen K. Fiske, Jesse S. 
Tourtellot, representatives. 

1846. Amasa Eddy, senator ; Jesse S. Tourtellot, William 
Luther, representatives. 

1847. Amasa Eddy, senator ; Smith Peckham, Cyrus Far- 
num, representatives. 

1848. Amasa Eddy, senator; Smith Peckham, Cyrus Far- 
num, representatives. 

1849. Samuel Potter, senator; George H. Browne, Sam- 
uel Steere, representatives. 

1850. Samuel Potter, senator; George H. Browne, Sam- 
uel Steere, representatives. 

185 1. Thomas Barnes, senator ; George H. Browne, 
Jonathan Tourtellot, representatives. 

1852. Thomas Barnes, senator; George H. Browne, Jesse 
P. Ballou, representatives. 

1853. Cyrus Farnum, senator; Jesse P. Ballou, George 
L. Owen, representatives. 

1873. George H. Browne, senator; Jeremiah Sheldon, 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 121 

1854. Cyrus Farnum, senator; Jesse P. Ballou, George 
L. Owen, representatives. 

1855. Smith Peckham, senator; William S. Potter, Seril 
W. Clemence, representatives. 

1856. Smith Peckham, senator; Seril W. Clemence, Wil- 
liam S. Potter, representatives. 

1857. Smith Peckham, senator; William S. Potter, Reu- 
ben A. Clemence, representatives. 

1858. Smith Peckham, senator; Lafayette Reynolds, 
Gaius W. Hubbard, representatives. 

1859. Smith Peckham, senator ; Lafayette Reynolds, 
Gaius W. Hubbard, representatives. 

i860. Daniel Evans, senator; L. Reynolds, Gaius W. 
Hubbard, representatives. 

1861. Daniel Evans, senator ; George Smith, representa- 
tive. 

1862. Daniel Evans, senator; George Smith, representa- 
tive. 

1863. Lafayette Reynolds, senator ; George Smith, repre- 
sentative. 

1864. Lafayette Reynolds, senator; George S. Owen, 
representative. 

1865. Gaius W. Hubbard, senator ; George S. Owen, 
representative. 

1866. Gaius W. Hubbard, senator ; Elias Carpenter, Jr.^ 
representative. 

1867. Alexander Eddy, senator; Elias Carpenter, Jr., 
representative. 

1868. Smith Peckham, senator; Elias Carpenter, repre- 
sentative. 

1869. Alexander Eddy, senator ; Stephen Eddy, Jr., 
representative. 

1870. Elias Carpenter, senator ; Smith Peckham, repre- 
sentative. 

1 87 1. George H. Browne, senator ; Smith Peckham, 
representative. 

1872. George H. Browne, senator; Jeremiah Sheldon, 
representative. 

16 



122 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

1873. George H. Browne, senator; Jeremiah Sheldon, 
representative. 

1874. Ziba O. Slocum, senator ; Jeremiah Sheldon, repre- 
sentative. 

1875. Ziba O. Slocum, senator; Jeremiah Sheldon, repre- 
sentative. 

1876. Ziba O. Slocum, senator ; Raymond P. Colwell, 
representative. 

1877. Ziba O. Slocum, senator; Raymond P. Colwell, 
representative. 

1878. Philip W. Hawkins, senator; Fenner R. White, 
representative. 

1879. Philip W. Hawkins, senator; Fenner R. White, 
representative. 

1880. Philip W. Hawkins, senator; Fenner R. White, 
representative. 

1881. Philip W. Hawkins, senator; Henry C. White, 
representative. 

1882. Philip W. Hawkins, senator ; Henry C. White, 
representative. 

1883. Philip W. Hawkins, senator; Henry C. White, 
representative. 

1884. Philip W. Hawkins, senator ; Henry C. White, 
representative. 

1885. Philip W. Hawkins, senator; Reuben A. Clemence, 
representative. 

TOWN OFFICERS. 

1820. Toivn Council — Samuel Steere, Ahab Sayles, Sam- 
uel Potter, David Arnold, Chad Sayles, Richard Aldrich, 
Seth Peckham, Jr. 

Toivn Auctioneers — Zephaniah Keach, Jr., Timothy 
Sweet, Nathan Blackmar. 

Overseers of tJie Poor — George Bowen, Jr., Richard Bur- 
lingame, Philip Waldron. 

Pound Keepers — Joseph Cady, Amherst Kimball, Jere- 
miah Steere, Asel Phetteplace. 



HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 123 

Surveyor General — Robert Steere. 
Minister — Rev. John Hunt. 

Assessors of Taxes — Jesse Tourtellot, Daniel Evans, 
Benjamin White, Philip Waldron. 

1821. Toivn Clerk — Joseph Bowen. 

Town C^z/w^V— Samuel Steere, William Tourtellot, David 
Arnold, Chad Sayles, Seth Peckham, Jr., Eleazer Lovell, 
Phihp Waldron. 

Town Sergeant — Timothy Sweet. 

Town Treasurer — Robert Steere. 

Overseers of the Pc?^;-— George Bowen, Jr., Richard Bur- 
lingame, Stephen Cooper. 

Physieians — Joseph Bowen, E. T. Waldron, Daniel Bel- 
lows, Allen Potter. 

Attorneys — Asel Steere, John B. Snow. 

1822. Tozvn Clerk — Joseph Bowen. 

Town Council — Samuel Steere, William Tourtellot, David 
Arnold, Chad Sayles, Jesse Armstrong, E. Lovell, Timothy 
Sweet. 

Toivn Sergeant— HdiXris Medbury. 

Overseers of the Poor — G. Bowen, Jr., Sayles Brown, E. T. 
Waldron. 

Physicians — Joseph Bowen, Edward T. Waldron, Eleazer 
Bellows, Allen Potter, Solomon Sayles. 

Attorneys — Asel Steere, J. B. Snow. 

The annual town meeting for electing town officers and 
making appropriations is on the first Monday in June. 

The Town Council and Probate Court meet the second 
Saturday in every month, at the Town Clerk's office, at 2 
p. M. 

The Justice Court meets every Saturday at the samQ place 
at 1 1 A. M. 

The Town Council of several towns constitute a Court of 
Justice. 

State town tax on $100, 12 cents. Town tax on $100, 65 
cents. 



124 HISTORY OF GLOCESTER. 

The Board of Assessors for 1884-5 return the value of 
real estate, $872,250; personal property, $552,650. 

Population in Glocester in 1748, 1,202. In 1774, 2,945. 
In 1790, 4,025. After the division in 18 10, 2,310. In 1854, 
3,000. By this year's census, (1885,) 1,915. 

Polls in Glocester in 1776, 488. Polls in Providence in 

1776, 453- 

Number of square miles in Glocester, 532. 

TOWN OFFICERS, 1885. 

Moderator — Edwin J. Valentine. 

Town Clerk — Charles W. Farnum ; also Coroner. 

Town Treasitrer — Everett W. White. 

Tozun Sergeant — John A. Staples. 

Town Council — Gilbert Rounds, Richard Barnes, Jeremiah 
Sheldon, A. C. G. Smith, James B. Reynolds. 

Tax Collector — Alexander Eddy ; also Deputy Sheriff. 

Overseer of the Poor — William A. Potter. 

Assessors — Charles W. Farnum, Jeremiah Sheldon, Oliver 
W. Steere. 

Senator to the General Assembly — Philip W. Hawkins. 

Representative to the General Assembly — Henry C. White; 
(called Senators and Representatives after 17<^7.) 

Justices of the Peace — C. W. Farnum, Henry Sayles. 

School Committee — George A. Harris, M. D., Mrs. Mary 
O. Arnold, Lyman B. Stone. 

School S7tperintendent — Thomas Irons ; salary, $100. 

The town receives from the State $1,404.50 school money ; 
from registry taxes, $95.00; from dog tax, $131.70. The 
town fund, $2,004.50. 

There are three post offices in the town ; one at Chepa- 
chet, as spoken of in another place ; one at West Glocester, 
Clarence A. Keech, postmaster; one at Harmony, in the 
eastern part of the town, Henry A. Randall, postmaster. In 
the town there are 477 families and 473 houses. 



APPENDIX. 



BRIEF PERSONAL NOTICES. 

Samuel Young Atwell graduated at Brown University 
in 1 8 14. His ancestry were from England. After graduat- 
ing he studied law with Hon. John Whipple. In 183 1 or 
1832 he removed to Chepachet and established himself in 
law. In 1835 he was a member of the General Assembly 
from Glocester and chairman of the State Commission on 
Banking. He was a very able advocate and seldom lost a 
case. Some of Providence's most able pleaders at the bar, 
studied law in his office at Chepachet, viz. : Samuel Ames, 
James M.Clarke, Thomas A. Jenckes, Edwin Metcalf, George 
H. Browne and Horace Manchester. He died in October 
1844. He left a widow and two daughters and three sons. 

George Huntington Browne, son of Elisha and Roby 
(Bowdish) Browne, was born in Glocester in 1818. His father 
died when his son was a few years old, leaving the homestead 
in Chepachet and a large landed property in northern Ver- 
mont. His mother, previous to her marriage, was a private 
school teacher of standing for several years. The son s 
early winters were spent with his mother at their home in 
the village, where he attended a good private school. Several 
summers he was under the charge of a special friend of his 
mother on a farm near the village, where he had the reading 
of books from a small, well-selected library. Here, before he 
was fourteen years, he read with great enthusiasm the transla- 
tion of Homer's Illiad and Dryden's Virgel ; also about one 
hundred volumes, most of them historical and scholastic 



126 APPENDIX. 

works. He said, "for the reading of the above library, I 
was inspired to go to college." After being prepared in 
some studies for an examination, he went to Brownington 
Academy, in northern Vermont. In 1836 he entered Brown 
University, and graduated in 1840. He studied law with 
Samuel Y. Atwell, in his native village, and was admitted 
to the Rhode Island bar in 1843. At his home village he 
established a successful law office, which he held for 
several years. In 1853 he removed to Providence; also, 
his law office. In 1855 he entered into partnership with 
Colonel Nicholas Van Slyck, which continued until his 
death in October, 1885. He was several years in the 
General Assembly from Glocester ; also, a Representative 
in Congress from 1861 to 1863 from the Western District. 
He was commissioned in September, 1862, as Colonel of 
the Twelfth Regiment of Rhode Island Volunteers for nine 
months. He was elected Chief Justice of the Supreme 
Court of Rhode Island. This offer he declined on account 
of ill health. He was twice married. He leaves two children 
by his first wife, Harriet Danforth, and a widow. 

Clovis H. Bowen was for many years a faithful Town 
Clerk. He also kept an excellent drug store on Main street. 
He was the son of Dr. Joseph Bowen. He married the 
daughter of Anthony Steere. He died in 1880. He leaves 
several children. 

John Brown, son of James and grandson of the Rev. Chad 
Brown, laid the corner-stone of Rhode Island College ; was 
treasurer many years of the corporation, and filled many places 
of trust where great wisdom and liberality were required. He 
was the first merchant in Rhode Island. He built a fine 
mansion on Power street, in Providence, where most of his 
life was passed. His residence in Glocester has previously 
been referred to. He presented fourteen hundred volumes 
to the College library. He gave dinners to the students on 
Commencement days. He was a leader of Rhode Island 
in the war of the Revolution, and a purchaser with his brother 



APPENDIX. 127 

Moses of the home lot of their ancestor, Chad Brown, for 
the College. He was in Glocester in 1791, and some years 
previously. He married Sarah, daughter of Daniel Smith, 
Providence. He was born in 1736 anddied in 1803. 

Moses Cooper died in 1837, aged 97 years. He owned 
slaves previous to the Revolution. He was a man who kept 
himself well informed on the important subjects of the day. 
He was a prominent member of the Society of the Friends. 

Amasa Eddy, of Glocester, was a descendant of the Rev. 
William Eddy, of Cranbrook, England. (Eddy Genealogy.) 
He was also grand-nephew of the late Walter Phetteplace 
and the Rev. Zachariah Eddy, of Providence. He was born 
January 3, 1783. He married Mary Owen, of Glocester. 
For many years he was prosperously engaged in harness man- 
ufacturing. In 1852 he was the Democratic candidate for 

Governor of the State. 

Motto on the English Eddy coat-of-arms : " Crux mihi 

grata quies." The cross is my welcome rest. 

Jonathan Eddy, grandfather of the late Deacon Richard 
Eddy, and wife were members of the old Baptist Church at 
Chepachet in 1780. It is related that he went to church 
every Sunday, even though he had to walk many miles. 

Hon. Asa Kimball is spoken of in 1759 as ensign in a 
military company against the acts of the King of Spain. In 
1 76 1 as lieutenant and captain in other expeditions. In the 
war of the Revolution he was appointed on various commit- 
tees and officered from captain to major from this town. He 
was a prominent officer in General Sullivan's expedition on the 
Island of Rhode Island. The house he built in Chepachet 
for his homestead is still standing, and owned by his great- 
o-randson, Horace A. Kimball. 

DocT. Samuel Mowry was educated principally at Dudley 
and Amherst academies. He attended medical lectures in 
Boston in 1825 and 1826. In 1838 he was admitted a mem- 
ber of the Rhode Island Medical Society. He settled in 



128 APPENDIX. 

Chepachet, where for more than forty years he had a good 
practice. He was well read in his profession. His health 
declining, he moved into Providence, where he died. 

DocT. Reuben Mason was surgeon in General William 
West's, brigade in the Revolution. He had a large and long 
practice in this town. The house he owned, lived and died 
in, is still standing on the turnpike, near the village at Che- 
pachet. 

Thomas Owen was admitted a freeman from Providence 
in 1736. He was Assistant Deputy-Governor from the town 
of Smithfield in the year 1753. Later he removed to Gloces- 
ter, and in 1770 he was elected by the town Deputy to the 
General Assembly. Also, he was Assistant Deputy to Gov- 
ernor Stephen Hopkins. At various times he rendered 
important political services to the town and State. 

Daniel Owen, son of the above Thomas Owen, was 
admitted a freeman from Glocester at Newport, in May, 
1757. He was chosen Deputy to the General Assembly in 
1775 and 1776. He was one of the committee to procure gold 
and silver enough for the State to use in the Canada war. 
He was chairman of the committee to draft a letter to Con- 
gress in September, 1787, to explain the reason why this 
State had not any delegation at the Convention at Philadel- 
phia. He was a member and President of the Conventions 
that met at South Kingstown in March, 1790, and at Newport 
the following May, that adopted the Constitution of the 
United States. He gave great satisfaction for his candor 
and impartiality in conducting the proceedings of the Con- 
vention. He wrote from Newport, May 29, 1790, a letter to 
President Washington to accompany the message that 
informed the President that the Constitution of the United 
States of America had that day been adopted by the people 
of this State agreeably to the recommendation of the General 
Convention at Philadelphia. At the Convention at South 
Kingstown the anti-Federal members of the Convention 
offered the office of Governor of the State to Deputy-Gov- 



APPENDIX. 129 

ernor Owen. This offer he refused. A coalition party was 
formed and Arthur Fenner was nominated the first Governor 
of the State under the Constitution. 

In 1786 the coinage of the United States required 
the adoption of the decimal system. The " die " for the 
first United States cent was established July 6, 1^87. In 
1786, Hon. Daniel Owen, Samuel Winsor, Simeon Thayer, 
Arthur Fenner, Jr., and Caleb Harris, Esquires, petitioned 
the General Assembly, praying for the "exclusive priv- 
ilege" of a coinage for this colony for the period of 
twelve years. It was granted in January, 1787, subject 
to such conditions as should be agreed upon by the As- 
sembly. Henry Marchant, William Channing, Benjamin 
Bourn and Moses Brown were appointed a committee to draft 
and report an act to carry said intention into execution con- 
sistent with the Articles of Confederation and the sovereignty 
of the State. No report of said committee is found on the 
records of the State. 

He was Deputy-Governor four years from 1786. He was 
a large landholder in northern Vermont, where several of his 
children settled. He, with William Barton, received the 
grant of the town of Barton, in Vermont, October 20, 1781. 
Iron ore was found on his farm in Glocester, and he had a 
trip-hammer run by water power. The iron was made into 
the desired shape for use by means of his heavy hammer. 
Various useful implements were made, and sold in other 
parts of the country, viz. : ploughs, harrows, rims for wheels, 
cranes, trammels, horse-shoes, etc., etc. For several years 
he transacted considerable business with England in the iron 
department. 

His son-in-law, Mr. William Gadcomb, a merchant in the 
village of Chepachet, died about 1800. Judge Owen settled 
his estate and invested some of the property for his widow and 
children in lands in the vicinity of St. Albans, Vermont. Mrs. 
Gadcomb afterwards married Judge Asa Aldis and settled at 
St. Albans. Mr. Aldis was a graduate of Brown University in 
the year 1796. Judge Owen married Hannah Angell, daugh- 
ter of John and Lydia Winsor Angell, January 19, 1736. He 
died in Glocester. 
17 



130 APPENDIX. 

Capt. Solomon Owen, brother of the above Daniel Owen, 
had a great desire to see other countries and cross the ocean. 
As captain he sailed from Providence to the East Indies with 
valuable orders from merchants from this State. After try- 
ing the sea for several years he returned to his native village 
to spencf the remainder of his life. He was proprietor and 
keeper of an excellent public house in Chepachet previous to 
the year 1800. 

Eber Phetteplace was the son of Jonathan and the 
grandson of Walter Phetteplace. His mother, Susanna 
Smith, was the grand-daughter of Casper Hyzer, or Hauser, a 
German. He was born in Glocester, August 15, 1765. He 
early had a taste for history and agriculture. About 1790, 
he, with his friend Mark Steere, had a ship loaded several 
autumns with fruits and vegetables to carry to Charleston, 
South Carolina, to sell, they going in charge and remaining 
until spring before returning. While there, Mr. Phetteplace 
acquired a slight knowledge of the French, and Spanish lan- 
guages. In January, 1796, he was married by Elder Joseph 
Winsor to Waite, daughter of Resolved (Waterman) Irons. 
She was the lineal descendant of Roger Williams, Richard 
Waterman, Gregory Dexter and Rev. Chad Brown, of Provi- 
dence. Mr. Phetteplace superintended his large farm, on 
which were a great variety of fruit trees and berry bushes. 
He was a great lover of his home, a staunch Whig in politics, 
and deeply interested in sustaining good schools. He died 
October 8, 1834. 

Walter Phetteplace was a descendant (through Sir 
John Fetteplace, of Oxfordshire, England,) of Fettiplace, the 
Norman gentleman usher to William the Conqueror, and 
who came into England with that monarch. (Oxfordshire 
Annals.) When Glocester was set off from Providence in 
183 1, the above Walter Phetteplace was appointed by Gov. 
Jencks an Assistant Deputy to the General Assembly. This 
office he filled several years. In 1746 he used great influence 
to keep sufficient money in the General Treasury for use 



APPENDIX. 131 

should the fleet of any sovereign power attack the colony in 
some unexpected place, instead of sending large supplies to 
Fort George while in peace. He married Joanna Maury 
(daughter of Nathaniel), August 4, 1709, in Providence. He 
died December 29, 1753. 

DocT. Allen Potter studied medicine with his father in 
Massachusetts three years, and two years with Dr. Hubbard, 
in Pomfret, Conn. In 1825 he settled in the western part of 
Glocester, where he was a regular practicing physician until 
overcome by the infirmities of years. 

William Rhodes, who lived in the northern part of the 
town, learned the art of navigation, and succeeded in acquir- 
ing great wealth, principally by capturing English vessels at 
the close of the Revolutionary war. 

Richard Steere was a valuable citizen, and much trusted 
in public affairs. He was Justice of the Court of Common 
Pleas for the county of Providence for many years ; he was a 
faithful Town Clerk for sixty years ; an excellent penman, 
and kept the record books very accurately and with great 
care ; he owned farms in different parts of the town ; he was 
Deputy from Glocester to the Assembly four years. He died 
October 16, 1797. 

Doct. Jervis J. Smith was the son of Rufus Smith, of 
Burrillville. He was educated at the private schools of the 
town and at the Friends College, in Providence ; he studied 
medicine with his uncle, W. Smith, M. D., and was admitted 
a member of the Rhode Island Medical Society in 1833. He 
settled in Chepachet, where he had an extensive practice ; 
also in Glocester and neighboring towns. He died in 1864. 
His funeral was very largely attended. He was a Free 
Mason and was buried with Masonic honors at Swan Point, 
Providence. 

John Smith, son of Benjamin, left Providence village late 
in the seventeenth century, with an axe in his hand and a bag 



132 APPENDIX. 

of eatables, to seek a home in the wilderness. After spend- 
ing some time in looking around for the most comfortable 
place to build a log house for his home, he selected a place 
near where the house of the late Urania Smith stood. Here 
he found a good stream of water and excellent game in the 
forest. A family of Williamses soon followed him from Provi- 
dence. Many of their descendants are still living in the 
vicinity. 

Abraham Tourtellot was the son of Gabriel and Marie 
(Bernon) Tourtellot. He came to Providence from Bordeaux, 
France, on account of religious persecution, about 1688. In 
1706, Abraham bought a tract of land in what is now the 
town of Glocester, and about a mile south of the village of 
Chepachet. On a commanding hill, he built a comfortable 
house which was occupied many years by his descendants. 
His mother lived with him the latter part of her life. He 
was twice married, and had twelve children, viz. : Mary, Lydia, 
Esther, Abram, Jonathan, Benjamin and Sarah by his first 
wife, and Stephen, William, Jesse, David and Anna by his 
second wife. Some members of these families have filled 
important places of trust and responsibility in the town and 
State. 

Fenner R. White, son of Benjamin White, was born in 
Glocester. He was successful in his large manufacturing 
establishments, very honorable in all his engagements, true 
to every trust, and very kind to the poor. He was several 
years a member of the Town Council and General Assembly. 
He married Mary B. Arnold. He died in November, 1880. 

John Waterman, brother of Col. Resolved Waterman, 
was a paper manufacturer in Glocester in 1750. (Providence 
Gazette.) 

The above Resolved Waterman, of Smithfield, bought land 
in Glocester in 1750. He married Mary Smith. 

Timothy Wilmarth lived in the village of Chepachet. 
His wife was the daughter of Judge Richard Steere. He 



APPENDIX. 133 

was interested in public affairs and an esteemed citizen. He 
commanded a company of militia in Gen. Sullivan's expedi- 
tion on the Island of Rhode Island, where his musket in his 
hand was very much shattered. 

Richard Evans, Abraham, John and Resolved Waterman, 
Samuel Irons, the Smiths, Eddys, Steeres and others owned 
land here under the reign of Queen Anne, George I., George 
II. and George III. Some of these farms are still in posses- 
sion of their descendants. John Usher and Aaron Bardeen 
were soldiers in the Revolution from this town, and had pen- 
sions given them from Congress. 



ORATION. , 

An oration was delivered by Riley Phetteplace, at the 
request of prominent citizens of the town, on July 4, 1828, 
in the Baptist Meeting House, in the village of Chepachet. 
Mowry S. Peckham read the Declaration of Independence. 
Both the above named gentlemen were students in medicine. 
The former died February 25, 1830. The latter (physician) 
died in the Texan war. 



GOVERNORS OF THE STATE AFTER THE 

REVOLUTION AND UNDER THE 

ROYAL CHARTER, 1775. 

Nicholas Cooke, William Greene, John Collins, Arthur 
Fenner, William Jones, Nehemiah R. Knight, William Gibbs, 
James Fenner, Lemuel Arnold, John Brown Francis, Samuel 
W. King. 

UNDER THE CONSTITUTION, 1843. 

James Fenner, Charles Jackson, Byron Diman, Elisha 
Harris, Henry B. Anthony, Philip Allen, William W. Hop- 
pin, Elisha Dyer, Thomas G. Turner, William Sprague, Wil- 



134 APPENDIX. 

Ham C. Cozzens, James Y. Smith, Ambrose E. Burnside, 
Seth Padelford, Henry Howard, Henry Lippitt, Charles C. 
Van Zandt, Alfred H. Littlefield, Augustus O. Bourn. 
George Peabody Wetmore, the present Governor, 1885. 



INDEX. 



PAGE. 

Early History and Indians 5 

Town Organized 13 

War Declared 20 

British in Newport 24 

Independence Declared 25 

Dark Day 26 

Flax Raising 29 

Money Scarce 29 

Federal Constitution 31 

Slave Trade 35 

War of 181 2 37 

Division of Town 38 

Town Council 39 

Roads 40 

Appian Way 42 

Railroads 42 

Villages 44 

Hills 46 

Rivers and Ponds 47 

Secret Societies 48 

Banks 49 

Military 52 

Manufacturers, Business Men 66 

Farmers 67 

Early Religious Privileges 68 

Dorr War 70 

Miscellaneous 72 

Schools 77 

Deaf Schools 80 

Societies 80 

Debating Clubs 81 



136 APPENDIX, 

PAGE. 

Graveyards 82 

Friends 83 

Business Men, 1785 86 

Graduates in Brown University 87 

Lawyers and Physicians 88 

Baptist Meeting House and Society 88 

Sunday Schools 90 

Episcopalians 91 

Congregationalists 93 

Library 94 

Ornithology 95 

Botany 96 

Geology 96 

Freemen 97 

Families, 1774 99 

Names of Old Families 104 

Resident Tax-Payers 105 

Non-Resident Tax-Payers 109 

Justices of Peace .111 

Deputies, Colonial Period 117 

Representatives to the General Assembly iiS 

Senators and Representatives under the Constitution 120 

Town Officers of 1S20 122 

Town Officers, 1885 124 

Personal Notices 1 25 

Oration 133 

Governors 133 






iilHMMnMiiiai 



jdjiMiaMmuiiiMMiiMiai^^